Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Off Topic: - Impending Redundancy

Firstly, my apologies for posting off topic in the photo section. To be honest, I rarely post anything anywhere else on DF and I know you guys in here better anyway

Well, a couple of weeks ago we were notified that we are at risk of being made redundant. I work as a Network Surveillance Analyst for a pretty large commercially well known company. At this time I can not tell you who it is for professional reasons.

Of a 43 person strong team, 23 people will be losing their jobs.

They've developed a selection criteria for who will be made redundant based on various factors such such as Disciplinaries, Absences, Performance, Appraisal and Length of service.

As it stood I was sitting pretty because I have no disciplinaries on my record, I've not failed a bonus for as long as I can remember, my appraisal was fine (considering one of the managers marked mine and a bunch of others significantly lower than the other two managers - it has been disputed by 15 or so people) and my length of service was in the higher end of the bracket to ensure less penalty.

However, due to the dispute over the very dodgy appraisal marking by one manager, it has been replaced with amount of days taken off in a 12 month period as opposed to just occasions of absence (that is times you take a period of absence off as opposed to individual days)

As a result of this, I'm screwed because this time last year, I was recovering from having my gall bladder removed. HR have said they don't legally have to take that into consideration and the end result is that I am highly likely to lose my job based on the fact I had an operation to remove my gall bladder which, had it NOT been removed would have eventually become so bad as to be life threatening. The condition wasn't treatable with medicine. The only option was removal.