Close

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    DF Jedi OrangeJuicey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    243

    moan Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I've currently got myself 2 monitors at work but when i connect them to my work pc i only get the option to use them as clone mode. I've updated the drivers for my intel 946GZ graphics and was reading on the site that this graphics card will only do clone mode!

    How is this the case is there no way to hack the drivers to allow independent mode so i can extend the desktop across two monitors. Seems stupid that you can only have 1 desktop. the 2nd monitor shows up in Control panel but doesn't show up in the windows properties. Nightmare of a shit gfx card this.

    Any ideas? can't change the gfx since its a works pc.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi pumpman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    tv land
    Posts
    1,558
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked:        36
    Karma Level
    385

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    try [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #3
    DF Jedi OrangeJuicey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    243

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I'll give it a shot, see what its saying. Can't believe that such a shit gfx card exists that it can't do extend desktop to another monitor and can only do clone.

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa tom999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    268

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I'd imagine the chip doesn't have the power to do the extra processing for another desktop. I wouldnt think it was disabled for any other reason.

    ultramon is great and maybe a way to get around it, not sure though...

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE liveseytowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol, Unite
    Posts
    7,755
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked:        250
    Karma Level
    629

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    You sure its the graphics card, might be locked down via some group policy if its a work PC. Ultramon works but every PC i've installed it on always has weird problems a day or so after installing it and I end up having to rebuild it. I'll never install it on another PC. Thats probably more me than the software though lol

  6. #6
    DF Jedi OrangeJuicey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    243

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    its quite cocky, the monitor comes up in system properties, can be used on clone but doesn't show up on ultra mon or in the windows display properties. You'd think they could put a cheap ass ATI card in that'd be better than this shitty intel one. Quite gutted since its taken me ages to get this extra monitor! Boo down with the shitty gfx cards.

  7. #7
    DF PlaYa dibbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    566
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked:        53
    Karma Level
    250

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I use ultramon at work as do a few other techs, ive never had any problems.

  8. #8
    DF Jedi OrangeJuicey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    243

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    Its not ultramon thats the problem for me anyway. Its the graphics card it even says on the web site that it can't do independent dual screen but I think i'm just refusing to accept it. It can take 2 monitors.

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa DaMack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    599
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    175

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I don't think the problem is with the GPU that doesn't sound very likely theres no real reason it shouldn't be able to drive both screens.

    I need some info though:

    Whats the GPU?
    What OS are you running?
    Do you have ATI Catalyst Control Center on the PC?

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,620
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    593

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by OrangeJuicey View Post
    Its not ultramon thats the problem for me anyway. Its the graphics card it even says on the web site that it can't do independent dual screen but I think i'm just refusing to accept it. It can take 2 monitors.
    Just because it has 2 monitor sockets, that doesn't mean it's capable of doing extended desktop.

    Just accept what the manufacturer has told you, and then buy a card that is capable of doing what you want.
    Understeer is when you hit a wall with the front of your car
    Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the back of your car
    horsepower is how fast your car hits the wall
    Torque is how far your car sends the wall across the field once you've hit it

  11. #11
    DF Jedi OrangeJuicey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        4
    Karma Level
    243

    Default Re: Dual Monitors With Extended desktop

    I would but its on a development pc at work so I'm not going to spend any cash on it, i've got my own pc at home with everythign i need on it. Just thought it'd be a nice idea to be able to use two screens. Ok scratch that.

Similar Threads

  1. Win XP & Dual Monitors
    By keyscoob in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th June 2010, 04:23 PM
  2. Dual Monitors
    By Nikki in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th March 2010, 10:34 PM
  3. Dual Monitors Or 1 Big One?
    By jackroo in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th June 2005, 10:16 PM
  4. Dual Monitors?
    By noremacyug in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19th April 2004, 11:34 PM
  5. Dual monitors...
    By g1bbo in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st July 2003, 01:06 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •