Close

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 238
  1. #81
    DF VIP Member
    Scal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    503
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked:        48
    Karma Level
    209

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Mines doing that also - any help appreciated.

  2. #82
    DF Super Moderator DJ Overdose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    On da decks.
    Posts
    9,921
    Thanks
    944
    Thanked:        2,135
    Karma Level
    1127

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Think it's something to do with the TTS thing...

    Text To Speech that reads out street names and stuff.

    Not 100% tho.


    DJ OD
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #83
    DF VIP Member
    Scal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    503
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked:        48
    Karma Level
    209

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Yeah but I now dont get the normal voices never mind the 'computer' ones.

  4. #84
    DF Super Moderator DJ Overdose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    On da decks.
    Posts
    9,921
    Thanks
    944
    Thanked:        2,135
    Karma Level
    1127

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Thinking it's memory related...

    Try removing all voices, and the lequendo folder or whatever it is...

    Reboot the unit... if it works put the voices back and see.


    DJ OD
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  5. #85
    DF PiMP ming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    england
    Posts
    402
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    135

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    took the voices out and tried it with the original voices no joy, but did a full back up of old maps etc and now i get the spoken warnings for the cameras even though i`ve never put them in lol,
    oh well at least it works with my back up file

  6. #86
    DF VIP Member gunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,928
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    1065

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Ok, more n00b help needed please gents.

    I have a TomTomOne v2, and it works fine - but I am interested in upgrading it.

    Firstly, is upgrading just a case of new maps? Or can the software from better models be run on it? Presently, I do not have speed camera's showing in my POI's - how easy is this to do? Also, is there any way for it to show your speed?

    Finally, I would like to know how to add European maps, and also a map of florida would be good. Which versions would I need of the maps to do this, and how do I add them?

    Cheers.
    Liverpool FC - Pride of Merseyside
    Attention - Use Ebay? - Support DF and use this link when buying/selling/signing up:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #87
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    625

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Depends on your version of Navcore as to what new maps you can use. Some navcore versions from better models can be used, but are not always 100% successful - the safest option is to use the latest official version for your unit, to get this you can use Tomtom home to update it - just keep updating until no more updates are available. I think the latest version is 7.9** for your unit - so you will not be able to use the v825.2157 or 830.2305 maps. See first post on how to patch your Tomtom & to activate the map.
    If using the pgpsw speed camera files they are easy to use - just copy all the .OV2 & .BMP files into your map folder.
    There's an option in the menu to show your current speed along with several other choices - such as current time - distance - time to destination etc...
    Adding any other maps is just as easy - get the latest you can find & then activate them as per first post.

  8. #88
    DF VIP Member gunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,928
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked:        16
    Karma Level
    1065

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Russ View Post
    Depends on your version of Navcore as to what new maps you can use. Some navcore versions from better models can be used, but are not always 100% successful - the safest option is to use the latest official version for your unit, to get this you can use Tomtom home to update it - just keep updating until no more updates are available. I think the latest version is 7.9** for your unit - so you will not be able to use the v825.2157 or 830.2305 maps. See first post on how to patch your Tomtom & to activate the map.
    If using the pgpsw speed camera files they are easy to use - just copy all the .OV2 & .BMP files into your map folder.
    There's an option in the menu to show your current speed along with several other choices - such as current time - distance - time to destination etc...
    Adding any other maps is just as easy - get the latest you can find & then activate them as per first post.
    Cheers Russ, appreciated.
    Liverpool FC - Pride of Merseyside
    Attention - Use Ebay? - Support DF and use this link when buying/selling/signing up:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  9. #89
    DF VIP Member Fear345's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    entebbe
    Posts
    3,148
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked:        412
    Karma Level
    520

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Top stuff m8 i went to update my 730 last week and they was after £40 for the update I'll give this a go tonight instead
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  10. #90
    DF Jedi biggy7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    4,963
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    676

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    managed to get a tomtom XL (v1 with sd slot) updated today,

    Navcore v8.412.1236
    Maps: UK.ROI.830.2305

    although i think TTS doesmt work on this model as it needs 64mb RAM and the xl has 32mb

    anyone messed with Vocaliser TTS?

    or is it the same thing?

  11. #91
    DF VIP Member Fear345's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    entebbe
    Posts
    3,148
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked:        412
    Karma Level
    520

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Before i do try and update will i lose the spoken streets that i have on my 730 ?
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  12. #92
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    625

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Fear345 View Post
    Before i do try and update will i lose the spoken streets that i have on my 730 ?
    You shouldn't lose anything as it's a standard feature on the 730, but make sure you have a full back up copy & you will have to get the correct map version number - see the compatibility charts here -
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  13. #93
    DF Rookie sdrury3472's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    133

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Thanks for that Bud Great stuff

  14. #94
    DF Jedi fanni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    2,715
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked:        313
    Karma Level
    331

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Excellent stuff just followed this and managed to add the latest France map to a tomtom xl classic

    all seems to be working fine

    cheers Russ

  15. #95
    DF VIP Member mfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Éire
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Help Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    In a spot of bother here. I downloaded the Iberia 830.2306 maps and I want to install them onto a Tom Tom One XL. I followed the guide and updated to the latest Navcore version 8.010 using Tom Tom home. I then copied across the Iberia 830.2306 folder and then patched using yDGpatch. All good so far.
    I then ran Easy Activator, everything seems ok until I hit 'Generate the *.meta.dct file'
    It gives me an error saying Cannot open keyfile 'Meta.txt' 'Iberia-33.meta' Error

    Any help would be great! Thanks all!

    m.

  16. #96
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    625

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by mfield View Post
    In a spot of bother here. I downloaded the Iberia 830.2306 maps and I want to install them onto a Tom Tom One XL. I followed the guide and updated to the latest Navcore version 8.010 using Tom Tom home. I then copied across the Iberia 830.2306 folder and then patched using yDGpatch. All good so far.
    I then ran Easy Activator, everything seems ok until I hit 'Generate the *.meta.dct file'
    It gives me an error saying Cannot open keyfile 'Meta.txt' 'Iberia-33.meta' Error

    Any help would be great! Thanks all!

    m.
    Try using the Easy Activator tool to download the latest meta file - if Albert's servers are offline there's a link in the first post of this thread for the latest ones I've got & they include the meta for Iberia v830.2306 map - just copy the meta file into the easy activator folder.

  17. #97
    DF VIP Member mfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Éire
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Quote Originally Posted by Russ View Post
    Try using the Easy Activator tool to download the latest meta file - if Albert's servers are offline there's a link in the first post of this thread for the latest ones I've got & they include the meta for Iberia v830.2306 map - just copy the meta file into the easy activator folder.

    Thanks for the speedy reply russ!

    Just to recap I just dragged across the folder 'TomTom Map (Iberia 830.2306)' that I downloaded. In that folder there is two folders one called 'Iberia 830.2306' and another called 'Keygen' and a 'meta.txt' file but I am still getting the same problem? I must be doing something stupid really here as I am still getting the same prob

    Do I need to remove the Ireland & UK maps that are already on the unit?

    Thnaks mate,

    m.

  18. #98
    DF Moderator Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked:        600
    Karma Level
    625

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    You can leave the UK map on.
    Not got the Iberia map that you're trying to use, but open up first folder & only copy the folder named Iberia 830.2306 onto your Tomtom (& make sure there are no other folders inside it).
    Use Albert's easy activator which is in first post here to activate the map.

  19. #99
    DF VIP Member mfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Éire
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    231

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    Got it sorted Russ - many thanks for all your help mate!

  20. #100
    DF Member iggyrs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    109

    Default Re: New guide for updating Tomtom units

    might have a walk to the car and try this..

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] Activation tools & guide for updating tomtom maps (May 2015)
    By Russ in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 Week Ago, 10:03 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd July 2014, 10:36 PM
  3. [REQUEST] green light issue tomtom units
    By Detector in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2014, 12:06 AM
  4. [NEW] ***Keygen for Dedicated Tomtom Units*** [UPDATED MAY 2011]
    By Russ in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 134
    Last Post: 7th June 2011, 08:39 AM
  5. fs tomtom units
    By wreksta in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 10:25 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •