Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default How safe are wireless networks?

Hi Guys

looking into setting one of these up but ive heard alot of stuff that is putting me off.

Is it true people can go around in their cars and use your internet connection without you knowing? or even my neighbours?

i know there is an encription thing with wireless networks but do they work? does it affect the speed of the network?

sorry for all the questions

Andy

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: How safe are wireless networks?

Well I'm no expert, but my wireless lan is set up using 128bit WEP, and when my sis comes with her wifi laptop she can see my network from quite a few yards away.

But, as she don't know the key, or the index number, she's can't tap my resource.

As for speed, I can't prove either way whether WEP reduces the amount of traffic flow, but from what I read it's minimal and worth the extra protection from sniffers.

Thanks
    Karma Level

My WiFi network is visable but also using 128bit WEP no one can get in without knowing all the character set of HEX letters and numbers in the correct order. Speed wise it is dificult to compare as there isnt a wired network of similar speed.

Depending on what your doing as long as you have 54mbps you should be fine. I had 11mbps at first and it would take about 1 hour 30 minutes to copy a dvd image now on 54 it is alot quicker.

Thanks
    Karma Level

mate wireless is a safe or open as you make it, just go onto the home page for your router of whatever you are using and set up encryption etc.. as for speed depends how much you are running but i have never had a problem with either security or speed, and never be sorry for asking questions it's how we all learn
    :kissass :cry: Hmm I wonder which 3 this is ????

Thanks
    Karma Level

all u need mate s a encrption code.