Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,954
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,186
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Remotely access NAS when not on LAN

    I have setup a NAS box and connected it to a BT homhub router so when in the house I have a standalone shared storage server. I was wondering if there is a way I can connect to this when I am not on the LAN? e.g. if I were at work could I connect to the internet and access the NAS directly, or would I have to remotely connect to a computer on the same LAN as the NAS and access it like that?

    Cheers


  2. #2
    DF Moderator Little John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    6,516
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked:        380
    Karma Level
    931

    Default Re: Remotely access NAS when not on LAN

    you could use port forwarding if the home hub allows it. then just browse to the iport and you should get the NAS. It isnt the best thing as it won't be secure and anyone scanning ports will find you have one open and they may have a go. you would be better to use a VPN and installs a vpn client on the pc your accessing from just to help with security.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!

  3. #3
    VIP Member CzarJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Atlantis
    Posts
    13,756
    Thanks
    832
    Thanked:        3,225
    Karma Level
    2171

    Default Re: Remotely access NAS when not on LAN

    Or use remote desktop to access your pc, then access your NAS from that.

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    19,954
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked:        3,186
    Karma Level
    1538

    Default Re: Remotely access NAS when not on LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by CzarJunkie View Post
    Or use remote desktop to access your pc, then access your NAS from that.
    I had thought of that but having the PC turned on 24/7 if I am away for a few months wouldn't work I can't guarantee someone will always be in to turn it on for me either. I have found out it has an inbuilt FTP server which would work for what I am trying to do although isn't the best option either as it won't be graphical, will have to transfer files before executing and one file in particular will be a database that is updated regularly by myself or in this case someone at home.

    The NAS is running linux to handle encryption etc. so could explore that avenue and see if there is anything I can install on it but I havn't ever used linux. It does have user accounts setup so maybe port forwarding would work if I enable encryption too.

    Cheers for both replies


Similar Threads

  1. Backdoor found in Galaxy devices. Hackers can access phone remotely
    By Robbo in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th March 2014, 09:58 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th January 2013, 10:47 PM
  3. [HELP] QuickBooks Remotely Query
    By OurPuma in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th July 2010, 09:02 AM
  4. conecting to another computer remotely
    By dannoble82 in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th August 2009, 07:37 PM
  5. Remotely connecting to server help please
    By pumpman in forum DSL or Cable Broadband, Networking & Wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd June 2007, 02:45 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •