Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Car insurance advice

i lent my dads car ,left it in a car park when i returned the car had a big dent in the wing
    someone left a note on the windscreen telling me the car reg of the person how done it and drove off ,the car park had cctv right on my car ,i passed the car reg on to the police they found the person how done it ,i received a letter off the police , that they sent this person a advice letter for failing to stop and thats about it but im left with my dads car still with a dented wing how do i get there insurance to repair my dads car when all i have is the reg of the car that drove off,i rang my insurance company but was told i have to contact the drivers insurance because i was only 3rd party and it wasnst my fault, advice needed thanks for you time

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: car insurance advice

I am no expert but i would have thought that if you reported it to your insurance then it is up to them to get in contact with other parties insurance and get your car repaired, i would be phoning the insurance company back and request a supervisor

Thanks
    Karma Level

Seeing as how it was your dads car tell him to get on to HIS insurers. I pressume when you say you only have 3rd party insurance you mean that is because you were driving someone else's vehicle with their consent, but you have your own insurance.
    As mentioned above your or your dads insurance company should be making the claim on your behalf, that's what you pay the buggers for. As for telling you to contact his insurance company, that is bull. How the hell are you supposed to know who he is insured with.

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Start with this, http://www.askmid.com/askmidenquiry.aspx
    I ALWAYS have legal protection on my policy, if you are a named driver on your Dads policy ask him if he has legal protection.
    If at first you don't succeed.....redefine success. . . .

Thanks
    Karma Level