Close

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked:        1,505
    Karma Level
    477

    Advice So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    So I have the 4 bay hp micro server which I have used up all the bays on.
    Is there a way to add another 4 drives without spending loads of money?

    i have 4 1tb drives just sat doing nothing and I would like to use them for backups and storage.
    im not keen on using external USB enclosures as I would need a power supply for each one.

    So other than upgrading my server case is there an add on I can buy?
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,180
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    What model server you using? If it's the n54 you can hack the bios to allow you to use the large bay for another drive


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Thanks to jaygo

    Teajunkie (29th December 2016) 


  3. #3
    DF Wh0re digi247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        26
    Karma Level
    163

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    You can use the Hack on any of the Gen7 Range N36/40/54 and with the modded bios should allow you to use 4TB drives in all bays + the top bay, I use 4TB in mine with no problem but have read you can use up to 6TB in each bay

    Thanks to digi247

    Teajunkie (29th December 2016) 


  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked:        1,505
    Karma Level
    477

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    I'm already using the top drive bay.

    I have 4x 2tb and one 5tb drive I wanted to buy more of the 5tb but if they fail that's a shit load of data to replace!
    The 5tb was £79.99 from staples in a seagate backup plus desktop drive.
    i have just ripped the drive out and now have a 5tb drive for under £80.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  5. #5
    DF PlaYa hoponbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    979
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked:        209
    Karma Level
    267

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    Would the PSU be up to the job of running 9 drives even if you can hook it all together? I'd be more tempted to sell the smaller drives and replace with larger.

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked:        1,505
    Karma Level
    477

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    1tb drives are worthless these days and I would rather use them to make copies of photos that I don't want to loose and my music collection.

    Im thinking more of an external box that can hold three drives with its own psu.
    and maybe esata or something?

    I may have just found it

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Last edited by Teajunkie; 30th December 2016 at 01:54 PM.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

    Thanks to Teajunkie

    digi247 (1st January 2017) 


  7. #7
    DF Member TheQuagmire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked:        20
    Karma Level
    43

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    1tb drives are worthless these days and I would rather use them to make copies of photos that I don't want to loose and my music collection.
    Off-topic, but boy... I don't think I'd ever see the day when someone mention a whole terabyte being worthless hahaha!

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,874
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked:        3,144
    Karma Level
    1529

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    If you don't need high performance then an external USB enclosure should work (or eSATA if you have a port, I can't remember). If performance matters then You could always add a RAID card with an external port to add an external case, I can't remember the name of these. I know my P222 in my Gen8 microserver has an external port, I think my P212 in my n40l has one too. Look for them on eBay as the RRP is high but bargains can be had on used cards.


  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,090
    Thanks
    1,828
    Thanked:        3,990
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    The 5tb was £79.99 from staples in a seagate backup plus desktop drive.
    i have just ripped the drive out and now have a 5tb drive for under £80.
    This was a fantastic deal. Shame I missed it. When did this event take place? Currently at £142!

    I could really do with some 5TB drives at that price!!

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


  10. #10
    DF Jedi fanni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    2,713
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked:        313
    Karma Level
    330

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    You can also use the rear e-sata port for a drive I've got an e-sata to sata cable routed inside to run an ssd to run the OS from

    Thanks to fanni

    Teajunkie (31st December 2016) 


  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked:        1,505
    Karma Level
    477

    Default Re: So my server Bays are full and I want to add More disks

    I went back in today and the 4tb are at £99.99 on offer now.
    the 5tb are no longer stocked apparently they have been recalled and are not allowed to be sold as the packaging is changing.

    I will ill post up a picture of the receipt and box tomorrow maybe worth asking in your local staples?
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

    Thanks to Teajunkie

    DejaVu (31st December 2016) 


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th July 2016, 09:13 AM
  2. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 14th December 2013, 08:15 PM
  3. [WANTED] Small Business Server 2003 Disks/License
    By Twincharge in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd February 2010, 10:40 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •