Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Blue Screen Error

In the last few days, I suddenly started having blue screens of death running on Windows XX. I didn't install any new hardware or software, it just started out of the blue. I've been using WinXp for about 5 months and it hasn't had this problem or any problem since I installed it. The blue screen gives the reason as: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL anyone know what this means and how to fix it? The blue screen happens every 5-10 minutes and I have to restart my computer. I've reformatted and reinstalled windows but it still does it. Thanks.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Best first guess is the ram. If you have more than one stick, reduce it to a single stick and try again.

Thanks
    Karma Level

I've had that problem with either XP Pro or 2K Pro. I reformatted and reinstalled and it was solved. I made no hardware changes.

Thanks
    Karma Level

looks like an IRQ conflict. Take out some of your PCI devices and put them in different slots but first try working with windows without any in order to diagnose.

Thanks
    Karma Level

...I think simply going to your device manager and checking if anything's wrong there would help too.

I would suggest, as in all bad computer situations, to think back on what you did before you first started having this error...That usually helps you find the answer quicker.

Also, since you said that you don't get this error in WinXP, why not just keep that?...Personally, I'm planning on getting it too, what with sp1 and all...Plus, I really wanna get those Detonator 40.xx drivers...

Thanks
    Karma Level

Originally posted by Big D.
    ...I think simply going to your device manager and checking if anything's wrong there would help too.

I would suggest, as in all bad computer situations, to think back on what you did before you first started having this error...That usually helps you find the answer quicker.