Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Home Security

  1. #1
    DF Jedi dainese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stretford End
    Posts
    1,138
    Thanks
    125
    Thanked:        97
    Karma Level
    248

    Advice Home Security

    Hi all,
    I'm having some building work done to our house which will mean rendering work to the external walls. I have a wireless alarm system which was a present from my parents. These days CCTV seems to be a bigger deterant than an alarm which nobody flickers an eye to.

    Not being aware of what is affordably available of the camera front, I thought if I say what I have in mind someone may have advice! I like the idea of a camera that could be combined/powered from a security light to avoid more electrical work. A sd card recording that can be accessed if there was something that needed reviewing. I like the idea of having an app on my android where I can access it live if a warning is given. I would possibly have 2 cameras set-up in the same way to cover the back of the property and also the front.

    Is there someone with something similar?

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,955
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Home Security

    You will either need to run a network cable or get a wireless model for remote access. If you run a network cable and get a PoE model with injector you don't need to run a power cable too, I'm not sure if the existing wiring would be ok for a wireless model or not.

    Hikvision seem to be the brand of choice at the moment but I'm not sure if they do SD card models and they aren't cheap either. Fosscam used to be popular and they do wireless/SD card models. I'm sure some people will be along here shortly with some specific models to recommend.

    2 Thanks given to evilsatan

    dainese (21st August 2017), MHP (21st August 2017) 


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    868
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked:        247
    Karma Level
    204

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    You will either need to run a network cable or get a wireless model for remote access. If you run a network cable and get a PoE model with injector you don't need to run a power cable too, I'm not sure if the existing wiring would be ok for a wireless model or not.

    Hikvision seem to be the brand of choice at the moment but I'm not sure if they do SD card models and they aren't cheap either. Fosscam used to be popular and they do wireless/SD card models. I'm sure some people will be along here shortly with some specific models to recommend.
    HikVision do edge storage on the majority of the digital cameras, not sure about there turbo/Analogue versions.

    Thanks to grrrd

    dainese (21st August 2017) 


  4. #4
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    547
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked:        322
    Karma Level
    92

    Default Re: Home Security

    +1 for POE, it makes installing a whole lot easier.

  5. #5
    DF Jedi dainese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stretford End
    Posts
    1,138
    Thanks
    125
    Thanked:        97
    Karma Level
    248

    Default Re: Home Security

    Bumping my own thread!

    Just coming to the stage of choosing some security lights and have come across this :
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    As shown it is made by Ring and incorporates lights/camera/siren/speaker and remote warnings and access through an app. Does anyone have one as it seems ideal for what I would require?

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,955
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Home Security

    Might be worth looking in Maplin if you have one local to you, I think they have a minimum 20% off everything and I saw that product in my local one yesterday. Likely they will be out of stock but worth a go.

    Ring seems to get good write ups, I don't think they are as flexible as installing your own i.e. you can't run your own software to capture the video and you may have to pay a subscription for some services but if it's an AIO device then it's simpler to install, use and looks neater.


  7. #7
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,717
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked:        659
    Karma Level
    655

    Default Re: Home Security

    I've got the Ring Doorbell system which works well for what it does. But as evil says you have to pay £2 per month to store recordings with them. You can't record yourself and store on home server.

    the only way round, is to record the screen on your phone when it detects motion and notifies you. Ok if it detects motion when your'r awake but if it happens in the middle of the night not much use. Hence why they charge the £2 per month to view recordings.
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  8. #8
    DF Jedi Zippeyrude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,314
    Thanks
    237
    Thanked:        791
    Karma Level
    496

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Hikvision seem to be the brand of choice at the moment but I'm not sure if they do SD card models and they aren't cheap either.
    I have a Hikvision setup, nice bit of kit
    Better to avoid the chinese sellers as the hardware is difficult to update the firmware on etc.
    Not the cheapest, but reliable kt with lots of options.

  9. #9
    DF PiMP Lestronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    S/East England
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    239

    Default Re: Home Security

    I use a H-View System complete kit available on Amazon, all cables and bullet type 1080p POE cameras with 30m night infrared range, you have to fit a sata hdd in the reciever box unless you purchase the option with a 1tb drive already fitted. 24/7 hour recording and can be viewed remotely on android/ios Apps and footage easily downloaded and viewed. Just route the supplied Cat5 cable fitted with plugs from reciever to camera, job done !

    Regards

  10. #10
    DF Jedi dainese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stretford End
    Posts
    1,138
    Thanks
    125
    Thanked:        97
    Karma Level
    248

    Default Re: Home Security

    I've done away with running ethernet cables around the house so much so I even do not have a satellite dish or aerial; so WiFi is a must. I have 3 areas I have power cable where security lights used to be, and I am thinking of having one on the front of the house and one on the back. The extra monthly cost is a bit of a bummer especially having paid a hefty price for them. I may try Maplin but I believe I may be able to get 2 for £300 if I try! The reviews are a little mixed in the area of detail. I think I read that being able to read a car number plate or someones face clearly isn't great. But I imagine even top dollar set-ups may struggle depending on where the cameras positioned and lighting at the time....

  11. #11
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,497
    Thanks
    2,524
    Thanked:        1,241
    Karma Level
    323

    Default Re: Home Security

    ive always been put off the idea of Wifi CCTV systems. i mean the whole point is to record the footage at the end of the day, and if yhour wireless goes down at a crucial point, or you have long delays without wifi then the system is effectively useless?

    if your downloading something at your full speed via wifi on a laptop, (i dont know about other people) , but some of my other devices, and my wifes laptop have trouble doing anything online - so surely the same must occur for the cameras being unable to connect during a download?

  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,955
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by CallmeGoose View Post
    ive always been put off the idea of Wifi CCTV systems. i mean the whole point is to record the footage at the end of the day, and if yhour wireless goes down at a crucial point, or you have long delays without wifi then the system is effectively useless?

    if your downloading something at your full speed via wifi on a laptop, (i dont know about other people) , but some of my other devices, and my wifes laptop have trouble doing anything online - so surely the same must occur for the cameras being unable to connect during a download?
    They may be ok as they will be uploading but if you were concerned you could get a router that supports VLAN so the security system traffic is separated from other traffic and then apply bandwidth rules to ringfence a certain level for the security system. My worry would be the failures to connect, even high end routers occasionally need rebooting in order for wireless clients to connect, usually something DHCP related so maybe a MAC bind/static IP would help but this isn't something I've paid much attention to.


  13. #13
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    868
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked:        247
    Karma Level
    204

    Default Re: Home Security

    Also - if someone really wanted to get past the cameras wouldn't it just be as easy ans setting up a SSID of the same name and stand closer to it than your home router. The camera will try to authenticate on that SSID (stronger signal) and not be able to get online??
    there must be some sort of cache on the camera?

  14. #14
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,955
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by grrrd View Post
    Also - if someone really wanted to get past the cameras wouldn't it just be as easy ans setting up a SSID of the same name and stand closer to it than your home router. The camera will try to authenticate on that SSID (stronger signal) and not be able to get online??
    there must be some sort of cache on the camera?
    They'd need to know the password of the original SSID too though otherwise the camera would use the cached security settings and password and it would fail to connect. Connections also tend to be persistent i.e. you might have a router downstairs and an AP upstairs, if you turn your laptop on downstairs then move upstairs even if the signal drops to 10% it will remain connected rather than switching to the AP. So they would need to know the SSID the camera is connected to (often there are several overlapping SSIDs from neighbours), the security settings of the SSID (i.e. WPA/AES) and the password then be able to power cycle the camera to get it to try and connect.


  15. #15
    DF PiMP Lestronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    S/East England
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    239

    Default Re: Home Security

    Steer clear of wireless for all of the above and also the hassle of changing batteries is a pain in the arse .....

    Years ago I installed a wirerless burglar alarm, state of the art but man did it cause problems, pir's going down, constant battery changes, well after a year or so I finally replaced it with a wired system, best thing ever and I vowed never to go down the wireless route again, well so I thought ...... Last Year I deciced to get cctv and went against my vowel and purchased the Netgear Arlo system, I figured things must have improved on that score now right? big mistake, again constant loss of signal and sync, battery changes, and they weren't cheap, weird batteries and were costing a tenner per set, ladder out also to get to the cameras, the hassle blah blah, all changed to the h-view system now, one cat 5 cable to each camera, POE so no worries about power and much more secure. But your choice ........

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,955
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,187
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Home Security

    Wired is my choice too, surprised to hear the Arlo system has such issues though, I thought I had read good things about them (I may be wrong) and they specialise in networking kit!


  17. #17
    DF PiMP Lestronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    S/East England
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    239

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Wired is my choice too, surprised to hear the Arlo system has such issues though, I thought I had read good things about them (I may be wrong) and they specialise in networking kit!
    Yes me too ! My son got them and then persuaded me to get them a week later, they started off really well and look like they was the best thing on the market, but they really did have issues with syncing especially after changing the batteries, the motion detector was shite, the postman could walk up the drive and into my carport where the camera was located, post the mail through the door, light up a spliff and walk away with his mail sack without ever being detected ffs ! the batteries were CR123's and for duracell cost close to a tenner for one camera, times that by four each time they needed replacing. You only got 7 days of recording held on there servers then it was deleted, if you wanted more time it would cost you a Monthly subscription, think it was about £300 price tag for just two cameras and the base station/router. Best thing I ever did getting rid of them !!

  18. #18
    DF VIP Member
    satzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,637
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked:        550
    Karma Level
    414

    Default Re: Home Security

    Strange. I have 2 arlo cameras monitoring my front and back entrances.
    I have them enabled when out of the house and use rechargeable batteries.
    They have never disconnected and I get 6 months per charge.

    Sent from my Philips Cellnet using a 12c508
    Just use enough water to cover your vegetables,the same goes for when you're having a bath....

  19. #19
    DF PiMP Lestronics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    S/East England
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    239

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by satzzz View Post
    Strange. I have 2 arlo cameras monitoring my front and back entrances.
    I have them enabled when out of the house and use rechargeable batteries.
    They have never disconnected and I get 6 months per charge.

    Sent from my Philips Cellnet using a 12c508
    I was getting around 8 Weeks only, using the motion detection option, which was utter shite ! took a few attempts to get the camera to sync again after battery replacement, maybe I was just unfortunate.

  20. #20
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    868
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked:        247
    Karma Level
    204

    Default Re: Home Security

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    They'd need to know the password of the original SSID too though otherwise the camera would use the cached security settings and password and it would fail to connect. Connections also tend to be persistent i.e. you might have a router downstairs and an AP upstairs, if you turn your laptop on downstairs then move upstairs even if the signal drops to 10% it will remain connected rather than switching to the AP. So they would need to know the SSID the camera is connected to (often there are several overlapping SSIDs from neighbours), the security settings of the SSID (i.e. WPA/AES) and the password then be able to power cycle the camera to get it to try and connect.
    you wouldn't need to know the passcode if the SSID signal is strong enough the camera will try to authenticate against it regardless (and fail). just have to emit a strong enough signal to drown out the real SSID?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. anyone using ip cameras as part of a home security network?
    By ThE gOg in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st December 2012, 08:13 PM
  2. [REQUEST] Home security cameras?
    By hilljd00 in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th August 2008, 10:55 PM
  3. Halina Home CCTV Security Camera £9.99
    By Simate in forum Cheapskates Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd September 2006, 12:43 PM
  4. Home made security
    By dj_ed in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th December 2004, 09:09 PM
  5. Home Security
    By Gel in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th February 2003, 09:41 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •