Close

Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    DF Wh0re sav1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    122

    Default To use kodi or not ?

    Are people still using thier kodi box's as normal,or using them with a vpn or not.If so is a vpn worth it.Are they really needed?My kodi box is sitting doing nothing at the minute until I find out if its still worth using or is it a case of using something else now.
    Thanks for your time

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,560
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked:        507
    Karma Level
    399

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Iptv with VOD for me. Chucked XBMC ages ago

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

    Thanks to satzzz

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,911
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked:        230
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    still kicking better than ever .
    what box have you got

    Thanks to plug1

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  4. #4
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,466
    Thanks
    1,068
    Thanked:        862
    Karma Level
    652

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    i've dropped Kodi now and use IPTV and Plex
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

    Thanks to Mystical_2K

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  5. #5
    DF Jedi BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    4,157
    Thanks
    1,421
    Thanked:        1,649
    Karma Level
    390

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    I use Plex for TV & Films, Kodi for Sports Mania and have a 20 Sky Package for entertainment.

    I use NORD VPN installed at the Router.

    Find paid for things are miles better, don't use any of these KODI builds anymore, more hassle than their worth.

    Thanks to BigBrand

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  6. #6
    DF PlaYa Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked:        128
    Karma Level
    231

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Still using Kodi on my droid box here.
    With multiple IPTV and vod services setup to run in and out of Kodi and a few apks installed that do what the Kodi addons used to.

    Thanks to Hippie on hill

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  7. #7
    DF PlaYa emu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked:        187
    Karma Level
    182

    Default

    on android i have a nice few apks which seem to do everything i need ill get some links up from my google drive in a bit

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    If you still using kodi this is the best build out

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    oh and dont forget modbro :-)
    Last edited by Mickey; 10th July 2017 at 03:04 PM.

    4 Thanks given to emu

    akimba (10th July 2017), JonEp (11th July 2017), New Art Riot (10th July 2017), sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,712
    Thanks
    930
    Thanked:        725
    Karma Level
    283

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by emu View Post
    on android i have a nice few apks which seem to do everything i need ill get some links up from my google drive in a bit

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    If you still using kodi this is the best build out

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    oh and dont forget modbro :-)
    Nice one ;-)

    Thanks to akimba

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  9. #9
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,071
    Thanks
    1,397
    Thanked:        1,543
    Karma Level
    1174

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    I still use kodi. exodus works great still
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to Mickey

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  10. #10
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,911
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked:        230
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Yeh i use a few different apps on a droid box for m3u, as kodi can be a bit bloated , ie loading channel / epg for 3000 channels takes for ever .

    But for vod and music it cant be beat . The trick is to have loads of good solid maintained repos added . that way the apps stay up to date and there is a back up if the repo goes down .

    and community wizard is a must , get from. .. noobsandnerds

    If anyone needs a 17.1 krypton kodi that will run on older android 4.4 let me know .

    Iv i got a nice restore file if anyone wants to give it a try ... (just restore from my zip using ares wizard .)

    cheers .

    2 Thanks given to plug1

    akimba (11th July 2017), sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  11. #11
    DF Jedi CominAtcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    3,179
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked:        120
    Karma Level
    396

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    I still use kodi. exodus works great still
    I'm finding the links on Exodus are slowly dying. But I'm not using a VPN, so......

    Currently trying the Specto add on, seems to have more success than Exodus, but still not quite like the glory days.

    If OP is after builds, [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] article seems informative and up to date.

    Thanks to CominAtcha

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  12. #12
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,071
    Thanks
    1,397
    Thanked:        1,543
    Karma Level
    1174

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Just had a quick google and turns out there a newish addon now out that's got all the bits and bobs of exodus. installed it on both 17.3 and 16.1 and both work great.
    Addon is called Elsyium

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    copy the zip file and install the repo/addon from the zip

    How to install it if your a noob

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Last edited by Mickey; 11th July 2017 at 02:22 PM.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to Mickey

    sav1 (14th July 2017) 


  13. #13
    DF Wh0re sav1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked:        5
    Karma Level
    122

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Sorrrrry for the late reply,work and stuff.
    So out of all above only one person using a vpn, is it needed ?
    I have 2 tv fire boxes, old and newer,1 has only kodi wookie installed but stopped using due to the problems surrounding the use of kodi and the other has plex with iptv.Would yous advise on a vpn or just update kodi and carry on .

    also dad has a android box with kodi and he has also stopped using until advised better on which is the best route to go.he just using it for tv shows .Best options needed please for both the above.

    Big thanks all much appreciated.

  14. #14
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,911
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked:        230
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Ill post a set of files tomorrow .. with just repos .
    no you dont realy need vpn for vod unless you neend 1channel (you dont ) and few others ( you can google to see what your isp blocks )
    and the geo lock is easy to bypass without paying for vpn .

  15. #15
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,911
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked:        230
    Karma Level
    324

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by sav1 View Post
    Sorrrrry for the late reply,work and stuff.
    So out of all above only one person using a vpn, is it needed ?
    I have 2 tv fire boxes, old and newer,1 has only kodi wookie installed but stopped using due to the problems surrounding the use of kodi and the other has plex with iptv.Would yous advise on a vpn or just update kodi and carry on .

    also dad has a android box with kodi and he has also stopped using until advised better on which is the best route to go.he just using it for tv shows .Best options needed please for both the above.

    Big thanks all much appreciated.
    pm me bud your inbox is full .
    Last edited by plug1; 14th July 2017 at 10:56 PM.

    Thanks to plug1

    sav1 (15th July 2017) 


  16. #16
    DF Rookie gizmops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Hi Guys, Fairly new here but need some advice please.
    I have a Himedia Q10 Pro running Andoid 7 2.04 Futeko software as supplied with the unit.
    I have installed Kodi 17.4 and the latest Free Mobdro. My question is Mobdro keeps freezing, sometimes with only sound working or totally. This happens only after a few minutes viewing on a lot of channels. Is this a setup problem I have missed or a general Mobdro problem. Also when you close the channel to reselect it there are persistant games adds usually requiring 30 seconds to manually exit. Does the Premium version stop the the channels freezing and remove the adds or is the freezing a separate issue. I wont buy the premium version unless the freezing is rectified. Is there better alternative to Mobdro, I have read here about IPTV but don't think I have seen a link to test the software.
    Living in hope.

  17. #17
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,071
    Thanks
    1,397
    Thanked:        1,543
    Karma Level
    1174

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    [
    Quote Originally Posted by gizmops View Post
    Hi Guys, Fairly new here but need some advice please.
    I have a Himedia Q10 Pro running Andoid 7 2.04 Futeko software as supplied with the unit.
    I have installed Kodi 17.4 and the latest Free Mobdro. My question is Mobdro keeps freezing, sometimes with only sound working or totally. This happens only after a few minutes viewing on a lot of channels. Is this a setup problem I have missed or a general Mobdro problem. Also when you close the channel to reselect it there are persistant games adds usually requiring 30 seconds to manually exit. Does the Premium version stop the the channels freezing and remove the adds or is the freezing a separate issue. I wont buy the premium version unless the freezing is rectified. Is there better alternative to Mobdro, I have read here about IPTV but don't think I have seen a link to test the software.
    Living in hope.
    Wrong thread for asking questions regarding your difficulties. this thread is about using kodi or not

    back on topic:

    Since my first post, I don't use kodi anymore as there are better programs out there that do it without the hassle of booting up kodi
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  18. #18
    DF PlaYa Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked:        128
    Karma Level
    231

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    I've gone the other way
    I don't think I've run anything on my droid box outside Kodi for months (since fixing things after Exodus got blocked)

  19. #19
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,071
    Thanks
    1,397
    Thanked:        1,543
    Karma Level
    1174

    Default Re: To use kodi or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hippie on hill View Post
    I've gone the other way
    I don't think I've run anything on my droid box outside Kodi for months (since fixing things after Exodus got blocked)
    Terrarium and mobdro do the same job but much quicker and less faffing about than kodi does. Even the footy streams work and you don't have to go thru hundreds of sport addons to get a good stable feed

    Kodi has had its time, now other ways of getting TV is changing and is getting easier to watch
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •