Close

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Review Z-Edge Z3 Plus Car Black Box Dashcam Review

Thank you to Z-Edge for sending me their dashcam to review.

Remember I am not a professional reviewer, I'm just the typical as they say "Joe Bloggs" - a person who may be in the market looking for a dashcam for the car.

The dashcam came well packaged in a strong box:

This contained the camera, a nice long power lead with USB/12V plug (2 USB ports, nice that...) plus the suction window mount, cleaning cloth, instructions, quick start guide, a nice simple thank you leaflet, 4 cable tidies, and Kingston 32Gb memory card.

The large looking camera has a plastic body with a diamond pattern, and houses an Amberella chip to give WDR enhanced night vision, recording at 2K 2560x1440 pixels with 145? viewing angle.

The underside of the camera contains the slot for the memory card located centrally, which gives easy access when you want to remove the card for either right or left hand drive vehicles. There is a reset button and the microphone here too.

The top houses a the power button, power inlet, mini USB port, mini HDMI port and the threaded mounting hole for the suction mount (which screws in smoothly and reasonably tightly).

The sides of the dashcam have the menu control buttons (Mode Switch, Menu, Video protect, and Up, Down, & OK buttons). These react to the touch with a small click, giving you access to the options on the 3" screen which is quite bright for viewing both in menu modes and for viewing live action/replays.

The lens protrudes a short distance from the camera body, but has no facility to take a CPL filter.

Menus are typical, and easy to read and navigate through - no need to describe the functions - they are standard for dashcams.

The dashcam has a G-Sensor for collision detection recording, and Parking Mode which will turn on the camera and record for 30 seconds after motion is detected.