Close

Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    I'm setting up my cinema room in my new house and due to having wooden floors I need to route the cable around the room and doors. This is coming in at 20m ish.

    I bought D-line cable ducting and a 20m hdmi cable but the cable is too thick and it needs to go back. The cable ducting has all the speaker wire runs in it aswell.

    Looking for a thin hdmi cable. I found one here....

    Laptone Long 15m / 50 ft HDMI CABLE 24k Gold-Plated 1080p 2160p Hi-Speed PremiumHDMI to HDMI Cable Lead FULL 3D HD, ETHERNET, PS3 XBOX 360, PS4, XBOX ONE, HDTV SkyHD Virgin [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Can I get a 15m and a 5m and just join them together with a coupler

    VCE HDMI Female to Female Adapter High Speed HDMI Female Coupler 3D&4K Resolution Gold Plated [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    The projector is a 1080p optoma

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,198
    Thanks
    2,712
    Thanked:        1,413
    Karma Level
    273

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    You might risk losing resolution at those lengths.

    Off the top of my head HDMI 2 has a max cable length of 25M for 1080p but this is an unbroken cable. You might lose some pixels but I doubt you would notice.
    Also going for a thin cable might lose pixels again as you might be compromising on quality despite their claims of gold plating etc.

    I would ignore what the cable retailers claim the cable supports and double check the HDMI 1.4/2.0 etc specification.

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re digi247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        26
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    I would have thought the only option here is HDMI Extenders over Cat6 but obviously these need power at both end points, on the Plus side you wont lose any resolution at all. Max for 1080p on standard cable is around 15m anything above this your looking at spending ?100's on a decent cable

  4. #4
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    To be honest I just went for 2 of the 10m cables above with the coupler. Worst case it doesn't work and I can send the cables back.

    There really isn't a lot of space in the trunking so hdmi over cat 6 apparently involves 2 cat6 cables which there definitely wouldn't be room for

    Will find out tomorrow what the prognosis is. I'll join the two cables and hook it up And test run for an hour and see what quality is like

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Think this is any good...? Only a single cat6 cable needed

    Neet HDMI Extender over Single Cat 6 with IR Control - 1080p Full HD 3D - 50m - N72A [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    DF Wh0re digi247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        26
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    That would work absolutely fine, the days of 2 Cat cables for HDMI extenders went many years ago when Cat6 got introduced

    Thanks to digi247

    CallmeGoose (9th January 2018) 


  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator BertRoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Poppy Fields
    Posts
    23,888
    Thanks
    1,005
    Thanked:        2,016
    Karma Level
    2650

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    If you have laminate floors why don't you use some hollow beading round the skirtng boards and route it through there?Or if it is beaded remove a piece and see what space there is up to the skirtings? Much better looking than trunking.


  8. #8
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,809
    Thanks
    1,014
    Thanked:        765
    Karma Level
    296

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    I got HDMI over CAT6 at home works a treat got a HDMI splitter off me Sky box to feed it.

  9. #9
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    I've just been routing the cable with d_line cable ducting. More expensive than the generic square stuff but it blends we nicely with the skirting and door frames

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

    Thanks to CallmeGoose

    BertRoot (10th January 2018) 


  10. #10
    DF PlaYa grrrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    portsmouth
    Posts
    865
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked:        245
    Karma Level
    201

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Quote Originally Posted by CallmeGoose View Post
    I've just been routing the cable with d_line cable ducting. More expensive than the generic square stuff but it blends we nicely with the skirting and door frames

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    i use the D stuff tooo - where you buying yours from? i found it nearly tooo expensive!

  11. #11
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    i bought it from screwfix. was cheaper than elsewhere online!

    UPDATE: got the 2 10m HDMI cables today, joined them with the coupler.... NO video or audio ... swapped it out for one of my more expensive cables... Boom signal... but that cable is too thick so looks like im going down the cat6 route!

    Will post another update once I have the repeaters and cat6 cable

  12. #12
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Update... So I have the repeaters and cat6 wired up and all is good. Audio and video are displayed at excellent quality however....

    Intermittently..... Not very often I will admit and certainly not enough to cause an issue... I will get a black line or 2 flicker across the screen when my laptop is hooked up, via the AV receiver to the projector.. When watching a movie. Doesn't bother me at all...

    But when I click back to the desktop there lines all over the screen and the video signal cuts out. Almost like it can't handle the signal of a windows desktop. Put a video on.... And the signal comes back and I get the odd occasional flickering line

    Any idea what this could be?

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,198
    Thanks
    2,712
    Thanked:        1,413
    Karma Level
    273

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Refresh rates HZ ????

  14. #14
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    It's strange as I never had this issue before with a single HDMI cable so it must be down to the repeaters

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    DF Wh0re digi247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        26
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    do the repeaters have any type of dip switch for certain metre runs, as a lot of the longer ones 60m + sometimes have switch settings to determine the length of the run from a short distance to say around 15m to the maximum 60m.

    Another question your Cat6 cable i presume its full copper and not CCA type as the latter will cause problems even on shorter runs

  16. #16
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    It's solid copper and shielded. No switches on the repeaters as far as I can see. I'll post a video and some pictures of the issue later

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Well after a period or trial and error I I have determined that the issue with the lines was interference from the speaker wire

    The cat6 cable ran along the same ducting as the speaker wire. When I tried a different cat6 cable and bypasses (ie ran the cable along the living room)... The lines disappeared.... However with this cable I now have very small green speckled dots.

    Think I've come to the conclusion that although hdmi over cat6 works to an extent... It just ain't for me.

    Think I'm going to have to drill some holes in the ceiling and drop a hdmi cable down the back of a stud wall.

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    DF Wh0re digi247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        26
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    Never had those type of problems myself and have run CAT6 with extenders up to 60m on various jobs a long side Alarm cable and Twin & Earth with no adverse affects, i do use premium CAT6 with foil shielding but even standard CAT6 or CAT5E with its twisted pairs should be immune from most Electrical and RF interference.

    I would probably have tried a different make of Extenders as Neet are not always as good as what they say they are. Recently i had to swap out a cheap 8/2 HDMI switch as it was failing swapped it for a Neet and it was OK for around 4 months and then started failing, Swapped that out for a cheap Chinese brand on Amazon and its still going strong 12 months later.

  19. #19
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,487
    Thanks
    2,516
    Thanked:        1,225
    Karma Level
    319

    Default Re: Hdmi long cable run..... 20m

    to be honest its costing me a fortune trying to find a solution that keeps the missus happy so think im just going to route the cable in the ceiling and patch up when she is at work one day.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    here is a video of the interference i was getting with the cable run alongside the speaker wire... as soon as i byassed the cat6 wall cable run and just ran another cat6 along the floor i didnt get these lines, but i did get a strange green speckled dot interference.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •