Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Help Plex guru needed.

    Ok so we have a Samsung smart tv and I have plex installed on it but for some reason it doesn't like playing anything.

    There are so e things that will play but I would say 90% just won't play and I get an error.
    i have googled this and it's quite common but can't find a solution.

    Does anyone one else have a Samsung smart tv with plex installed?

    samsung UE50MU6100
    running latest os and latest plex build.

    I have tried forcing the server to transcode by unticking the boxes allow direct play and direct stream but still no go.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  2. #2
    DF PiMP pickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    159

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    I have a ue48hu7500 and all seems ok, whats the error message your getting ??

  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    8,972
    Thanks
    1,769
    Thanked:        3,900
    Karma Level
    939

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    To narrow it down, what file types play with what codec? Not that it should matter because it's transcoded in the fly to a language the TV should understand. Does it play stuff from my server ok?

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Error showing is "Player error connection failed"
    Im starting to think it's the bt hub causing it?

    theres no error codes or certain file types
    and no it won't play from any source.

    Edit : yeah it's just loaded a file ok from you deja
    The network Dlna player works great no issues at all so why does plex have such a hissy fit?
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    8,972
    Thanks
    1,769
    Thanked:        3,900
    Karma Level
    939

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Connection failed points to routing. Is the TV online? I reckon it must be. Can you specify an IP address in the Samsung TV app? Manual Server? [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Forward port 32400 to the Plex on the router. It can't hurt to try it.

    Appears odd if you're logged in with your Plex credentials. IE PIN code

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
    Last edited by DejaVu; 4th August 2017 at 10:27 AM.


  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    The server is fine on any other device e.g. Firestick and works fine too.
    Strange as it can see and browse all media it just won't play it.

    The tv is also open not behind the firewall and has a dedicated IP address.
    Seems very odd as the dlna works fine but the plex app fails every time.
    I have forwarded port 32400 on the tv as well but it hasn't done anything.

    It looks like plex on the Samsung tv is junk.
    Last edited by Teajunkie; 3rd August 2017 at 10:44 PM.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  7. #7
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    857
    Thanks
    316
    Thanked:        244
    Karma Level
    193

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    i had similar issues with my LG smart, gave up in the end and just use the firestick - so much quicker!

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    It's pretty dissapointing I was hoping I could ditch the firestick.
    ah well.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,561
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked:        507
    Karma Level
    399

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Strange as I have Samsung and it's works a treat. Are you hard wired or WiFi?

    Sent from my Philips Cellnet using a 12c508
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  10. #10
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,642
    Thanks
    2,262
    Thanked:        1,126
    Karma Level
    213

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    I had issues not with that TV but with Xbox One playing plex stuff. Sometimes no problems, other times it would only play some.

    For other reasons I changed my router from a BT HomeHub to an Asus router and the problems vanished instantly, never got to the bottom of it. Can you borrow a spare router off someone to test before shelling out any money ??

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,466
    Thanks
    1,068
    Thanked:        862
    Karma Level
    652

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    I have 2 Samsung TV's that I use the Plex app on, they work fine 99% of the time
    If something doesnt play have you tried adjusting the Playback to force it to re-encode, that usually fixes it for me.

    So if you can disable Direct Play it will force it re-encode and then it should be compatible with the TV

    If you need me to check anything on my Samsung TV's tonight let me know.

    One of the only problems I do have with Plex on 1 TV is that it requires me to sign in with a Samsung account before Plex will load - the other TV loads straight away - bit annoying
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

    Thanks to Mystical_2K

    Teajunkie (4th August 2017) 


  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by satzzz View Post
    Strange as I have Samsung and it's works a treat. Are you hard wired or WiFi?

    Sent from my Philips Cellnet using a 12c508
    It's on wifi the router is out in hallway about 30 feet from tv.

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    I had issues not with that TV but with Xbox One playing plex stuff. Sometimes no problems, other times it would only play some.

    For other reasons I changed my router from a BT HomeHub to an Asus router and the problems vanished instantly, never got to the bottom of it. Can you borrow a spare router off someone to test before shelling out any money ??
    i have a few routers laying about I'm going to try a different one later if I get 5 mins.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mystical_2K View Post
    I have 2 Samsung TV's that I use the Plex app on, they work fine 99% of the time
    If something doesnt play have you tried adjusting the Playback to force it to re-encode, that usually fixes it for me.

    So if you can disable Direct Play it will force it re-encode and then it should be compatible with the TV

    If you need me to check anything on my Samsung TV's tonight let me know.

    One of the only problems I do have with Plex on 1 TV is that it requires me to sign in with a Samsung account before Plex will load - the other TV loads straight away - bit annoying
    Thanks fella.
    I have forced the server to transcode it makes no difference.

    the odd thing to me is the built in network player picks up plex server and plays anything from it fine so the server is working as it should transcoding and streaming ok.
    Its an issue with the plex app it seeems.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  13. #13
    DF PlaYa chizh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    570
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked:        93
    Karma Level
    250

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Remove the app from the TV. Switch off and back on to make sure the memory is cleared then re-install the app.
    Think you will have to re-pin the app with the plex website but might help clear any glitches.

    Thanks to chizh

    Teajunkie (4th August 2017) 


  14. #14
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,466
    Thanks
    1,068
    Thanked:        862
    Karma Level
    652

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by chizh View Post
    Remove the app from the TV. Switch off and back on to make sure the memory is cleared then re-install the app.
    Think you will have to re-pin the app with the plex website but might help clear any glitches.
    Yes this was my next suggestion, apparently it can develop a cache issue
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

    Thanks to Mystical_2K

    Teajunkie (4th August 2017) 


  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Nope still not doing anything.
    Will try a router in a bit.

    Will keep you updated as this is doing my nut in now.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  16. #16
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,517
    Thanks
    2,459
    Thanked:        1,146
    Karma Level
    760

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    i have same tv and dont have a problem with plex, on vermin broadband , is your plex server on a stand alone pc, mine plays anything i put in the library.

  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,382
    Thanks
    1,394
    Thanked:        1,415
    Karma Level
    459

    Default Re: Plex guru needed.

    Quote Originally Posted by WRATH OF BOD View Post
    i have same tv and dont have a problem with plex, on vermin broadband , is your plex server on a stand alone pc, mine plays anything i put in the library.
    Its on an hp NL54 but like I said it's only the TV having issues all other playback devices are working perfectly.
    I'm yet to try the router so I'm hoping it's only that.
    My decal venture has taken over my dog tag business
    nice to be busy though.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •