Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Tropical fish health

I've been running a 60L tropical tank for about 3 months now. Everything has been going swimmingly well until last week. Out of 20 large and small fishes, 11 have died (neon tetras, guppies and 1 molly). I've checked and re-checked the water chemistry. Nitrates, nitrites and ammonia are all low and the pH is around 7.2. I've carried out 20% and 40% water changes and it doesn't seem to be stemming the deaths.

Looking at the remaining fishes behaviour they do look very lifeless and my cory catfish slinks about on the bottom as if dead, but when I tap the tank he races to the surface and comes down again. I've noticed the fishes seem to spend longer at the surface which is what initially led me to think it could be due to nitrite/ammonia poisoning - however the levels are low and I've changed 60% of the water in the last week alone.

So I guess the only other cause is bacterial infection... but how can I tell and how can I clear it up?

TIA
    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Tropical fish health

Have a look at the fish, the most common tropical fish disease is "white spot" as the name suggests, have a butchers for tiny white pin size markings on the fish. See any? Get some anti white spot treatment in the tank, but TBH, there prob gonna be fucked already from what you say mate.

Swimming like retards? This could be a swim bladder infection, in this case, whip out the fish and crack it over the head. You can get treatments for this but the chances of a full recovery are slim. They aint no Richard Hammonds!