Close

Page 1 of 12 12345611 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 228
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default What CPU Do You Have?

    Thought I'd check out what the PC users here favour, Intel or AMD.

    I'm an AMD man myself, faster & cheaper, what more could you ask? (well cooler too would be nice!!)

  2. #2
    DF MaSter gav_b_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlands-UK
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    183

    Default

    I agree....used to be an Intel Only person, and thought AMD were spawn of the devil....but got fed up with Intels ridiculous pricing.....

    So, I read all the info I could get my hands on, and now I swear by AMD. Currently got a AMD XP 1800+. My brothers got a 1.5Ghz P4, and my whoops its ass...even though they are more of less the same configuration of system and with the processors running at a very near speed P4=1500Mhz My AMD XP1800+ running at 1533Mhz......

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re jonathant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    In bed with yo
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    204

    Default

    woops accidentally posted twice

  4. #4
    DF Wh0re jonathant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    In bed with yo
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    204

    Default

    I am an AMD man myself for the same reasons cheaper, faster but the heat is a problem.

    My current configuration is:

    Athlon 1700+ XP o/c to 1570ish
    768mb 2100ddr crucial (3*256mb)
    KG7 motherboard
    Ge Force 2 MX 400 32mb (waiting for the Ge Force 4 4600 to become available)
    40gig 7200rpm hardrive
    16x DVD
    16x CD writer
    19" Illiyama
    SOundblaster Audigy
    Cambridge audio 5.1 system
    its a beast its well fast great graphics great sound best PC I even owned built it myself.
    The case is modded so I have 2 92mm fans blowing clod air directly onto the motherboard so the temps are 27c system 34c processor occassionaly reaches 39c for the processor after playing Max Payne for hours. Just about to invest in a new heatsink or may be a peltier. If you want pictures of my case mod PM me and I'll send you some and tell you how to do it.

  5. #5
    DF PlaYa passion4plex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    762
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    279

    Default

    Up until now I'd always been an Intel man (apart from drifting over to the k6-233 from the p233mmx).
    My last system was a dual P3-1GHz, but I've now upgraded to a dual Athlon 1800+ MP.
    Full configuration as follows:-

    2 x Athlon MP 1800+ CPU
    Tyan Tiger MP dual motherboard
    1GB (4 * 256MB) ECC 2100 DDR Crucial
    30GB Western Digital 7200 Hard Drive (IDE)
    60GB IBM 7200 Hard Drive (IDE)
    75GB IBM 7200 Hard Drive (Just returned to IBM - knackered) (IDE)
    160GB Maxtor 5400 Hard Drive (connected via USB2 interface card - very fast)
    Adaptec 2940UW SCSI Card
    Plextor 12/10/32 CD-RW (SCSI)
    Plextor 40 Max CD (SCSI)
    Toshiba 1402 DVD (SCSI)
    HP 4GB DAT (SCSI)
    100MB Zip Drive (SCSI)
    Panasonic LFD101 DVD-RAM Drive (SCSI)
    Pioneer A03 DVD-R Drive (IDE)
    Creative GeForce 2 GTS 32MB Video Card
    Soundblaster Live Platinum Soundcard
    Videologic Scirrocco Speaker System
    Iiyama 18.1" T.F.T. Dual Input Monitor

  6. #6
    DF MaSter gav_b_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlands-UK
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    183

    Default

    Just thinking....how does a poll of "What CPU do you have?" come under the PC Problems forum.....mmmmmmmmm

    Oh yea.....it may be a problem for those of us who still support Cyrix type processors....

  7. #7
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    Originally posted by gav_b_uk
    [B]Just thinking....how does a poll of "What CPU do you have?" come under the PC Problems forum.....mmmmmmmmm
    Heh, well there doesn't seem to be a General PC Hardware forum, otherwise I'd have put it there

  8. #8
    Robbie Vox
    Guest Robbie Vox's Avatar

    Default

    "2 x Athlon MP 1800+ CPU
    Tyan Tiger MP dual motherboard
    1GB (4 * 256MB) ECC 2100 DDR Crucial
    30GB Western Digital 7200 Hard Drive (IDE)
    60GB IBM 7200 Hard Drive (IDE)
    75GB IBM 7200 Hard Drive (Just returned to IBM - knackered) (IDE)
    160GB Maxtor 5400 Hard Drive (connected via USB2 interface card - very fast)
    Adaptec 2940UW SCSI Card
    Plextor 12/10/32 CD-RW (SCSI)
    Plextor 40 Max CD (SCSI)
    Toshiba 1402 DVD (SCSI)
    HP 4GB DAT (SCSI)
    100MB Zip Drive (SCSI)
    Panasonic LFD101 DVD-RAM Drive (SCSI)
    Pioneer A03 DVD-R Drive (IDE)
    Creative GeForce 2 GTS 32MB Video Card
    Soundblaster Live Platinum Soundcard
    Videologic Scirrocco Speaker System
    Iiyama 18.1" T.F.T. Dual Input Monitor"

    Sweet jesus, who needs central heating.....326 Meg HDD space !!!!!

    Just 4 the record
    k6 2-500, 128 sdram@133 16meg tnt1, cdrw 16x4x40, dvd x4
    At least I can dream, I get enough grief of the missus with this, she'd never get me off a system like that LOL

  9. #9
    DF Rookie peter124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    at the computer, duh!
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I've got two systems both running Pentium 200MMX. IMHO the best proccessor Intel ever made.

    One question. How do you know your 1.5ghz proccessor is running at that speed? because the computer industry says it is :signs:

  10. #10
    DF PlaYa passion4plex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    762
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    279

    Default

    Quoted by Robbie Vox:-

    Sweet jesus, who needs central heating.....326 Meg HDD space !!!!!


    I hope I've got more than that, not even enough to run XP

    Perhaps you meant 326GB

  11. #11
    DF Rookie stealth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    i have a amd-k6,

    does wot i want it to do, had this since i first bought it, which was about 4 - 5 years ago, lately had the ram and hardrive updated so i now have a 10gb h/d and a 96.0mb ram, yes you may all laugh, but like i said it does what i want it to do

    still have the crap old graphics card SiS 6326, plays a couple of games like delta force 1,2 but not land warrior the grahpics just kinda go all werid

    well any way AMD rule

  12. #12
    DF Wh0re Curleous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ere and there
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    187

    Default AMD

    AMD K6/2 300 for me with 10gig hard drive massive 4mb video card..(top of the range when i bought it), 160 mb of ram... does the job but very very slowly... just starting to upgrade now...Lian-Li PC7 USB Aluminium Tower first on the shopping list

    Curleous

  13. #13
    DF Jedi webslinger2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The DF HUB
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    312

    Default

    AMD 1.2

    i dont think i could ever go back to intel, i used to think they were the best until i paid proper attention, and actually knew what i was talking about........i feel sorry for them poor saps that only go intel, they are being taken for a ride. My GF said that after she had some dodgy processor (i think ATI or something i had never heard of before), but she insists she will only ever get intel now, no matter how much i try and tell her different.

    just goes to show what a few adverts on the telly do for the company

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa bean_2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Walsall
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    264

    Default

    AMD Rulez

    I have a 1.4 Ghz AMD T Bird

  15. #15
    DF Jedi mladen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,004
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    302

    Default

    I've not really experienced Athlons much. But I have a Pentium4 1.7Ghz, 512mb DDR and that does me fine for what I want it for.

  16. #16
    DF Wh0re knee doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Currently US
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    199

    Default

    AMD every day of the week and twice on sunday, i have a 1700+, Intel completely lost the plot and just sat on its fat arse and watched the money roll in 'till the duron probs and AMD saw a small gap went for it and has kicked Intels ass. Intels are slow and overpriced compared to the AMD's.

  17. #17
    DF Member 5morris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Current setup:
    Supermicro 370DDE Dual Proc mobo
    2 * 1Ghz PIII
    1.5Gb Ecc Crucial ram
    Win Xp Pro
    Ibm Deskstar 30Gb h/disks Raid
    Ibm Deskstar 20Gb
    Adaptec 2940UW SCSI Card
    12/20 Plextor scsi cd rom
    16 10 40 Yamaha cdrw
    6 speed Pioneer dvd rom
    Iomega zip 100 internal
    Asus AGP V8200 GeForce3 Ti500 64MB Deluxe graphics card
    Soundblaster Live Platinum Soundcard
    2 * Nics
    Server case with dual redundant 300w psu's

    This is the most reliable system I have ever had. Was an Athlon man until just before xmas, but got fedup with bsod's and general errors, although going to Xp helped a lot.
    Nothing wrong with Althon processors, but I feel that on the whole Intel has the edge. They maybe over hyped and overpriced, but bought 2nd hand they are an absolute bargain if you can find the right place and time to buy them.
    Also for peace of mind, I have never known anyone blow up an Intel proc, they are virtually indestructable, you have to do something really stupid to destroy one.
    Althons are a bit finiky. If you loose a heatsink lug from the zif socket and the h/sink fan drops off its bye bye to the processor where as an Intel one will just shut down.
    Every person to their own I suppose.
    Steve.

  18. #18
    DF Jedi cosmicma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    2,464
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked:        181
    Karma Level
    392

    Default

    go get yourself a s478 intel p4 1.8 northwood with 512k cache
    stuff it in a abit or asus board that uses ddr memory and overclock to 2.4 ghz with the supplied fan no messing with vcore adjustments or fancy coolers just clock in bios and go

    unfortunatly i got a p4 1.8 with 256k cache (not northwood) and this one doesn't clock to 2.4 gig but it does clock to 2 gig and its stable

    but dont forget the ddr bit on the motherboard
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  19. #19
    DF MaSter gav_b_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlands-UK
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    183

    Default

    And wheres the good old Sinclair Z80ACPUB1 come in all this eh?

  20. #20
    DF Rookie neft99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    up north
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I have a duron 800 going to a 1.2Tbird next

Page 1 of 12 12345611 ... LastLast

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •