Close

Thread: Going for DSLR

Thanks
    Karma Level

Going for DSLR

Hi all

I have been considering going for a DSLR camera for some time now. After reading through all the threads on this forum I have decided on the Nikon D50. The main reasons for this are the fact it takes SD Memory (I have 4gb in SD Cards) and cost. It seems that there are a few members who own this camrea and all appear to be happy with their camera. I am a complete photography novice and have only ever taken shots with a normal 'snaps' type camera.

Is the Nikon D50 ok for the beginner? I am probably going for the basic 'KIT' lense.

is 6.1MP enough? I'd like to print my pictures in quite large format.

I know there has been lots of great advice on this forum as to taking pictures and editing them. Would anyone reccomend a book for starting out in photography? My local Adult Education Centre do courses, do you think it'd be worth it? Or is this something you can pick up with plenty of practise and common sense?

Money is limited so would it be wise to try to find a second hand camera or even look on eBay? Is something like this best to buy with a full warranty?

Any other tips would be apprecieated, i know this has been covered a lot recently.
    Last edited by wizer; 7th June 2006 at 10:49 AM.
    Photography: Nikon D50 - 18-55mm, 70-300mm, 105mm Macro, 2 x 2gb SD Cards, Jessops Tripod, LowePro Rucksack

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Going for DSLR

While DSLR's are more complex than your basic point and shoot they do have a full auto mode so you can use that while you pick up the basics and learn what all the buttons and dials are for.

My camera is only 6MP and I can easily print at SuperA3 with it. DSLR's have much larger sensors than compacts or prosumers and produce an image with lower noise levels that stand up better to enlargement with software like Genuine Fractals.