Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,428
    Thanks
    1,616
    Thanked:        1,041
    Karma Level
    691

    Help House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    HI all,

    got my house getting rewired next week and gonna get the sparky to route some network cables for me from sitting room and bedrooms now was just going to do CAT 6 but now theres 6A and 7 ! espically handy to sream 4k stuff and can use to send hdmi stuff etc also if needed

    current plan is to run 4 ports from lounge to loft and two port from each bedroom to loft so 8 ports in total, each room will have dataport connect to euro module type socket and all cables in loft terminate onto rj45 then they will get plugged into my gigabit unmanaged switch (will update to 10gb when needed)

    Router will be cabled in loft also by means of extension from master socket instead of currently in sitting room via same method

    i reckon will need 100-150 Metres of cable and then 8 rj45 connectors and 8 dataports with faceplates

    So am i better going CAT 7 now or CAT 6a ? difference in cable costs as i dont need huge amounts seems to be about £50-80 and wheres good quality cable at reasonable price ?

    dataports with faceplates pref brushed steel any recommends ?

    Anything obvious iv'e missed or got completely wrong lol

    cheers MM

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,874
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked:        3,144
    Karma Level
    1529

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    A quick google seems to suggest 6a uses a thicker cable due to better shielding so may be trickier to run and cat7 is aimed at data centres so may be overkill. Would your streaming exceed gigabit speeds? I assume you mean to play over the LAN (unless you have an insane WAN connection!).

    The way I have always put it to people is if there isn't much in it cost-wise to go for the higher spec cable to be future-proof, I'm not sure if 10Gbps is going to be necessary in the home anytime soon so if it is a big cost difference probably not worth it.

    I've used Scan for cable in the past as I always have a reel in the boot, been happy with theirs:
    Solid-core CAT6 - [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Solid-core CAT5e - [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    CPC tends to be decent for things like the sockets, found a single port but not a double on my brief search - [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    2 Thanks given to evilsatan

    Mobileman (1 Week Ago), Over Carl (1 Week Ago) 


  3. #3
    DF PiMP pickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    437
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        60
    Karma Level
    166

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    if your not worried about the extra cost of deploying Cat 7 then go with that, as it will be future proof you, cat 7 has each pair shielded to enable faster speeds and less crosstalk, although I'm sure Cat 6a would be more than enough at 10GB, unless your thinking of watching 4K uncompressed 90+ Mbs in every room at the same time

    2 Thanks given to pickie

    Mobileman (1 Week Ago), Over Carl (1 Week Ago) 


  4. #4
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    16,486
    Thanks
    1,559
    Thanked:        1,817
    Karma Level
    1213

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    Glad to see your back online matey
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,428
    Thanks
    1,616
    Thanked:        1,041
    Karma Level
    691

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
    Glad to see your back online matey
    Cheers for sorting mickey I’ll get vip back up this week also as now got a prepaid card for non bank transactional stuff where I can’t use PP


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Mobileman

    Mickey (1 Week Ago) 


  6. #6
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,334
    Thanks
    1,389
    Thanked:        691
    Karma Level
    429

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobileman View Post
    Cheers for sorting mickey I’ll get vip back up this week also as now got a prepaid card for non bank transactional stuff where I can’t use PP


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Did you know using Revolut currency cared you can create a virtual card for online only purchases and then deactivate it

    Thanks to stevo25

    Mobileman (1 Week Ago) 


  7. #7
    DF Moderator EvilBoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    6,351
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked:        619
    Karma Level
    565

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    I'd be hard pushed to justify even gbit speeds. Unless you have some very expensive hardware I doubt you would get the performance to fill the faster speeds. I'd just go with the cheapest and easiest option. For instance : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    assuming you have the hardware to pump the speeds out too... Bit behind on the times but 500mbps is pretty good from an SSD and if it's streaming video you don't need that sort of throughput anyway. Even for multiple 4k streams.
    DF Moderator
    XBox One | Panasonic 4k | MS Surface Pro 3 | 3DSXL | WiiU | RPi3
    XBL : TheSumOfAllEvil

    Thanks to EvilBoB

    Mobileman (1 Week Ago) 


  8. #8
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,428
    Thanks
    1,616
    Thanked:        1,041
    Karma Level
    691

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    Quote Originally Posted by stevo25 View Post
    Did you know using Revolut currency cared you can create a virtual card for online only purchases and then deactivate it
    well ive done this but there asking for some mighty info scan of passport and photo or similar to verify , how trustworthy and secure are they ?

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,334
    Thanks
    1,389
    Thanked:        691
    Karma Level
    429

    Default Re: House rewire, help re CAT 6A , Cat 7 etc

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobileman View Post
    well ive done this but there asking for some mighty info scan of passport and photo or similar to verify , how trustworthy and secure are they ?
    Yes, I have one and I scanned my passport

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

    Thanks to stevo25

    Mobileman (1 Week Ago) 


Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •