Close

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa tom999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    262

    Question Vista doesn't refresh folder contents when navigating with arrows?

    Gents,

    Just come accross this. If you open my computer in vista, expand C:\ then move up/down the folders with the arrow key the 'preview' section on the right doesn't refresh to show the current fodlers contents?

    You have to hit enter or click the folder.

    I think in xp it always showed the folder you were on? Is there any way to do this in vista?

    I have done some googling but come up with nothing...

    thanks

  2. #2
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    529

    Default Re: Vista doesn't refresh folder contents when navigating with arrows?

    Doesn't do it on my Vista x64 work computer either. It's possible it's a new 'feature'. I kinda understand why they've done it though. If you're clicking on a folder you're directly selecting it so it lists the files but if you're navigating folders with the arrow keys you aren't necesserily wanting to select each one to list files so it doesn't refresh.

    This is really handy in some situations. It used to take a few seconds for a refresh of 3 or 4 thousand files in a folder. Something I had to do quite a bit on large file stores at work and waiting a few seconds for each folder to display was niggling.

    EDIT: I've done some digging and it appears that this feature has been removed from vista and there's no option to switch it back on either
    Last edited by Mr.James; 2nd December 2008 at 08:14 PM.

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa tom999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    262

    Default Re: Vista doesn't refresh folder contents when navigating with arrows?

    cheers for the reply Mr.James

    Yeah I also found nothing. Seems like microsoft have decided that's the way it is now, would it have hurt them to give the option??

    oh well, chin up

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] Easy way to make a list of contents of any folder!
    By Detector in forum PC Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th October 2010, 09:27 PM
  2. Reinstalling Vista - does it delete Users folder?
    By Xad in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st April 2010, 06:27 PM
  3. How to add Downloads folder to Vista Start Menu
    By Mr.James in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2009, 10:17 PM
  4. Can you password a folder in Vista?
    By evilsatan in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th September 2008, 04:17 PM
  5. Protecting a Folder or its contents.
    By tips in forum Website Coding & Graphics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th May 2007, 08:16 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •