Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Braudband

  1. #1
    DF Rookie degzzy100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North West UK
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Braudband

    Hi All
    Can any one help me out please there is no cable in my area for braudband ,and no adsl with BT available,
    what are my opptions please .
    Regards degzzy100

  2. #2
    DF Wh0re jonathant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    In bed with yo
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    204

    Default

    Satelite is about your only option. Unless cable or BT move into your area

  3. #3
    DF Rookie degzzy100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North West UK
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Braudband

    Hi jonathant

    Can you give me more information on satalite opption please
    IE (webb sites for costing up the opption )
    Thanks for the fast reply
    Regards degzzy100

  4. #4
    DF Wh0re jonathant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    In bed with yo
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    204

    Default

    not really looked into satalite myself best place to ask is panda's satelite forum they will know lots more about it. I know its only one way though so you get fast downloads but your stuck with a modem for uploads. ISDN is also an option dual ISDN is pretty fast

  5. #5
    DF Rookie degzzy100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North West UK
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0
    HI jonathant
    Thanks again for the info and fast reply will give pandas forum a good looking onto
    Regards degzzy100

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    1,053
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    244

    Default

    Too late - I'm already here

    I had a three day trial on satnode ([Only registered and activated users can see links. ] ). OK for file downloads, but I found it to be slow for browsing and real slow for email & newsgroups.

    Others have good things to say for IPVIAsat.

    Most (all ?) of these systems impose a download limit per month which really sucks.

    Have a look back through a couple of pages on this section. I asked a bit about it a couple of times in the past and got some good answers (
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] )

    You'll need a dish (Duh !) and a digital satellite card (I've got one spare if your interested ).

  7. #7
    DF PiMP joeninety0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        25
    Karma Level
    193

    Default

    Dual option isdn only 128 k but you pay for both phone calls I.e both 64k channels so not very fast compared 512k broadband (adsl)

  8. #8
    DF Rookie mik3daman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Wireless from [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] is available in some cities but I'm sure that DSL and cable has a better coverage so if you could get wireless from tele2 I'm sure you could also get wired broadband. Not sure about how good their service is as don't subscribe to them (I'm a Blueyonder customer myself).

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa DAVEY26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK - in front of thi
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    tele2 is shite m8
    if u do go with them make sure you dont get the burstable speeds. cos guaranteed you get fuked over and will get the rock bottom speeds
    they ripped me big time.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •