Close

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    175

    Default New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Hi all,

    finally installed a floureon cctv system, cheap and cheerful, and I've just whacked a 500gb hdd from a old skybox so even more of a bargain for me.

    it was ok for a day, nice sort of crisp picture, then the next day the picture quality has purple and pink hazes.

    not sure if it's the tv, Ive had a slight tinker with the colour options, doesn't really effect the haze?
    if I play with the hue it does drop out but not much....

    ive unplugged, I've tapped the cameras, I've moved them, etc etc and still the same...

    the only process of elimination I have is taking the tv from my kids room and trying that and seeing. If it still does it...

    any help on this? Complete amateur, not even setup the internet up on it yet as I've misplaced the manual 😱

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,971
    Thanks
    1,096
    Thanked:        3,199
    Karma Level
    1540

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Have you tried adjusting the hue/saturation/contrast on the DVR and TV to see what affect it has?

    Thanks to evilsatan

    mrphil (21st March 2017) 


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    175

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Have you tried adjusting the hue/saturation/contrast on the DVR and TV to see what affect it has?
    Ive had a little tinkle, it does adjust it, but can't get fully rid of of it? It was perfect for a whole day and seemed to change overnight?

    ill have another try and I think I'll try another tv?

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    868
    Thanks
    322
    Thanked:        247
    Karma Level
    205

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    can you download the footage to a USB device and plug it into a computer? to me that seems like a monitor issue - are the cameras COAX or IP?

    Thanks to grrrd

    mrphil (21st March 2017) 


  5. #5
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    175

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Quote Originally Posted by grrrd View Post
    can you download the footage to a USB device and plug it into a computer? to me that seems like a monitor issue - are the cameras COAX or IP?
    There coax. I think I can put on to USB - that's adulation a good ide, I personally think it's my to that's played up- it was fine one day and like this the next! I'll plug the chrome cast back in and see if that plays up!

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    175

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    I've adjusted the tv settings and it takes the haze away, but the picture is to dark then. So it appears to be the tv itself?!

    when I go to the menu on the tv even the menu appears to be a funny tint of colour.

    i will pull the chrome cast out and check this and if that's hazy then my tv has gone dud overnight - Sod's law!

  7. #7
    DF Jedi Ashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    3,244
    Thanked:        468
    Karma Level
    259

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Magnet near the telly?

    Thanks to Ashley

    mrphil (21st March 2017) 


  8. #8
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    175

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashley View Post
    Magnet near the telly?
    No magnet near, the tv has been up the best part of 2 1/2 years as just a feature in the kitchen, I have tried another tv and it was perfect, so it's the tv coincidently just packing in, I've adjusted the brightness and it's took the haze away but obviously stuck with a darker picture.

    so now on the hunt for a new or second hand tv or a hd monitor.

    cant believe the market for cctv, £50 and I'm well chuffed!
    just got to sort the IP out so I can view on my phone!

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member coin-op's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    About
    Posts
    2,669
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked:        196
    Karma Level
    392

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashley View Post
    Magnet near the telly?
    LCD flatscreens aren't effected by magnets. I am surprised nobodies mention Jimi Hendrix yet tho.

    Thanks to coin-op

    mrphil (21st March 2017) 


  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    Lou_smorals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,317
    Thanks
    743
    Thanked:        595
    Karma Level
    406

    Default Re: New CCTV has a purple haze?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrphil View Post
    Hi all,

    finally installed a floureon cctv system, cheap and cheerful, and I've just whacked a 500gb hdd from a old skybox so even more of a bargain for me.

    it was ok for a day, nice sort of crisp picture, then the next day the picture quality has purple and pink hazes.

    not sure if it's the tv, Ive had a slight tinker with the colour options, doesn't really effect the haze?
    if I play with the hue it does drop out but not much....

    ive unplugged, I've tapped the cameras, I've moved them, etc etc and still the same...

    the only process of elimination I have is taking the tv from my kids room and trying that and seeing. If it still does it...

    any help on this? Complete amateur, not even setup the internet up on it yet as I've misplaced the manual 

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Hi
    I believe this is caused by faulty IR cut filter, almost positive. my friend swaps them out as he buys them from china for a few ££.
    Several of my cheap IP cams (Floureon and Apexis) developed a similar issue and from now on O am only buying better ones.
    LS
    Dear Lord, please grant me the ability to punch people in the face over Standard TCP/IP

    2 Thanks given to Lou_smorals

    mrphil (21st March 2017), Over Carl (15th March 2017) 


Similar Threads

  1. DPD - Have they got CCTV / Covert CCTV?
    By mrphil in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 9th June 2013, 01:12 PM
  2. How To Fix iPhone 5 Camera’s Purple Haze Problem
    By evilsatan in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th December 2012, 05:01 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th November 2012, 05:30 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd October 2012, 12:52 PM
  5. Haze gets a 4.5/10 from IGN
    By Billhouse in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 02:44 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •