Close

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 39 of 39
  1. #21
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Sounds like it's trying to copy the entire drive rather than just the used space or you are using more than the capacity of the SSD on the current drive. I've had issues cloning HDD to SSD before with tools like that and with sector alignment being a consideration didn't use clonezilla like I would if it were HDD to HDD.

    What OS is it? Did the OS come pre-installed? I imagine you have a SLIC activation which is easy to reactivate after a clean install.
    Win 10
    yes pre installed

    wtf Is a slic activation? Lol
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  2. #22
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    2,773
    Thanked:        1,458
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    There are tools that can read the activation code from your existing installation and then you can easily reinstall.

    I would take Evilsatan up on his offer as tbh a fresh installation is ALWAYS best and comes with speed improvements just for doing that. I always regret cloning an OS for someone.

    Thanks to piggzy

    Teajunkie (13th March 2018) 


  3. #23
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    I will take him up on his offer if I knew what it was
    just need to know what I have to do.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  4. #24
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,951
    Thanks
    1,093
    Thanked:        3,184
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Windows10 is a digital certificate so you just install clean and it activates itself, easiest of the lot and you can download the installation media direct from Microsoft:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Use the tool to create a USB boot media or ISO to burn to a DVD (think it needs to be a dual layer so USB is better), disconnect the HDD, connect the SSD, boot to the install media and install the same version you have now (its important to install home version if that's what you are on already for it to activate).

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Teajunkie (13th March 2018) 


  5. #25
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    2,773
    Thanked:        1,458
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    I will take him up on his offer if I knew what it was
    just need to know what I have to do.
    Just get whatever version of Windows 10 downloaded that is on your PC now and install it. MS have the downloads on their website with a tool to make USB etc
    Then Mr Satan can help you sort your legit key or I am happy to help in "alternative" ways.

    Get whatever keys out of your legit Windows first if possible.

    Thanks to piggzy

    Teajunkie (13th March 2018) 


  6. #26
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Thanks lads will give this a bash tomorrow.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  7. #27
    DF PwNagE DJAd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    *Classified*
    Posts
    6,978
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked:        20
    Karma Level
    810

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    Just buy it and then you will think WTF have I been using all these years. Best thing I ever did was get an SSD.
    This.

  8. #28
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Ok good news.

    Ssd installed using link for windows thanks evil
    activated itself so bonus and hassle free.

    now I connected the original drive up to a usb hdd caddy to copy across the files from my documents and folders.
    as it turns out the drives formatted in gpt so I can’t actually access the files now.

    So so if there’s an easy way to copy my stuff please help as I’m using a easeus recovery tool to get the data but it’s going to take 10 hours just to search the drive and god knows if it’s even going to find what I need?
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  9. #29
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,951
    Thanks
    1,093
    Thanked:        3,184
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    you may be able to boot from the HDD whilst in the caddy and then copy to the SSD if it's available or copy to a USB stick to transfer to the SSD. Unless you have a NAS etc?


  10. #30
    DF Wh0re josweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked:        162
    Karma Level
    167

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    As above is the easiest way. Boot from your old HDD & copy to the SSD. GPT is a massive pain in the arse.

  11. #31
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,600
    Thanks
    1,626
    Thanked:        1,868
    Karma Level
    1227

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    When I got a new SSD I backed up my c drive onto another drive I had on my system
    then I made a boot usb by using Acronis True Image. onto a spare usb stick

    I then turned off the pc, removed the old drive, put in the SSD, booted from the new usb bootdisk and set Acronis to restore the drive, it complained a bit saying it was too big etc etc but I just told it to get on with it

    remember when you backup your original drive to copy also all them lil extra partitions windows creates for no bloody reason. it should then reboot from the SSD, if you get a INT or whatever fault then you haven't copied all the partition boot info when you did the original backup, also make sure you use sector copy as you want a like for like dump onto you new SSD

    this is also a good read
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    How to clone a hard drive using software

    The cheapest way to copy the contents of a hard drive to another is to use software.
    There are a couple of free options, but you’ll quickly discover that many ‘free’ cloners are limited in some way and won’t do what you need unless you pay for the full version.
    If you want the most flexibility and an interface that’s easy to use, you’ll probably want to spend some money.
    It’s worth knowing that you can buy some SSDs as ‘upgrade kits’ which come with more than just the bare drive. Some include a USB-to-SATA cable and software so you can clone your laptop’s disk to the SSD without having to take the old disk out and find a PC that will let you attach both drives.
    But if you do need to find yourself some cloning software, here are some free options to investigate:
    Free hard drive cloning software

    • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    • [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Paid-for hard drive cloning software

    Paragon is one of the best-known names in cloning software and has two packages which cater for different scenarios.
    One is [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. It costs a very reasonable £26.99 (US$39.95) and supports Windows 10.
    It does everything you would expect, including cloning to a smaller-capacity disk by excluding files if there's not enough space. It even supports cloning to virtual machines so you can work with older apps which aren’t supported in Windows 10.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to Mickey

    Teajunkie (16th March 2018) 


  12. #32
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    9,100
    Thanks
    1,834
    Thanked:        3,998
    Karma Level
    958

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Personally, I'd have installed fresh rather than cloning. The speed Windows installs to the new SSD is minutes and transfering anything require from the HDD over would be blisteringly quick anyway.

    I think, cloning it is giving you more headaches than it's worth.

    Can you not just initialise the disk in Disk Manager? I forget it's been so long, but surely Windows can read a drive that MBR or GPT after its online?

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

    Thanks to DejaVu

    Teajunkie (16th March 2018) 


  13. #33
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    I did do a fresh install.

    i can’t initialise the disk as storage manager only sees the disk but doesn’t allow any changes not even a format!
    i will try booting to it from usb but I’m not holding out hope.

    Theres not not much I need to copy, it’s only around 500mb and I was going to copy that from the drive then format it
    ill let you know how it goes.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

    Thanks to Teajunkie

    Mickey (15th March 2018) 


  14. #34
    DF Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    2,773
    Thanked:        1,458
    Karma Level
    282

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    I did do a fresh install.

    i can’t initialise the disk as storage manager only sees the disk but doesn’t allow any changes not even a format!
    i will try booting to it from usb but I’m not holding out hope.

    Theres not not much I need to copy, it’s only around 500mb and I was going to copy that from the drive then format it
    ill let you know how it goes.
    If it wont let you format just open a command prompt as admin, then use diskpart to remove partitions etc job done

    diskpart
    then type help for commands as I forget exact commands
    basically get it to list the disks attached (it numbers them)
    then select disk 'x'
    then remove partitions
    create new if you want or you can just do that in windows disk manager

    Thanks to piggzy

    Teajunkie (16th March 2018) 


  15. #35
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,951
    Thanks
    1,093
    Thanked:        3,184
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    I’d be careful adjusting any partitions before you’ve grabbed your data. At worst you should be able to put your HDD back in the machine, boot it up and copy your data to a USB stick then put the SSD back in.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Teajunkie (16th March 2018) 


  16. #36
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    1,025
    Thanked:        779
    Karma Level
    299

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    Paid-for hard drive cloning software

    Paragon is one of the best-known names in cloning software and has two packages which cater for different scenarios.
    One is [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. It costs a very reasonable £26.99 (US$39.95) and supports Windows 10.
    It does everything you would expect, including cloning to a smaller-capacity disk by excluding files if there's not enough space. It even supports cloning to virtual machines so you can work with older apps which aren’t supported in Windows 10.
    Paragon is the way and if you look in those dodgy places you can find one of those lifetime trial additions ;-)

    Also make sure you do the "winsat disk" command if you are cloning so windows knows it is now installed on a SSD rather than a HDD so it manages the disk better.

    Thanks to akimba

    Teajunkie (16th March 2018) 


  17. #37
    DF Super Moderator Teajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks
    1,599
    Thanked:        1,560
    Karma Level
    487

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    It doesn’t boot fro usb and reading other sites the only way to read it is to connect it back into the machine and grab the data.
    so I guess that’s what I’m going to have to do later today.

    What a pain in the arse this has been.
    Well im going to grab what I want and format the drive to ntfs and stick it in the server.
    its only a 2tb drive but I can move some of those old tv series onto it and make room for some new stuff.
    Find me on Instagram and twitter @mrteajunke.

  18. #38
    DF PlaYa hoponbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    985
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked:        212
    Karma Level
    270

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Look on the bright side, the time lost pissing about will soon me recovered in savings in the future!!

  19. #39
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,951
    Thanks
    1,093
    Thanked:        3,184
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: SSD should I change from standard HDD?

    Occasionally these routine jobs throw some spanner’s in the works, It’s about how you adapt to them and that’s what DF is for


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •