Close

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 61
  1. #1
    DF Member white rabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Evening all.

    I have had a NOW TV Box for years and installed plex on it and used it as a server to stream all my media off computer to bedroom. I have just bought a new on for the kids room and cant seem to get Plex on it. I have read somewhere that they have stopped you installing Plex.

    Is this true and has anybody found a way around it.

    Cheers Guys

    Rob

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,459
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked:        457
    Karma Level
    386

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Nope as I've just done another tonight. Follow this: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Sent from my LG G4
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa purpleanimal23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    883
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked:        78
    Karma Level
    227

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Looks like they are about to kill it now

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  4. #4
    DF Rookie ceet12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        3
    Karma Level
    5

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Yes your right purple. I noticed my Plex completely disappeared early this morning. Even after applying the so called work round of not updating networking pings.

  5. #5
    DF Rookie ceet12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        3
    Karma Level
    5

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Ps. When you think about it it a pathetic decision by sky.

  6. #6
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,201
    Thanks
    986
    Thanked:        1,216
    Karma Level
    909

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Quote Originally Posted by ceet12 View Post
    Ps. When you think about it it a pathetic decision by sky.
    No it's called trying to make a profit. These boxes are rebranded Rokus which they (apparently) sell at a loss, they expect to make up the money from their subscription service Now TV. If no one bothers with the now tv sub (and who would if you have a plex sub or your own server) they are forever making a loss on them.

    Thanks to beerman

    piggzy (17th March 2017) 


  7. #7
    DF PwNagE Geko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,971
    Thanks
    1,175
    Thanked:        1,281
    Karma Level
    559

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Now TV boxes will be going on the bin by the 100s now

  8. #8
    DF Wh0re sav1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked:        3
    Karma Level
    116

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    So whats the best option now for plex ?

  9. #9
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,107
    Thanks
    1,623
    Thanked:        825
    Karma Level
    171

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Any generic Android box for 20ish + quid off aliexpress.com if your patient and want to save money or ebay if you're not !!

  10. #10
    DF PwNagE Geko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,971
    Thanks
    1,175
    Thanked:        1,281
    Karma Level
    559

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Got any you've used and recommend?

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,099
    Thanks
    1,289
    Thanked:        1,269
    Karma Level
    434

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Fuck fuck fuck!
    my folks use now to to access my plex server and so do most of my family and friends.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  12. #12
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,107
    Thanks
    1,623
    Thanked:        825
    Karma Level
    171

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    @Geko

    Would recommend this. I have the older chipset version and it works fine. Plus this is newer Android.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] 29 including delivery from china. Based on choosing the 2MB box, no point getting 1MB for about 4 less.

    ALWAYS buy a Wireless KB/Remote with dongle example below. The included Remote Controls are shit (On all android TV boxes). NO exception, just do it as you will anyway.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] 7.42 including delivery from china

    Capable of far more than these locked down Now TV boxes. All rooted out of the box. Quicker too imho

    Edit: I tend to use the Amlogic chipset boxes as I have bought a few for family and friends.. seem rock solid and no freezing/locking needing to reboot etc
    Last edited by piggzy; 17th March 2017 at 09:25 PM.

  13. #13
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,099
    Thanks
    1,289
    Thanked:        1,269
    Karma Level
    434

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Wouldn't you be better spending 30 on a firestick?
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  14. #14
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,107
    Thanks
    1,623
    Thanked:        825
    Karma Level
    171

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Had one but found these Chinese knock off's could do a lot more and were quicker. They are FULLY rooted from manufacture and give no issues. Rooting firesticks imho are never 100% rooted e.g. you still get some things that just don't work.

    Also with the box above I posted you get a lot more connectivity with USB ports, Bluetooth on some etc

    Edit: To add I found the firestick very locked down as it isn't regular android its been buggered about with too much by amazon so if you really want to tinker you are fucked.
    As in a lot less apps are compatible with the Firestick without tones of fucking around or just plain buggy

  15. #15
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,201
    Thanks
    986
    Thanked:        1,216
    Karma Level
    909

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Quote Originally Posted by Geko View Post
    Now TV boxes will be going on the bin by the 100s now
    And lots of subs being bought again as they are locked to the box.

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12,846
    Thanks
    3,328
    Thanked:        1,498
    Karma Level
    1239

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Surely between the minds here something can be figured out.

    I'm thinking along the lines of trying to take a dump from a "working" box and being able to restore this to an updated one, and figuring out how to block update from coming through.

  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    8,857
    Thanks
    1,709
    Thanked:        3,821
    Karma Level
    925

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    Typical Sky. Sell hundreds of the boxes thinking it's all profit. Then cancel the whole reason it was worth while in the first place. It's because they were not gaining enough subs for the online services from it.
    I've had loads of calls tonight asking why it's not longer working!

    Plex Server: AMD-FX8350 | 32GB RAM | Windows 10 | 12TB 8TB 4TB (Uh Oh!)

  18. #18
    DF PlaYa Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked:        126
    Karma Level
    224

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    If it's not been hit yet you can block the update servers at your router or with opendns like we did with the wiiu.
    (You can see the server addresses by pressing home 5 times, fast forward 3 times and rewind twice)

    Changing update servers, like they suggest on some YouTube vids, didn't work for me and the box has updated to a new firmware without a developer mode afaik

    Thanks to Hippie on hill

    Over Carl (18th March 2017) 


  19. #19
    DF Rookie ceet12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        3
    Karma Level
    5

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    I actually have the entertainment pack sub for 6.99 a month. I don't mind paying for this. What I do not like is a sly sky update remove my Plex which by the way my Plex server isn't running at the moment so it wouldn't really make a difference to me. But it's the principal which it will be for a lot of people. So I will be cancelling my sub at the end of the month and using the fire stick/h96 pro I have.
    Last edited by ceet12; 18th March 2017 at 07:19 AM.

  20. #20
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,379
    Thanks
    1,566
    Thanked:        1,018
    Karma Level
    676

    Default Re: Plex on new NOW TV Box

    So what's the consensus on best replacement equipment on a budget as I got about 20 mates having a moan lol

    I'm fine as use dreamplex and iOS versions personally but how does the below work, any experiences with

    Roku stick
    Chromecast work ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •