Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default what do you do when you need a tradesperson / contractor?

Just wondered how anyone actually goes through the process of selecting a tradesperson / contractor when they want skilled work undertaken?

I'd aim for word of mouth, I feel that there's so many jippo's out there that if you are in anyway not clued up about what work you need to have done then you'll probably get rinsed out to dry.

Any tips or recommendations? How do you pick 'em?

tia
    I'm new to this :huh:

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: what do you do when you need a tradesperson / contractor?

Unfortunatly I tend to use my BNI contacts.

Through work we belong to a networking group called BNI where local business people meet and pass on refferals. You get to meet some pretty honest and good trades people through it.

Doubt this is any good to you but look at: http://www.bni-europe.com/uk/index.htm

Otherwise dude, I find word of mouth is the next best thing.
    Recent Mac convert...

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Actually, as you are in Bristol, what are you after in the way of skilled dudes?
    Recent Mac convert...

Thanks
    Karma Level

I will always try a job myself, so far I have installed lights, sockets, moved a boiler including plumbing from 1st floor into the roof, relaid a floor, painted, replaced tile, replaced taps and a shower etc-Most things are a lot easier than you would think, and it is worth finding out how to do some home diy, or else you are paying some dodgy pikey to rip you off for what could be a 15 min job.......as in your door locks a while ago!
    Word of mouth is probably the best way if you cant do it yourself though, or ask your friends if they know someone in the trade.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Fortunately both my neighbours are well connected in the trade world, but unfortunately when i ask them to give there (for example) driveway bloke, they seem to never actually go and do it.