Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help please

  1. #1
    DF MaSter DENON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    LETCHWORTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Help Help please

    Not sure if im asking in the right but was just wondering what was the cheapest way to receive freesat,and what is needed ?

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa C3Grimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    M'BORO
    Posts
    947
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    167

    Default Re: Help please

    try asda get a [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] & a [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] also try some new cable + [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re Evor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    129

    Default Re: Help please

    you can get Freeview boxes for under a tenner in some places you may not need an aerial it depends on your location and transmitter power I didnt need one. Or if you have btbroadband and have a min speed of 2Mb you can get a free vision box that can record and pause live TV for nothing. remember though you need a seperate box for each telly that can only receive analogue transmissions.

  4. #4
    DF MaSter DENON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    LETCHWORTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Help please

    What i forgot to mention is that want to receive hd

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE ant3b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks
    593
    Thanked:        165
    Karma Level
    589

    Default Re: Help please

    cheapest way will be a freesat box. and dish i would think

  6. #6
    DF Member Nemulate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    176

    Default Re: Help please

    Hi guys,

    seems there's some confusion here between Freesat and Freeview! Feesat is the free digital tv service delivered by Satellite and is run primarily by BBC and ITV I think. You need a satellite dish to receive it and obviusly a freesat decoder. Freeview on the other hand is a terrestrial service which can be received through a conventional tv aeriel (although some older type aeriels struggle getting a good service) Basically Freesat gives you quite a few of the free channels you'd get with sky if you cancelled your sky subscription plus CH4, Five and ITV HD which aren't 'free' on sky. (Although 4 and 5 can be tuned into on a sky cancelled system) Currently ITV HD is only available on Fresat although there aren't that many hours of it!

    One of the big differences between Freeview and Freesat is that Freesat has HD channels (assuming you have a HD box) while freeview has none as yet although some are planned for the future. There are a lot of 'cheap' (£100ish) freeview boxes with hard drives in that mean you can record tv while currently there is only one 'official' freesat recorder which costs nearly £300 so it's quite a difference!

    Any more questions just ask

    Oops and I spose to answer the question it all depends on if you want HD or not. Fresat box without HD is about £40 while with HD is about £110 I think, oh and a satelite dish too if you don't have one already!

    How's that for a first post for a looooong time

  7. #7
    DF MaSter DENON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    LETCHWORTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Help please

    Thank you,I now know what what im talking about and can forget hd for a while longer

  8. #8
    DF Rookie balistic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    n wales
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Help please

    thanks, that has cleared it up for me to,will wait !!

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •