Close

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    DF PiMP joeninety0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        25
    Karma Level
    193

    Default copying protected cd's

    trying to backup my copy of commanche 4. tried clone cd but keeps failing at about 97%. anyone know a good prog to copy these type of disks.
    cheers

  2. #2
    DF Jedi fe_man2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    St Albans
    Posts
    2,511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    318

    Default

    try Cloney XL is a good one to try - it will tell you want type of protection the D is using as well.

    Cheers
    Ironman

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Gavin M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    newcastle
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    273

    Default

    umm, check clone for some error settings and get it to ignor them, or *try* using cdrwin koz u can ignor them on that, maybe prassi primo can do them, not sure, i used clone cd to back up my m8s original "the sims" games for him just the other day and it was the first time i used clone this year so i'm not sure about its setttings m8

  4. #4
    DF PiMP joeninety0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        25
    Karma Level
    193

    Default

    cheers i will try both

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE Freaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Another Planet
    Posts
    6,950
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    568

    Default

    wot i used to do m8, was get copy protection detecter, this tells you wot protection is on the disc, then it passes the appropriate settings needed onto clone cd which you can open from within the program.

    but ive not used it for a while so dont know if the newer protections are supported by the program

    you can get it here anyway, give it a try

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  6. #6
    DF Wh0re funy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] has a load of info on protections i think, have a quick look there

  7. #7
    Banned Idiot kingdong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    durham
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    clone ultimately can copy all protected cd,s if used corectly


    kd

  8. #8
    DF Jedi fe_man2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    St Albans
    Posts
    2,511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    318

    Default

    Except for Disc's using the TAGES copy protection - ite very new so dont worry yet.

    here is some info from Toms Hardware

    "TAGES can be implemented at various stages of software development, and its anti-copy functions can be customized to meet the specific needs of developers and publishers. It enables the publisher to choose how the protection affects unauthorized copies, from causing slight modifications to completely blocking the functioning of the software. TAGES is also completely transparent to the end user and does not require any specific set-up or online transaction prior to launching the software.

    TAGES uses new encryption and authentication technologies that are compatible with standard multimedia PC computers and drives. To date, very little is known about this copy protection technology, and it has appeared on only one title of which we are aware. What we do know at the time of this article is that, to the best of our knowledge, no one has been able to figure out how to make a back up of a disc protected with TAGES. For users wanting to make a back up copy of a disc using the TAGES technology, this isn't welcome news"

    Cheers
    Ironman

  9. #9
    DF Member bricktop's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    try using old version of clone 3.412 is the best turn off the errors aslo it make a differnt what burner you have the liton burner will copy must games the plextor arent as good,i have good luck with acer burner it all to do with what your burner call read and what mode it can copy it need to be able to burn in raw data mode ,dont use clone ver 4 it usless,aslo burn by making a image not fly and read from the burner not the cd rom or dvd ok hope this works for your game but,not all games can be crack this way

  10. #10
    DF PiMP joeninety0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        25
    Karma Level
    193

    Default

    thanks

  11. #11
    DF PwNagE Freaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Another Planet
    Posts
    6,950
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    568

    Default

    can clone cd handle safedisk 2, and is there any that can defeat the new F.A.D.E yet

  12. #12
    DF Rookie Chrisyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    CloneCD can copy SafeDisc 2 as long as your burner can do it properly (some can copy it no probs, some can copy it and then it can only be used on that burner and some won't do it at all; liteon burners can do it no probs).

    FADE, don't think so.

  13. #13
    DF Jedi fe_man2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    St Albans
    Posts
    2,511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    318

    Default

    Isnt FADE - what they supposedly used on Operation Flashpoint ? I thought it was a bit of an urban legend. I backed up my copy and it didnt appear to make any difference as I played the game.

    Cheers
    Ironman

  14. #14
    DF Rookie Chrisyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I read that Operation Flashpoint (release) was not FADE protected; Version 1.10 and up are protected with FADE.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] for more info.

  15. #15
    DF MaSter Sly666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    182

    Default

    Get yourselves a Liteon drive, copies safedisk 2 no worries and there cheap 40 ish for a 32 speed jobie!

Similar Threads

  1. Are 360 games region protected
    By ss30 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th December 2006, 12:04 PM
  2. bootloader protected
    By sennokai in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th April 2006, 07:42 PM
  3. sr7 protected games
    By johamilton in forum PC Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th December 2005, 09:00 AM
  4. Protected Audio cd help
    By crack_it in forum PC Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th October 2004, 10:15 PM
  5. How To Copy A Protected PS1 Game
    By djdreamer_uk in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th April 2003, 12:39 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •