Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Mould caused by condensation?

Hiya
    I have just been IM chatting with a freind and she asked me if I could decorate her bedroom, Im an IT engineer where is the decorating thing comming from? anyway the reason for decorateing is that parts of the walls have gone black and clothes are going mouldy as well.

A few things to come from the conversation, the door is kept closed so the cats don't go in the bedroom, the house is warm so its perfect for breading mould no air movement and warm. I am guessing there are no trickle vents in the bedroom window and that the house has been cavilty insulated pretty much sealing everything in, im going to call round and check.

So I need to sort the air circulation out
    kill the mould
    then redecorate.

Can vents be fitted after double glazed units have been fitted or would it just be best and easier to knock a hole in the wall and fit some brick vents?

How to deal with the mould? is there somthing I can paint over it or do i need to use a steamer to kill it I guess if I just paint/paper over I will end up with the mould showing through again.

So any hints tips etc for when I go round later this week?

never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups!:thumbup:

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Mould caused by condensation?

Once you have stripped the wallpaper off, wipe the mould with neat bleach. It will remove the mould quickly & cheaper than a mould killer. Leave to dry & its fine to decorate over. BUT you do need to determine the cause - maybe moisture from outside i.e broken downpipe / gutter etc. Most rooms arent airtight enough to cause this problem on its own, there will be moisture coming from somewhere.
    "Friendly fire will not be tolerated"

Thanks
    Karma Level

Quote Originally Posted by Little John View Post
    Hiya