Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    DF Jedi bub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Elstree
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    311

    Default New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    Saw this on another forum, looks Koscher.
    So it wont be long im sure for the rest of the UK


  2. #2
    R.I.P. the_wizzard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    in the outside
    Posts
    5,297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    534

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    dunno bwt that yet? upc have fewer customers and dont have to replace lots of old box's like virgin would. but its comming for sure! all you eurobox buyers have been warned lol

  3. #3
    DF Jedi oE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,355
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked:        112
    Karma Level
    317

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    wonder if they changing encryption or just private keys etc.

    oE.

  4. #4
    DF Jedi bub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Elstree
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    311

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    they are going Nagra3 (currently using Nagra1) Naga3 is widely used in Europe and hasnt been hacked yet

  5. #5
    DF PiMP richibeno's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    hertfordshire
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    169

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    i thought it had been done

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator DJ Overdose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    On da decks.
    Posts
    9,856
    Thanks
    925
    Thanked:        2,075
    Karma Level
    1119

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    Quote Originally Posted by the_wizzard View Post
    dunno bwt that yet? upc have fewer customers and dont have to replace lots of old box's like virgin would. but its comming for sure! all you eurobox buyers have been warned lol
    Many, many more customers. This is going to cost them a fortune. They are not going to do anything in a hurry. And definately not a mass Nagra 3 switch in the UK. If they do it, it will be gradually. And the odds are it'll be hacked by then! lol.

    If they were planning a full migration to another encryption system, they wouldn't waste more time and money with the recent crappy ECM's etc'.

    Don't get me wrong, it WILL happen, but it will take ages, and be done a few areas at a time. Probably wrapped up in some new bundle deals, with a fancy new V+2 box.

    Cable in Ireland is not the same set-up as the UK AFAIK. That and there being only a handful of customers by comparison, thus it's easier to make any changes or conduct tests.


    DJ OD
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #7
    DF Jedi bub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Elstree
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    311

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    I dont think its going to be expensive, they are staying on the same encryption but only an improved version(nagra3). So they will use the same equipment, the only real cost they have is to purchase and send out new cards. Doubt that will cost any more than £1 per head. Im sure they will re-coup their money by increasing their prices somewhere

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator DJ Overdose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    On da decks.
    Posts
    9,856
    Thanks
    925
    Thanked:        2,075
    Karma Level
    1119

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    I read up on this from a few sites, namely the FTA sat sites and it seems the cards can be a bit hit and miss with some equipment. Newer receivers are generally okay. So V+ and the Sammys should have no probs.

    So maybe not all the boxes will need replacing, but I would say the older Pace stuff may be flakey. So yeah, maybe not too much money will be needed, but this is probably why they are testing on a small network like Chorus first.

    No doubt like you say bub, we'll end up paying for it all somewhere else!


    DJ OD
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  9. #9
    DF Member Boxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    168

    Default Re: New cable cards in Ireland (chorus)

    UPC/Chorus no longer has anything to do with VM so its definately not a matter of testing on a smaller network. UPC have already (or are in the process of) migrated to N3 in all their other cable areas (Europe) so its logical for them to run the same system in Ireland.

    UPC are also relatively cash rich in comparison to VM, who are effectively bankrupt.

Similar Threads

  1. [REQUEST] Audi TT Chorus grundig radio code needed please.
    By neemo in forum Radio Decoding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th September 2015, 11:47 PM
  2. Birds learn dawn chorus from CDs
    By 4me2 in forum Animals and Pets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th June 2008, 08:43 AM
  3. Nagra Rom 7 Cards / Digital Cable
    By unclebob99 in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th January 2003, 07:22 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •