Close

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 238
  1. #41
    DF Wh0re rugrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobileman View Post
    Cheers Rugrat going to give this a go i know Russ's guides are always spot on just not tried it yet

    Dollars or K+ ??
    Cheers give it a go,you wont be disapointed M8....btw K+
    Neil.....TomTom go300/500/730..Mio p550......2.8 lwb pajero exeed,where cant I go.
    Firmware:8.4.1..Western Europe 855.2880 and lots of others

  2. #42
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by rugrat View Post
    For information for Russ (and anyone else interested)......

    Having now done a few Go's, I have found some units don't like the newer navcore, and although everything seems to work you may find that the postcodes search locks up!!
    if this is the case you have to put tomtom latest firmware on usually 7.90,
    and use the 825.2159 maps and dont forget to patch the firmware with the YDG patch software.....
    If the postcodes search locks up try setting your Tomtom keyboard to QWERTY & use small letters.

    @ Mobileman - it looks like your Tomtom is the same as mine - a Go500 ??
    If that's what it is then you can use the Navcore v8.204 from the first post in this thread, it's the same copy that I'm using & you can use the v825.2157 map with it.


    If you or anyone wants to patch Tomtom or Tomtom Home, it can be done using YDG's patching tool - or even easier way now is to use Albert's activation tool

  3. #43
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    1,620
    Thanked:        1,042
    Karma Level
    695

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    [quote=Russ;2787001]
    @ Mobileman - it looks like your Tomtom is the same as mine - a Go500 ??
    If that's what it is then you can use the Navcore v8.204 from the first post in this thread, it's the same copy that I'm using & you can use the v825.2157 map with it.

    No mate its an Original Tomtom GO long before the Go500

    Used your Navcore which seems to load on device and then put the v825.2157 msp on but when i power up get error saying

    Problem with map
    you cannot use this map on this device

    should i be putting the guam one on first like on the old days of hack1ng these ??

  4. #44
    DF Wh0re rugrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Once you have map on device you must use alberts activation tool to crack it...
    Neil.....TomTom go300/500/730..Mio p550......2.8 lwb pajero exeed,where cant I go.
    Firmware:8.4.1..Western Europe 855.2880 and lots of others

  5. #45
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    No, it's different to the old days (V6 & earlier) - if you've used the Navcore I posted then you just need to activate your map - use Albert's activation tool for this.

    Not too sure how well this will work on your device as I think it's even slower than mine lol - so if you have problems go back to your old version & then update it using Tomtom Home - will probably have to do several updates - think it will be v7.9** - then you can only use the v825.2159 map, but will have to patch your Tomtom & also activate the new map.

    [EDIT] - lol too bloody slow, rugrat beat me to it (bit my reply was a bit longer though )

  6. #46
    DF Wh0re rugrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Hey Russ, we are going to have to bite the bullet and buy one of these new fangled tomtom units

    Yep your reply was more in depth M8...
    Neil.....TomTom go300/500/730..Mio p550......2.8 lwb pajero exeed,where cant I go.
    Firmware:8.4.1..Western Europe 855.2880 and lots of others

  7. #47
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    1,620
    Thanked:        1,042
    Karma Level
    695

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Ok tried that and still no luck also just before map error message, get another error about 0 ram !!

    So going to try original navcore via tomtom home then patch second map .2159 and see if that works

  8. #48
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Nah lol will stick with my trusty Go500, I don't do enough mileage to justify getting a new one - & I'm skint

  9. #49
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobileman View Post
    Ok tried that and still no luck also just before map error message, get another error about 0 ram !!

    So going to try original navcore via tomtom home then patch second map .2159 and see if that works

    Thought you might have a running problem - once you've got latest navcore you need to patch it (the ttsystem file) & then activate the new map. Albert's activation tool will do both jobs for you.

  10. #50
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,196
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        199
    Karma Level
    377

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    where can the latest navcore version be obtained?

  11. #51
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by tiggerbiker View Post
    where can the latest navcore version be obtained?
    Use Tomtom Home & keep updating until no further updates available. What Tomtom unit have you got ?

  12. #52
    DF Wh0re rugrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    253

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Latest navcore........... [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Neil.....TomTom go300/500/730..Mio p550......2.8 lwb pajero exeed,where cant I go.
    Firmware:8.4.1..Western Europe 855.2880 and lots of others

  13. #53
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,196
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        199
    Karma Level
    377

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    thanks rugrat - just what i needed

    @russ - its a go910 m8. (i just bought 2 off ebay, both with the usual non-charging fault - easy fix!)

  14. #54
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by tiggerbiker View Post
    thanks rugrat - just what i needed

    @russ - its a go910 m8. (i just bought 2 off ebay, both with the usual non-charging fault - easy fix!)
    The latest 'official' navcore is v7.9**, but should not have any problems with the v8.204 I've posted & the v8.4 in rugrat's link should work aswell

  15. #55
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,196
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        199
    Karma Level
    377

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    yeah, now running 8.204 from your link - will test 8.4 tomorrow.

    i like it so far though!

  16. #56
    DF Jedi TAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    My home
    Posts
    2,405
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked:        233
    Karma Level
    318

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Thanx to all that have posted links, info etc. Have this running with no probs. Top post m8..


    Quote Originally Posted by tiggerbiker View Post
    thanks rugrat - just what i needed

    @russ - its a go910 m8. (i just bought 2 off ebay, both with the usual non-charging fault - easy fix!)

    How do u do this m8?..
    Last edited by TAR; 9th April 2009 at 12:12 AM.

  17. #57
    DF Jedi devs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    1,144
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked:        7
    Karma Level
    268

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Could someone please reup the patch file... Seems to be gone.

    "If you are using a Genuine version of Navcore then you will need to 'Patch' the "ttsystem" file on your Tomtom if you want to use a 'copied' map. Use Tomtom Home to update your Tomtom to the latest version of Navcore before you do any patching or adding any new maps.

    Thanks to yDdraigGoch (from another forum) for creating this tool - you can download it from here :-"

    Cheers,

    dEVS!

  18. #58
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by devs View Post
    Could someone please reup the patch file... Seems to be gone.

    "If you are using a Genuine version of Navcore then you will need to 'Patch' the "ttsystem" file on your Tomtom if you want to use a 'copied' map. Use Tomtom Home to update your Tomtom to the latest version of Navcore before you do any patching or adding any new maps.

    Thanks to yDdraigGoch (from another forum) for creating this tool - you can download it from here :-"

    Cheers,

    dEVS!
    That link is still working - just tested it now, but the easiest tool to use now is the one made by Albert - link is at bottom of my first post.

  19. #59
    DF PwNagE Lighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mancland™
    Posts
    5,988
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked:        270
    Karma Level
    682

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    OK Forgive my ignorance Russ but I have a TomTom One V1 the very first one I got it off T1z3r on these forums and its been great just bought a new mount off him as thats all thats gone wrong in about 5 years! Anyway what I wanted to know is what exactly does all this lot do? Is it worth doing for me? I have the standard Memory Card in there with just UK maps on. I have never ever updated anything on my TomTom except some Speed Camera POI's when I first got it. I have ioften thought about getting European maps for when I go driving to Spain which I do a lot.
    Thanks and once again sorry for the noobness!

  20. #60
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Lighty View Post
    OK Forgive my ignorance Russ but I have a TomTom One V1 the very first one I got it off T1z3r on these forums and its been great just bought a new mount off him as thats all thats gone wrong in about 5 years! Anyway what I wanted to know is what exactly does all this lot do? Is it worth doing for me? I have the standard Memory Card in there with just UK maps on. I have never ever updated anything on my TomTom except some Speed Camera POI's when I first got it. I have ioften thought about getting European maps for when I go driving to Spain which I do a lot.
    Thanks and once again sorry for the noobness!
    Make a BACK UP copy first !!!
    The safest way to update is to use Tomtom Home - keep updating until no more updates are available (can also use Home to get the latest voice files), then add the v825.2159 map. Use 'Alberts' activation tool to patch your Tomtom & then use tool again to activate your new map.
    You could use the v8.204 Navcore I've posted, but it's not always 100% - a lot really depends on what features you want out of your Tomtom.

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] Activation tools & guide for updating tomtom maps (May 2015)
    By Russ in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th May 2018, 10:03 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd July 2014, 10:36 PM
  3. [REQUEST] green light issue tomtom units
    By Detector in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2014, 12:06 AM
  4. [NEW] ***Keygen for Dedicated Tomtom Units*** [UPDATED MAY 2011]
    By Russ in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 134
    Last Post: 7th June 2011, 08:39 AM
  5. fs tomtom units
    By wreksta in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 10:25 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •