Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member bugnote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    tut north
    Posts
    1,247
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    322

    Default Setting up a web server at home...?

    can anyone shed some light on this for me.....

    I have broadband, a static IP and recently downloaded apache.
    Can I host my own websites by registering a domain and having it forward to my IP address.

    This may seem like a stupid question but does anyone do this at the moment.?

    cheers

    Bug

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    Gunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    659
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked:        6
    Karma Level
    242

    Default

    You should find all the answers to your questions at:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Gunny

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member bugnote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    tut north
    Posts
    1,247
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    322

    Default

    cheers Gunny, that site looks the dogs........

  4. #4
    DF Jedi {film_man}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    215

    Default

    you cant host web servers at home on NTL dont knwo about BT and BY

  5. #5
    DF Moderator EvilBoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    6,185
    Thanks
    507
    Thanked:        528
    Karma Level
    536

    Default

    With nearly all DSL providers you can host whatever you like. Some don't like you doing that though. I have used Zen Internet and had no problems, BT - no problems, Pipex - no problems and I have a mate who is on NTL cable and he has no problems (Apart from his IP changing regularly)

    If you do not have a static IP address you can still have your own proper host name.
    1.) Register a domain name (eg. thetardis.org.uk)
    2.) Use a Dynamic DNS clien (dyndns.org have good ones)
    3.) Get someone with a DNS server to host your domain details and get them to create a PTR record for the www host to the dynamic DNS name of your choice (With a low TTL)

    I have used this in the past with BTOW and had no problems.
    DF Moderator
    XBox One | Panasonic 4k | MS Surface Pro 3 | 3DSXL | WiiU | RPi3
    XBL : TheSumOfAllEvil

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 14th December 2013, 08:15 PM
  2. Setting up proxy server
    By Argyll in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th July 2007, 09:31 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 9th January 2007, 05:35 PM
  4. Setting up a RAID server?
    By computerman in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th March 2003, 02:04 AM
  5. Setting up Web Server
    By jackss in forum Site Critique
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th November 2002, 06:13 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •