Close

Termy

Default Where Do I start ??

I am new to the world of satellite so go easy on me,,, lol.

I have just aquired a Technomate TM5500CIP Plus reciever, but have nothing else. I would like to go motorised. But where do I start.

Do I need to buy any CAMS, cards etc ?? What encryptions do I need to know about ?? What would be the best budget motor and dish to buy.

As I say I know nothing about this, so as much advice as possible would be great.

Many thanx for ANY help,,, lol.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Where Do I start ??

i know nothing of this box but i'm pretty sure it can be patched but if you fook it it will cost you! so what i would do i would buy a dragon cam for it about £70\£80. you will then need a dish and motor\lnb and brackets to hold it up (you will probly have to pay to have it setup correct if you cant do it yourself) i can get that sorted for you as i know a installer. i think a 0.3lnb £13\14 or thereabouts don't know the cost of a dish (about £40?) 1meter would do ya.
    motors are pretty cheap now get somthing like a @SAT diseq there pretty easy to use

Termy

Thanx for the info m8. I am waiting to hear about an 80cm dish with motor. I also have an LNB too

But the info about the dragon cam is very interesting. I shall seek a price on one.

After a bit of reading and the info you have just given, the thing I need to find out now is the encryption and cards needed for this.

I will let you know about installation if I need it doing though.

Many thanx m8.

Thanks
    Karma Level

you wont need a card with a dragon cam! unless you want a art sport sub? then just buy a card and dragon will work it

80cm? not a good choice m8 buy a bigger new one and a new motor.

Termy

Ok m8, I will have a look around then.

Thanx for the advice m8. :thumbs :thumbs

Thanks
    Karma Level

also do a google searc on the reciever model and other satellite forums coz it can be patched so no cam is needed for some channels!

Termy