Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,687
    Thanks
    1,561
    Thanked:        2,200
    Karma Level
    1152

    Wii Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Hey all,
    Is there a way to tell whether a Wii has been soft or hard modded. I've just bought one second hand and the guy said it was with a chip but I've got my doubts (it doesn't play back ups that great and it came with a brand new copy of Zelda ).

    Cheers
    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa mmg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Over there
    Posts
    638
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    try booting a game without the loader

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,687
    Thanks
    1,561
    Thanked:        2,200
    Karma Level
    1152

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Quote Originally Posted by mmg View Post
    try booting a game without the loader
    Err sorry mate, but what is the loader? As soon as I turn it on I see those little windows game (top left), news, weather forecast etc.. is that the loader?

    cheers
    P.S I've tried and failed to find a simple tutorial on all things Wii
    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

  4. #4
    DF Jedi tips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,489
    Thanks
    587
    Thanked:        261
    Karma Level
    360

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I thought that tut was brilliant.

    Should be easy to tell if its hard or soft modded.

    If it direct boots a copy its hard modded (boots from the top left window).

    If its softmoded you will have a channel window elsewhere on the screen that says "Backup Loader" or words to that effect. It will also more than likely have an "Homebrew Channel".

  5. #5
    DF PlaYa mmg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Over there
    Posts
    638
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    if you put a game in and load it from the disc channel its a chip
    if you use the loader in homebrew channel its a softmod

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,687
    Thanks
    1,561
    Thanked:        2,200
    Karma Level
    1152

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Quote Originally Posted by mmg View Post
    if you put a game in and load it from the disc channel its a chip
    if you use the loader in homebrew channel its a softmod
    Cool, there is no homebrew channel and the game loads from the disc channel...so I guess its a chip. The next assine question is whether I can let the Wii update itself, or should I proceed with caution?

    Thanks
    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

  7. #7
    DF PiMP face's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    201

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    If you play the games from the top left disc loader it is hard modded. I think yours is from the sounds of it. Wii drives are not that good at reading cheap media and that may be why your having some problems with some backups.

    You posted as i did so guess you know ths

    Updates should be fine with a chip. Updates really only stop homebrew but you may still want that to install wiiware and vc games

  8. #8
    DF Jedi tips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,489
    Thanks
    587
    Thanked:        261
    Karma Level
    360

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Quote Originally Posted by GTI View Post
    Cool, there is no homebrew channel and the game loads from the disc channel...so I guess its a chip. The next assine question is whether I can let the Wii update itself, or should I proceed with caution?

    Thanks
    AFAIK you do not have to update with the chip (wiikey anyway) though I will stand corrected. Though you do update with the wiikey updates as and when.

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,687
    Thanks
    1,561
    Thanked:        2,200
    Karma Level
    1152

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Quote Originally Posted by tips View Post
    AFAIK you do not have to update with the chip (wiikey anyway) though I will stand corrected. Though you do update with the wiikey updates as and when.
    Having established that it has been chipped, do you know if there is anyway to establish if the chip is a Wiikey, or perhaps some other variant without opening it up?

    Thx
    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

  10. #10
    DF Moderator {{909}}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    China
    Posts
    16,207
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked:        1,369
    Karma Level
    1342

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Its not easy to check which mod you have in there but if it boots games like Mario Galaxy, then you have nothing to worry about really, atleast not for the time being.

    If you are desperate to find out the chip though, you can check which model of wii you have with the serial checker: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. this slightly narrows down the possible chips that could be in there, you could try burnin a config disk for the wiikey and see if that works, if it does then you have a wiikey, in not, it could be anything really.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,687
    Thanks
    1,561
    Thanked:        2,200
    Karma Level
    1152

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    Quote Originally Posted by {{909}} View Post
    Its not easy to check which mod you have in there but if it boots games like Mario Galaxy, then you have nothing to worry about really, atleast not for the time being.

    If you are desperate to find out the chip though, you can check which model of wii you have with the serial checker: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. this slightly narrows down the possible chips that could be in there, you could try burnin a config disk for the wiikey and see if that works, if it does then you have a wiikey, in not, it could be anything really.
    Cheers mate, mine starts LEH197313*** and the checker is saying
    There is a 50% chance that your drive chip is a GC2-D2C
    There is a 50% chance that the pins on your drive chip are not cut.

    "You have reached the end of you free trial membership at BenjaminFranklinQuotes.com"
    -Benjamin Franklin

  12. #12
    DF Moderator {{909}}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    China
    Posts
    16,207
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked:        1,369
    Karma Level
    1342

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    well that rules out a wiikey, but that doesnt really help. theres a chance it could be one of the early D2C chips that arnt updatable. just try mario galaxy and if it boots, dont worry about it
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  13. #13
    DF Jedi biggy7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    4,963
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    679

    Default Re: Has it been soft or hard modded?

    open the 2x GC flaps on the side of the wii, see if you see a ribbon in there,

    this is used in d2pro (and others) to update the firmware.

    just an idea!

    i reckon it could be d2pro or wasabi or argon

    they the 3 common mods people used on the D2C's

    if its been modded recently it could be wiikey 2

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] is it possible to add channels to a soft modded Wii?
    By mc.dodd in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5th December 2014, 01:39 PM
  2. Soft Modded Wii wanting to update to play Sports Resorts?
    By morphias in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th February 2011, 09:17 PM
  3. [REQUEST] MAME on soft modded Wii
    By flik in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th November 2009, 10:58 PM
  4. Gnuine Super Mario on soft modded Wii
    By muttleymacclad in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th November 2009, 04:10 PM
  5. soft modded wii online???
    By freakzilla in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th January 2009, 08:14 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •