Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Remote access

  1. #1
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked:        321
    Karma Level
    91

    Default Remote access

    I've been asked to build, install and maintain photo booth for a venue near me. I need to remote access the Windows 7 box that's going to be running the booth software, any recommendations?

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ][Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,102
    Thanks
    3,898
    Thanked:        1,671
    Karma Level
    1274

    Default Re: Remote access

    TeamViewer is nice and easy but if you hammer it they will limit length of sessions and pester you to buy a license.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    MHP (2nd December 2017) 


  3. #3
    DF VIP Member
    ilscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Stockport
    Posts
    4,560
    Thanks
    1,362
    Thanked:        1,160
    Karma Level
    523

    Default Re: Remote access

    I use Teamviewer when i'm in Italy to control my pc's back here, works well.

    Thanks to ilscuro

    MHP (2nd December 2017) 


  4. #4
    DF PlaYa Delboy_1976's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Up Shit Creek!
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked:        82
    Karma Level
    165

    Default Re: Remote access

    Another vote for TeamViewer.

    I've also been messing around with Chrome Remote Desktop as it's handy to use from the phone which works well for basic use.

    Thanks to Delboy_1976

    MHP (2nd December 2017) 


  5. #5
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,182
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked:        332
    Karma Level
    326

    Default Re: Remote access

    I?d say TeamViewer too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Thanks to jaygo

    MHP (2nd December 2017) 


  6. #6
    DF PlaYa MHP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Clock End
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked:        321
    Karma Level
    91

    Default Re: Remote access

    Cheers guys, I'll give it a go.

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,951
    Thanks
    1,093
    Thanked:        3,184
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Remote access

    I use teamviewer (paid version) but the free one is just as good as long as you don't exceed the limits, I'm not sure what they are. If not you could set up RDP if you were able to forward ports in the router, or other options like tight VNC etc. are free IIRC.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Over Carl (3rd December 2017) 


  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,102
    Thanks
    3,898
    Thanked:        1,671
    Karma Level
    1274

    Default Re: Remote access

    Dunno why I didn't think of oob. Some servers and desktops will allow KVM access even when the machine has crashed or power is off.

    Stuff I have used in the past was DRAC on Dell servers, ILO on HP servers, iAMT on various desktops and IPMI on various servers.

    Would need port forwarding and careful consideration about security.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    evilsatan (3rd December 2017) 


Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •