Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    DF Rookie womble27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Hauppauge WinTV DVB-s

    Hiya

    Im very new to all this but saw a guy at Bowlers yesterday demonstrating a DVB PCI card using Mutlidec 8 software which go me thinking.............. :-/
    Will a Hauppauge WinTV DVB-s work with Multidec 8?

    If so........
    Where can I get a Hauppauge WinTV DVB-s and roughly what price are they?

    Can I use an old analogue sky disk or do I need to modify it

    Is there anything else I need to get started?

    Told you I was new to this...

    Thanks for any replies

    Regards
    Lockzie

  2. #2
    DF Rookie XORCIST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    south england
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Like you, I am also very interested in getting this type of thing up and running, and the few bits of info I've seen imply that MD8.x works with Wintv dvb-s (and clone) cards. However the Hauppauge DVB-s seems to be getting deleted from suppliers lists for some reason, and I'm not sure if the Nexus-s will work. Presumably other sat cards don't, so if anyone does know of other possibilities, I and others would be pleased to hear...thanks

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa lemaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    564
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    209

    Default

    the dvb-s has been replaced with the nexus (which i have one of! cost me 165 quid -ish from ebuyer) it works a treat with multidec! the only problem i have is aligning my dish but it will do for now! multidec doesnet seem to be the most stable of software though! progdvb works fine with it too altho again doesnt seem too stable!

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member Undertaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        145
    Karma Level
    400

    Default

    Is this the one?

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  5. #5
    DF Rookie womble27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Hauppauge WinTV DVB-s

    I have just bought a Hauppauge WinTV DVB-s from ebay and just ordered a dual LNB for astra and hotbird. The guy demonstrating the DVB-s pci card at bowlers said I needed a 90cm dish but where I have ordered the LNB from said it would work fine with my old 80cm sky analogue dish :-/

    lemaru, Can you hook your TV up to the Hauppauge nexus? Also what version of multidec and progdvb are you using?
    My big worry is I wont be able to align my dish.......

    Any tips greatfully accepted :-)

    Regards
    Lockzie

  6. #6
    DF Rookie womble27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Hiya Undertakerwwf

    That is the one I have just got, so I hope it is!!!! As I said I know nothing really about this so it is a learning curve for me

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Its a fair bit cheaper at ebuyer than Dabs

    Regards
    Lockzie

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member Undertaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        145
    Karma Level
    400

    Default

    Wonmble - Your better off getting a proper installer to do it, where abouts in the north west are you?

    If u live near blackburn try Delta satellites, the numbers in yellow pages.


    As for the software Id prefer progdvb as it is english, go to

    tforums.com/happysat for downloads and help

  8. #8
    DF Rookie womble27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Im in south Manchester.
    I am waiting for the card, I have now got my dual LNB
    I will try it myself, if not I will get someone in to do it
    Is it really that difficult to do?

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa lemaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    564
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    209

    Default

    i was gonna get someone to line up my dish but everyone wanted 55quid (+ vat) to do it!!!!

    Is this the one?

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Yeah thas the one! they actually send u a nexus tho!

    lemaru, Can you hook your TV up to the Hauppauge nexus? Also what version of multidec and progdvb are you using?
    Yeah theres a TV-out port on the back and a remote control!! i am using version 8.2 of multidec as it seems much more stable that 8.1b and i got version 1.57 (i think) of progdvb which looks alot nicer than multidec altho for some reason doesnt find many channels

    Oh and i got told that an 80cm dish is fine for the south of england with the monoblock lnb but not too sure about the north!


    As for the software Id prefer progdvb as it is english,
    True but i got a version of multidec 8.2 here which is supposedly XP patched and most of it is in english!! there are only a few things that havent been translated! i use multidec myself as it finds more channels and doesnt freeze my machine almost everytime its loaded!

    Lemaru

  10. #10
    DF Rookie kevinw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    london
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    just been to john lewis and the nexus is 99.95p

  11. #11
    DF Rookie womble27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    If you buy from John lewis on line you get 10 off :-)

  12. #12
    DF VIP Member Undertaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        145
    Karma Level
    400

    Default

    Thats probably the Nova, are u sure its nexus and not nova.

    Cuz nova will not work with md8 or progdvb

  13. #13
    DF Member j2mods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    my computer
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    189

    Default

    seems like a good place to post this link.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa lemaru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    564
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    209

    Default

    Anyone got a link for the nexus on the john lewis website?!?! cant find it on there! if it is under 100quid i shall be a tad pissed off!!!!!

    WOMBLE: just a link that could help with ligning up your dish if u dont have a meter or anything!! [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] u may have to click on satellite support!!

  15. #15
    DF Rookie kipp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Okily dokily folks

    I have the win tv bs with monoblock lnb Running smoothly with md 8.2

    Both hotbird and astra workin fine

    If u use the software that comes with the card u should have a Option to use a vocal strenght metre which is really helpfull

    Best way i reckon would be to swap the monoblock for a single lnb find astra first .
    Tighten it up then swop to the monoblock you should then only have to move the dish slightly to the right to allow for the offset of the monoblock and then tilt the monoblock up !!!!

    Thats the way i did it !

    Kipp

  16. #16
    DF Wh0re z3spacial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Oldham
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        12
    Karma Level
    199

    Default

    Does any software work with a Skystar 2 acrd - or is any on the way coz NOTHING i have tried WORKS
    "The Best Things In Life Are Free..."

    Get The Best Things in Life at the DF-DC Hub
    df-hub.servebeer.com

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member Undertaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        145
    Karma Level
    400

    Default

    No progz work with skystar2

    looks like ur stuck with fta

  18. #18
    DF Rookie KD232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Nexus

    I have it installed connected to a motised dish. It is very good and you get a good picture.
    I also purchased the Nova as well and if you want a really magnicent picture you have it on this.
    Go to H's site and download the laest version of the Nexus software download it and you will be pleased the old version was nowhere as good as the update. If you ster your dish aroung you can serach and add the channels as they ate found.
    I have just bought a Iiyama LCD which arrived today so I am now looking forward to getting a real digital repeat digital picture now.
    Connected to the abopve items you can record to your hearts content. It's a pity abut the demise of S*c* for 2 as it would have been grat for T & P.
    But they are all a good buy.

  19. #19
    DF MaSter Friar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Modchester
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    guys ive got a pent@vision card [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    it does say FTA channels but will i be able to use this with Multidec 8?

    Cheers

  20. #20
    CaExtreme
    Guest CaExtreme's Avatar

    Default

    Isn't the dvb-s card the same as the nexus-s card? What's the difference?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted : Hauppauge WinTV nova usb dvb-t
    By maltloaf in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th May 2006, 11:43 PM
  2. Streaming Digital TV Via Hauppauge wintv nova-t to xbox
    By greasemonkey in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th December 2003, 07:33 PM
  3. HELP, setting up Hauppauge WinTV Theatre
    By theodotcom in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th September 2003, 12:09 AM
  4. WinTV + consoles
    By Cam in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th August 2003, 11:04 PM
  5. Help needed please with Hauppauge wintv nova t
    By dvdwhizz in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th October 2002, 02:02 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •