Close

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 87
  1. #1
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    15,850
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked:        1,164
    Karma Level
    1328

    Attention Install a new Xbox HDD tutorial

    I put a 40Gb maxtor hdd in my xbox using the info below so i know it works !!

    thanks to opcode from xboxhacker for making this, I hope he doesnt mind us nicking it !!

    1. Boot evolutionx with your OLD hard drive still in the xbox. FTP to your xbox copy your C:\ and E:\ partitions to somewhere, you'll need them later.

    2. From your PC format the new hard disk to fill it with all zeroes (THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT)

    **extra from maltloaf ** I only did up to 1100(Hex) on mine and it works fine.. I think its important to blank the area where the master boot record goes to allow the new TOC to be formed.

    3. Write the following hex values at the offsets given to your drive, I recommend using winhex to accomplish this. This will create empty C:\ (system) and E:\ (saves) partitions. If you are using winhex paste the hex values as 'ASCII Hex' if it ask you.

    Start Address HEX Values
    ====================================
    0x8ca80000 4641545840F0484D2000000001
    0xabe80000 4641545850D2154D2000000001

    4. Hook the drive up to your xbox and boot off the evolutionx CD/DVD -

    **from maltloaf ** you must use the evolution-x bios for this.

    5. Format the C, E, and F partitions using evolutionx by sending 2 raw FTP commands to the xbox (I used FlashFXP for this) for each partition to format. The commands are as follows:

    a. Formatpath \Device\Harddisk0\PartitionX

    Where PartitionX is either 1 (E), 2 (C), or 6 (F)

    This will give you a key, something like:
    200 FormatKey key for '\Device\Harddisk0\PartitionX'. Where key will be a 4 byte value in hex (8 characters)

    b. FormatDrive key

    **from maltloaf **this takes no time at all.. it isnt a real format.

    Where key is the key returned from command a.

    NOTE: To successfully format partition F use must be using the evolutionx bios and have your xbox booted with that bios.

    6. FTP the C:\ and E:\ contents you saved in step 1 back to your xbox to their perspective partitions. (note if using FlashFXP you should refresh both the C and E directories when you change to them on the xbox, otherwise FlashFXP seems to cache the old directory/file structure from the old drive).

    7. Your done!


    thanks again to op-code.. great info

    maltloaf
    Last edited by maltloaf; 11th July 2002 at 08:35 PM.
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Lenovo Yoga 900 Pro i7
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone 7 plus 128GB
    iPad Pro WiFi 32GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  2. #2
    DF Rookie Proff Klump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Thanks for this m8

  3. #3
    DF PiMP DoctorX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    do you have to make all the partitions equal or can you make the games partition really big?

    excellent post btw

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa f1kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    uk nottingham
    Posts
    726
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    219

    Default

    so you saying iv got to rip me enigma beta chip out or not

    i want to fit an 80 gig hd in iv got the program working on 8 gig xbox one with f1 2002 and bruce lee on it

    will there all so be a app to do all this for you im not that good with hex editers thxs for any help

  5. #5
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    15,850
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked:        1,164
    Karma Level
    1328

    Default

    the partitions are pre-set apart from the F drive which is the spare space on your hard disc after the others have been formed

    maltloaf
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Lenovo Yoga 900 Pro i7
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone 7 plus 128GB
    iPad Pro WiFi 32GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa f1kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    uk nottingham
    Posts
    726
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    219

    Default

    so can i leave my enigma chip in

    or as this got to be taken out as you say use the evolution-x bios

    on a chip or flash the xbox bios

  7. #7
    DF Rookie Men@cer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Derbyshire Eng
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    sound a bit to much for me maltloaf but i will have a go at it

  8. #8
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    15,850
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked:        1,164
    Karma Level
    1328

    Default

    Originally posted by f1kid
    so can i leave my enigma chip in

    or as this got to be taken out as you say use the evolution-x bios

    on a chip or flash the xbox bios
    you need to use the evolution X bios(perhaps installed as a homebrew) for the HDD swap but you could go back to your enigmah afterwards, for the reliability of booting games.

    maltloaf
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Lenovo Yoga 900 Pro i7
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone 7 plus 128GB
    iPad Pro WiFi 32GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa f1kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    uk nottingham
    Posts
    726
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    219

    Default

    ok seems a bit to much for me all so not had this chip in long

    there is no other way to get this new hd in thxs

  10. #10
    DF PiMP DoctorX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    Maltloaf after successfully installing a new hard drive can you still use the original MS Dash?

    Say you took out your modchip and used original MS Dash would the X-box still work?

  11. #11
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    15,850
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked:        1,164
    Karma Level
    1328

    Default

    i believe that the new hdd will only work with the evo-x bios
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Lenovo Yoga 900 Pro i7
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone 7 plus 128GB
    iPad Pro WiFi 32GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

  12. #12
    DF PiMP DoctorX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    I would be curious to try it out

    I would think if it was formatted the same way as original it would work except it would hide the f partition

  13. #13
    DF Rookie calvin940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I have done 3 drive upgrades on trhee different xboxes, 120, 80, and 60 by reburning my homebrew mod eeprom with with evox bios (formerly xtender 1.1). All worked (and are working) perfectly.

    However, the evox bios needs to stay in. Otherwise, when you try to switch back to another chip (I switched back to extender1.1), the F drive goes back to being 0 bytes (unaccessible).

    I have not had a problem booting any games with evox bios. I don't find that there are any stability issues that I have encountered on any of those upgrades.

    My xbox is the one with 120gig and the F partition turned out to be 114Gig. I have thrown all kinds of games on that partition that I plan on laying regularly and with the evox dashboard and the autoaddtiem option, it rocks.

    I use the xbcopy xbe now to copy games right to the xbox hd. That software rox too.

    Cheers
    Calvin

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa f1kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    uk nottingham
    Posts
    726
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    219

    Default

    this ex bios chip is the wires on the same as the enigmah

    same spots

    if not where is a digram for this id love to put a 80 gig that iv got here

    please post it or tell me where it is

    iv got bios need the wire points

    sorry i see web site is back got pics from there

    what id like to know is how big are each partions on the new hd
    Last edited by f1kid; 14th July 2002 at 11:16 AM.

  15. #15
    DF Rookie Deceptikon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Calvin, which method do you use when swapping hard drives? The swap or winhex method? Thanks....

  16. #16
    DF PiMP DoctorX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    what kind of hard drives are you guys putting in?

    also what are the specs on the X-box hard drive ie RPM and ATA

  17. #17
    DF Rookie calvin940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Make it 4 upgrades, 2 60s, an 80, and a 120. All were maxtors. 2 5400 and 2 7200.

    I used the cable swap method. The winhex method was posted before I did the cable swap, but the sable swap worked flawlessly and I have heard people having problems with winhex.

    Calvin

  18. #18
    DF PiMP DoctorX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    what's the cable swap method?

  19. #19
    DF MaSter DreCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Where can I get XBcopy!?!?! Can't find it anywhere! Errrrrrrr

  20. #20
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    15,850
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked:        1,164
    Karma Level
    1328

    Default

    try channel #xbins on EFNet IRC servers
    Facebook: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Garmin Connect: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Strava: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Lenovo Yoga 900 Pro i7
    iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz Core i5 8GB
    iPhone 7 plus 128GB
    iPad Pro WiFi 32GB
    iPad Air WiFi + Cellular 16GB

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How To Install OS X Mavericks Hackintosh On PC [Tutorial]
    By evilsatan in forum A is for Apple
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 18th July 2014, 02:17 PM
  2. Install Android 4.2.2 On Galaxy S3 GT-i9300 (CM 10.1) [How-To Tutorial]
    By evilsatan in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th April 2013, 12:30 AM
  3. How To Install PSP Emulator On iPhone And iPad [Tutorial]
    By evilsatan in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th March 2013, 03:40 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th July 2012, 07:00 PM
  5. [NEW] How To Install / Upgrade OS X Lion 10.7 On Hackintosh PC [Tutorial]
    By evilsatan in forum A is for Apple
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th July 2011, 01:39 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •