Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Trying to get some info for my children who live with the ex.

    Where they live they are 3km from the exchange and it is fed directly to properties not via cabinet so Infinity / Fibre estimates between 1-2 mbps.
    Speaking to a neighbour this is accurate and they don't actually even get 1mb most of the time.

    Is satellite worth looking into. A quick google seems to be a bit of a minefield with vague information and wildly varying prices.

    Just wondered if anyone has used and can recommend a provider.

    Thanks for any info guys.

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,190
    Thanks
    980
    Thanked:        1,199
    Karma Level
    906

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    I used one way sat broadband back in the 90s. IIRC it was called europe online and needed a dish pointed at 19.2e. You got 700mb of data on a 2MBps stream you could request via your phone line to be beamed down to you but this 700mb could be pooled and you got what everyone was requesting along with 4 more streams. Back then I was filling HDDs in days, the data rate was 10MBps but most of it was german porn with the a few new release films that I actually wanted (actually being 13 or 14 at the time the german porn was nice too). Can't really answer your question, I just thought it was cool that back in the 90s I was rocking a 100mbps connection.

    Be aware that any sat broadband will have very high latency so gaming is off the table.

    Thanks to beerman

    piggzy (1 Week Ago) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    I think things have changed somewhat lol

    From snooping around the standard downspeed is 20MB with a 6MB up.

    What you pay depends on how many GB but 50 mark seems to give you 30GB (unlimited overnight).

    As they get under 2MB atm they are entitled to 350 from the government to cover installation and equipment.

    Will keep googling.

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,466
    Thanks
    966
    Thanked:        2,905
    Karma Level
    1488

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Satellite is poor for VoIP/gaming due to the latency and browsing to multiple pages will also appear laggy, streaming/downloading is fine though. Fairly high set up costs and ongoing costs, I have used Tooway in the past.

    Have you checked if there is a wireless radio provider? They are much cheaper, good latency and speeds. County Broadband is one such provider around here but there are others too. I am not aware of a centralised site other than Sam Knows which helps find what is available.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    piggzy (1 Week Ago) 


  5. #5
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Satellite is poor for VoIP/gaming due to the latency and browsing to multiple pages will also appear laggy, streaming/downloading is fine though. Fairly high set up costs and ongoing costs, I have used Tooway in the past.

    Have you checked if there is a wireless radio provider? They are much cheaper, good latency and speeds. County Broadband is one such provider around here but there are others too. I am not aware of a centralised site other than Sam Knows which helps find what is available.
    Thanks that looks like a good idea. Any idea how you find these in your area or is it just a matter of googling.

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,466
    Thanks
    966
    Thanked:        2,905
    Karma Level
    1488

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Googling or Sam Knows, annoying as I run into the same problem with some properties where it would be handy if there was a central way to find out. Sometimes Superfast Essex tells me but not always and that is for this county only.


  7. #7
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Thanks I found that RedRaw a wireless provider have a reseller very close to the area so will try contacting them. Their website is terrible so will have to ring them I think.

    From what I can gather it is cheaper than Sat but it says contact us to discuss how much GB etc . So that may screw things.

    Doesn't quite cover the area they live but very close .. [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Shit site eh ?? :-)

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,466
    Thanks
    966
    Thanked:        2,905
    Karma Level
    1488

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    This may give you an idea of what to expect, you would need an aerial installing but these are cheaper than the sat kit:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to evilsatan

    piggzy (1 Week Ago) 


  9. #9
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    This may give you an idea of what to expect, you would need an aerial installing but these are cheaper than the sat kit:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    For the money I think they are very generous data allowances. Surprised to be honest.

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    tombott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    5,671
    Thanks
    496
    Thanked:        550
    Karma Level
    695

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Up until 3 months ago I was using Wireless radio for internet. We got 20mb down and 2mb up. For 20 a month it was great, with unlimited usage. Few months back BT installed fibre to our village, so we have fibre to premise at 120MB.
    The company we used was Airband. The tech people are great, but the office staff are not so!

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Guns don't kill people rappers do, I'm a fucking rapper and I might kill you.

    Thanks to tombott

    piggzy (1 Week Ago) 


  11. #11
    DF PlaYa hoponbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    925
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked:        183
    Karma Level
    251

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Have you looked at 4g dongles instead?

  12. #12
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by hoponbaby View Post
    Have you looked at 4g dongles instead?
    Yes almost no signal on all networks. sketchy 3g Yes . 4G not a chance.

  13. #13
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,857
    Thanks
    328
    Thanked:        212
    Karma Level
    315

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    The latency because you need to use phone line , and take it yours will be noisy because the speeds there saying .will make less usable the adsl option .

  14. #14
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by plug1 View Post
    The latency because you need to use phone line , and take it yours will be noisy because the speeds there saying .will make less usable the adsl option .
    If you are referring to the radio/wireless choices they don't use phone lines at all. No latency involved.

  15. #15
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,857
    Thanks
    328
    Thanked:        212
    Karma Level
    315

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    I thought the uplink still used telco .
    Things must have moved from the last time I looked into it

  16. #16
    DF VIP Member
    tombott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    5,671
    Thanks
    496
    Thanked:        550
    Karma Level
    695

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Yeah no need for a phone line. We ported our number to Sip and then used a Cisco pap converter. Have kept it that way even though we have to have a line with BT for the fibre.

    Sent from my HTC One M8s using Tapatalk
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Guns don't kill people rappers do, I'm a fucking rapper and I might kill you.

  17. #17
    DF Jedi piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1,536
    Thanked:        797
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Satellite Broadband - Help please

    Found a local company. They don't cover the area yet but are installing a mast that will cover it by summer.

    Sorted. They will contact me when it goes live. They have been asked to do it by a group or rural businesses so it looks like it will happen.

    Thanks for all the help guys.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •