Close

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 98
  1. #61
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,594
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked:        427
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    The in-laws had a Zgemma Star 2S which died last week so I've just setup a new H5.2S for them which is a very nice little box for the money and even has a nice remote which is always a bonus with these things.

    The 2S was totally dead and just showed the red light on power up but without the boot message. Tried different power supplies and no joy.

    Brought it home today, took it to bits and bizarrely it fired up as I pulled the heatsink off the Broadcom SoC so guessing it's a dry joint somewhere or a bad connection. It's 18 months old. I was expecting it to be a dead Winbond flash chip so I was pulling the heatsink to get a SOIC clip on it and just lucked out

    I've just finished configuring the old 2S as a slave so they can have it back and stick it on another TV and watch everything from the new H5.2S master box via the second tuner.

    For anyone wanting to do that the Channels Importer plugin is new this year in various OpenXXX builds and works a proper treat and sorts out bouquets, EPG and fallback tuner settings.

    The Whoosh Build is bang on and they're a fan of the films they can watch via iptv now as well (the old 2S was just running an old OpenVIX image).

  2. #62
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,262
    Thanks
    1,009
    Thanked:        1,359
    Karma Level
    920

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by satzzz View Post
    Any decent supplier with a panel could untie it from your mag and supply a different link for a nominal charge to cover his costs.

    Sent from my LG G4
    I bought it the sub from aliexpress, hardly a decent supplier . I rarely use it so will just wait for it to run out.

  3. #63
    DF VIP Member
    Ashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,937
    Thanks
    3,101
    Thanked:        443
    Karma Level
    241

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by Nibb View Post
    You can put your iptv sub on the zgemma or similar - I have an Edision which I consider far superior and faster
    What Edison do you have the OS mini? Is it worth getting that over a zgemma?

    I'm looking for a decent IPTV box.

    Cheers

  4. #64
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Yes mate I've had the mini for about a year - few glitches here and there but on the whole an excellent purchase for 99 (Twin tuner)
    It runs iptv via the xcplugin no problem at all!
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

    Thanks to Nibb

    Ashley (22nd March 2017) 


  5. #65
    DF VIP Member
    Ashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,937
    Thanks
    3,101
    Thanked:        443
    Karma Level
    241

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by Nibb View Post
    Yes mate I've had the mini for about a year - few glitches here and there but on the whole an excellent purchase for 99 (Twin tuner)
    It runs iptv via the xcplugin no problem at all!
    Thank you will probably get one.

    Thanks to Ashley

    Nibb (22nd March 2017) 


  6. #66
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Good box - I'm looking at getting a second one for another room as my Vu Duo is on its last legs
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  7. #67
    DF VIP Member
    Ashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,937
    Thanks
    3,101
    Thanked:        443
    Karma Level
    241

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by Nibb View Post
    Good box - I'm looking at getting a second one for another room as my Vu Duo is on its last legs
    That's the last box I had and found it was great.

  8. #68
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    It's still going but I've had to change the capacitors and the HD fooked up - now the memory can't keep up with the bouquet and epg updates
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

    Thanks to Nibb

    Ashley (22nd March 2017) 


  9. #69
    DF PlaYa Nathz29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    758
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked:        83
    Karma Level
    151

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by Nibb View Post
    It's still going but I've had to change the capacitors and the HD fooked up - now the memory can't keep up with the bouquet and epg updates
    Ditto with my duo, changed the caps and every time i use it it's frozen on the EPG or bouquet update.
    I bought a mutant hd51 to replace it in the lounge decent box nice and quick to respond.

    Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

    2 Thanks given to Nathz29

    Ashley (23rd March 2017), Nibb (22nd March 2017) 


  10. #70
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,594
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked:        427
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    A few channels (Eur0sports, Atlant1c, SSB0 plus more) have gone dark today in SD, could be the beginning of the end as S*y were planning on killing CS off very soon.
    Last edited by reverend; 28th March 2017 at 01:53 PM.

    Thanks to reverend

    beerman (28th March 2017) 


  11. #71
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,262
    Thanks
    1,009
    Thanked:        1,359
    Karma Level
    920

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by reverend View Post
    A few channels (Eur0sports, Atlant1c, SSB0 plus more) have gone dark today in SD, could be the beginning of the end as S*y were planning on killing CS off very soon.
    Can confirm. Sad times, might have to grab a cable box before the sub prices go up

  12. #72
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Rumours on another forum that these channels still clearing on old Thomson Box and that ecm lengths have changed so it's likely that a fix will be upcoming in the short term
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  13. #73
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,594
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked:        427
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Not sure what to make of this one as there are channels clearing with ecms longer than 79

    Someone has logged a ticket with oscam tonight so may be worth keeping an eye on the responses - you can see from the whitelist it has supported longer ecm lengths for a long time :/

    Potentially good news about the older boxes still working though!

    Cat and mouse i guess - there are a lot of parties with a vested interest in this stuff working (although it never helped the Italians)

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  14. #74
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Keep us informed mate!
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  15. #75
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,594
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked:        427
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    This is the ticket mate:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I use oscam as a client but out of the 4 lines I have (2 UK and 2 Euro) 3 of those are hosted on cccam and the other is newcamd so if oscam fix something at the server end that may just fix the problem for people who use that to host - not sure if cccam is even updated any more (the latest version I see in the oscam details is 4 years old) :/

    IPTV is a replacement should the worst happen anyway - a motorised dish helps too as you can get a lot of stuff from other countries that you'd watch at home anyway.
    Last edited by reverend; 29th March 2017 at 07:04 AM.

  16. #76
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    I have iptv anyway so I'm not that bothered
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  17. #77
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,268
    Thanks
    1,257
    Thanked:        658
    Karma Level
    414

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Quote Originally Posted by reverend View Post
    Not sure what to make of this one as there are channels clearing with ecms longer than 79

    Someone has logged a ticket with oscam tonight so may be worth keeping an eye on the responses - you can see from the whitelist it has supported longer ecm lengths for a long time :/

    Potentially good news about the older boxes still working though!

    Cat and mouse i guess - there are a lot of parties with a vested interest in this stuff working (although it never helped the Italians)

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
    I noticed this too, some comedy channel has gone black too, but check out the +1 versions of the same channels, they still clear for me

  18. #78
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,594
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked:        427
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    It looks like Sky are not only playing with the UK side of things but channels are starting to go in Germany too - Sky 1 over there is dark as well now and looks like they're pairing cards for the HD & SD version of that.

    ..:: Edit ::..
    Ignore that - Sky 1 is a new channel as of Nov 2016 over there and uses a different pairing method like the UHD channels.
    Last edited by reverend; 31st March 2017 at 05:21 PM.

  19. #79
    DF Wh0re josweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked:        116
    Karma Level
    149

    Default Re: Changing From sky to a zgemma

    Interesting read.. [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    "I know there was mention above of not posting messages regarding "My mate said this or that" etc, but I do actually know two people personally who are involved with Oscam work and programming, one of them whom I know from my university days is directly involved with the upkeep and admin at the site "Streamboard" also, there's no info more up to date than the info he has access to and that is fact.
    The facts as to what is actually happening were touched upon in the above mentioned link and that is that there is nothing within the Entitlement Control Message (ECM) that is affecting things right now, so all talk of ecm changes are just nonsense, as is transponder talk.

    The problem exists within the CW (Control Word)....The actual encryption data itself

    Now this is where the technical side of it went way over my head during my conversation, but the laymans terms that I got was that the encryption has not changed in the same way it did for HD or for the same way it did with Sky Italia, the encryption is compatible with existing Sky cards, including the old white 09's which is where local cards and shared cache's get the required data to make card sharing possible, so that also makes the talk of changing over Thompson Receivers to Sky +HD nonsense also, its completely irrelevant.

    What they have done is quite clever apparently but it will 100% be worked out, the changes that will be required to be made will all be within the "oscam.config" which is basically the standard configuration file that servers use to run and make this all possible, so server owners will be getting access to an updated config file once completed and the missing channels will be back.....

    There is a but though and that is the reasoning behind what has happened the last few days, the general feeling is that Sky were testing a few channels to see what the result was, that unfortunately is not true, Sky and anybody with a certain level of understanding of encryptions would know that no test is required, the results of the changes that were made are set in stone and known before they were put in place therefore there is no test required or needed.

    That is where the but comes in because what has happened is fixable with a configuration change, Sky and the programming engineers working with Sky know that just as much as the guys who deal with oscam, they know its fixable and can be worked around, so the actual reason behind it is a mystery."

    Continued in link above.

  20. #80
    DF Super Moderator
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,843
    Thanks
    537
    Thanked:        1,099
    Karma Level
    2080

    Default Changing From sky to a zgemma

    This has been posted before - it seems its nothing to do with oscam. More likely to be implementation of icam on SD cards. My advice is get an iptv sub!
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •