Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Just finished Uni, What next?

Hi

After 4 years of hard work, i have finally finished my degree and i am now in a right pickle over what to do next.

My degree was a Ba in Digital Music Creation with Multimedia, which consisted of creating music digitally, setting up music software and hardware, music theory, music composition, MIDI and Binary, flash and director animations and applications, image manipulation in photoshop and freehand.

Aswell as this i have a BTEC National Diploma in Computers with Networking where i gaind a Distinction/Merit for my final grade (equivalent to 3 A Levels at A Grade). This course taught me how to use many office applicaitons, HTML coding, Networking, Project Management, Computer construction, WAN and LAN construction, Binary and computer mathematics. I also have 8 GCSE's

Now i have finished my degree i really dont know what step to take next, i am currently lookin at going into a graduate role but there is nothing for the music industry and all IT development/web development posts require PHP, MySQL, C/++/#, and many other programming and database skills , of which i have no idea where to start to learn.

I spoke to my Uni's careers service and they said that for a job in music i can basically exspect to work for free for the next 2 years to gain experience and such, which i cannot do as i need to start earning ASAP! My other options are to go for sales or recruitment consultant grapduate programs, however i really dont know what to exspect if i where to successfully apply for a job in this sector, i have 2 years retail and 2 months call centre ecperence but i dont know if that is enough for these rolls.

Does anybody have any advice on what i can do next, none of my family have been to uni and iv nobody to seek advice from.

Cheers
    Scottio

http://scottio-productions.co.uk/
    XBL : Scottio200 :: PS3 PSN-ID : Scottio200 :: Twitter ID : Scottio200

Thanks
    Karma Level