Close

Thread: Sausage skins?

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Sausage skins?

Does anyone know where to buy sausage skins?

My sister got a new toy, a kenwood major mixer with loads of gadgets includeing a mincer and sausage maker so she wants to play and I like the idea of makeing my own sausages. But we can't find anywheret hat sells skins either the real intestine jobs or the fake stuff so does anyone know where to buy them?

Thanks

never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!:thumbup:

Thanks
    Karma Level

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Sausage skins?

Balls to slow.

On the subject though i used to work in a factory when i was about 18 making sausages and i'd ask a local butcher for some intestines as it's trickier than it looks and those artificial skins make it even harder because they are a bit brittle and if slightly overfilled will just burst when you twist them.
    Last edited by B.I.G.; 1st June 2009 at 05:24 PM.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Well I eventually found a butcher who would let me buy some, I went round all the butchers in Walkden, Farnworth and Boltons market, Morrises in Farnworth make their own but wouldn't sell any and everyone else sends their meat away to be made in to sausages Everyone was going on about how expensive skins were. One guy in Bolton market told me about a butcher on Chorley old road who he used to work for who made them so I went up there and he sold me a length of real skin for about 50p enought to make about 2kg of sausages. Plenty to have a play with.

Well the first attempt tonight, about 1kg of meat half beef and half pork, a few slices of bread turned in to bread crumbs with the processor attachmant for the kenwood and some salt and pepper. The meat all went through the grinder attachement on the kenwood, and was then mixed with the other bits in the mixer with the K beater and an egg.