Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned MsDG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    6,456
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        1,176
    Karma Level
    0

    Default RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    I have setup a XP PC purely for downloading stuff. It has no monitor, keyboard or Mouse and is purely controlled by RDP from another PC.

    However, this thing about shutting down the PC is really pissing me off now. I wished all the anti-shutdown stuff would really just fuck off!

    I have sussed how to shutdown the PC via RDP by creating a icon with a force shutdown command line.

    However, I use flashget for my downloads. This has a "shutdown when all downloads are complete" option. However, when I set up a download and log off and leave the PC running, I come back hours later to the PC still switched on! When I log on, I get a windows message saying something like "If you shutdown, no one will be able to log on" etc

    How can I just get the thing to stop fucking around and just shutdown with no stupid fucking questions?

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    529

    Default Re: RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    how are you RDP'ing to the box? are you running remote desktop from the shortcut link on your start menu or are you launching it from a saved .rdp file?

    i'm thinking it might be down to you starting a second session on the box (kinda like using the 'switch user' feature) rather than connecting to an already open session or firing up a 'console' or 'admin' session.

    i think that because it's detecting two sessions on the computer it's giving you this prompt rather than just switching off.

    try changing the shortcut to %systemroot%\system32\mstsc.exe /admin for RDP client 6 or
    %SystemRoot%\system32\mstsc.exe - console for previous versions.

    if you are using a saved .rdp file, open it in notepad and add the line connecttoconsole;i;1
    Last edited by Mr.James; 26th November 2008 at 08:23 PM.

  3. #3
    Banned MsDG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    6,456
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked:        1,176
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    Thanks... but made no difference (tried the RDP 6 admin thang)

    Here is what happens (step by step)

    1) Turn on Server (XP)
    2) Turn on my PC (Vista)
    3) Logon to my Vista PC
    4) Start a RDP session on Vista on connect to Server

    Next bit done over RDP session...
    5) Logon to server XP (entering userid and password)
    6) Straight away notice that the server now only has options of (disconnect and logoff) on the start menu

    (where as if you login directly to the server using its own mouse and keyboard you will get normal settings with shutdown option using same logon?)

    7) Start Flashget and start downloads

    8 )Close RDP session, shutdown Vista PC and leave the server running.

    9) Come back hours later to find server still active

    10) Start up Vista PC, start up RDP seesion only to find the following message on the XP Server.....

    "if you shutdown this remote computer, no one can use it until someone at the remote location manually restarts it. Do you want to continue? yes/no"

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa tom999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    262

    Default Re: RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    May not be the answer but a workaround could be to use something like logmein.com which logs onto the actual account already open not creating another "user logon"

  5. #5
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    529

    Default Re: RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    Can you download a copy of uTorrent and stick it on there as a quick test?

    Set uTorrent to auto shutdown when downloads complete. Then download some small random torrent and see if uTorrent has the same problem popping up when it tries to shut the computer down. Let me know me what you get.

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    529

    Default Re: RDP & Shutdown (xp) - cuse my French!

    Another thing to try is disabling multiple sessions on the XP server.

    run regedit.exe and browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

    Double click AllowMultipleTSSessions and set it to 0. Restart the box and give it another go.

Similar Threads

  1. PC Shutdown
    By Bilbo_baggin in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th September 2009, 01:07 AM
  2. Shutdown Day
    By BertRoot in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd February 2007, 02:42 PM
  3. windows shutdown
    By Melchy in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th May 2004, 04:21 PM
  4. 60 second shutdown
    By SoundOfFaz in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd January 2004, 02:29 PM
  5. Help Xp error & shutdown
    By genius123 in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th August 2003, 10:47 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •