Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    DF Wh0re josweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked:        143
    Karma Level
    155

    Default Mac address disable

    I have a timer on my home network which is controlled by the mac address. I have discovered that my 14yr old son has changed his Mac address to get round the block which tbh, im kind of impressed by tbh.. and a lil annoyed.
    I havent showed my hand as this for me is now a cat & mouse game. It used to be hard to change the mac & could only be done in dos.. so i thought!
    Its a new Intel chipset NIC device on his M/B & quick google search brings up a how to ffs.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    This is where im stuck, as im not sure what move to make to prevent internet access I know the easy solution is to give him a bollocking, but as he is leaning towards a career in IT, so as he is having to learn & research networking in hope to keep in his internet on for longer, he is getting an education it without in realising it lol

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,681
    Thanks
    1,012
    Thanked:        3,032
    Karma Level
    1509

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    Is he wireless or wired? What router do you have? I don't know what routers allow this but I'll use Draytek as an example, you could have him on a wired port and assign that port to a VLAN then apply schedules to that VLAN. Would work with wireless too tbh as you can have several SSIDs.


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa psxcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london/s.wales
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked:        84
    Karma Level
    302

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    couldnt you change router settings to only allow certain mac ids that way it wouldn't matter what he changed it to

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa Rhinoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    840
    Thanks
    426
    Thanked:        310
    Karma Level
    113

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    Quote Originally Posted by psxcity View Post
    couldnt you change router settings to only allow certain mac ids that way it wouldn't matter what he changed it to
    He would just copy a MAC that is allowed on the network.

    Personally I would get an old router and add it to the network for him to use that as his connection and therefore you could do what you need in regards to his connection, time limits just for him etc.

  5. #5
    DF Wh0re josweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked:        143
    Karma Level
    155

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    Its a wired connection via a VM superhub. Im leaning towards finding an old router & flashing DDwrt on it, i can then select the option ONLY allow this mac & no other
    Flashing DDwrt isnt a problem, but what router would u suggest? Maybe an old Sky one?

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    12,986
    Thanks
    3,650
    Thanked:        1,591
    Karma Level
    1256

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    I can't remember the name, but most routers have an option so a particular MAC address gets allocated a fixed IP address. Setup all your devices using this, then reduce the size of your DHCP pool to the same as the number of devices you have configured.

    If he copies another device's MAC that will cause serious problems for both devices when they are both connected.

    Big catch is it will be a nuisance adding any more devices to your network (e.g. if a friend comes round and wants to join their phone to your home internet).

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator Ganty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,198
    Thanks
    874
    Thanked:        573
    Karma Level
    1183

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    Get hold of his laptop, find his most visited websites, open his host file and redirect all his favourites to meatspin.com

    He should learn a little respect after that.

    (in all seriousness though overcarl's method of reducing the dhcp pool would work).

    Isn't there a programme that can change bandwidth allocation so you could effectively allow him 0mb after a certain time?

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,681
    Thanks
    1,012
    Thanked:        3,032
    Karma Level
    1509

    Default Re: Mac address disable

    Quote Originally Posted by Over Carl View Post
    I can't remember the name, but most routers have an option so a particular MAC address gets allocated a fixed IP address. Setup all your devices using this, then reduce the size of your DHCP pool to the same as the number of devices you have configured.

    If he copies another device's MAC that will cause serious problems for both devices when they are both connected.

    Big catch is it will be a nuisance adding any more devices to your network (e.g. if a friend comes round and wants to join their phone to your home internet).
    That's a MAC bind, you can also set up strict bind on some routers where the MAC list becomes a whitelist with any other MACs blocked rather than set the DHCP pool size.

    I use the method you've mentioned when adding PDQs to an office network, assign one physical port and no WLAN to a VLAN, set the DHCP pool to a single IP that is bound to the PDQ and the subnet to something random (avoiding any common defaults). This is to isolate any PDQ traffic from the rest of the network.


Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •