Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Banned darren67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default cant get vcd to work with remote free dvd dongle

    just installed the free dvd free on my xbox hardrive all my dvds boot 100%, but in the inf it says they have unlocked the svcd and vcd itried one on a cdwr no luck doed it have to be in vcd format or just a mpeg 2 file on disk

  2. #2
    DF Member The_Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moon
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    I also am asking the same question !!

    I tried a real VCD (got some) nothing happens then I tried a SVCD and the same black screen on this free player....


    Of course DVD are running fine !!!

    any idea how to make those VCD & SVCD feature to run ?

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Aido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Carioca, Pragu
    Posts
    1,851
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    270

    Default

    have been messing around with this for a few minutes - the nfo did mention that they recommending vcd / svcd playback with a replacement drive, ie:

    "We have also unlocked the VCD & SVCD capabilities but have not had chance to test correctly.
    We recommened using CDRW and with a different DVD ROM Unit (instructions to swap ROM on xbox-scene.com)"

    You can use either the FTP side of Evo-X or something like XBExplorer to see if the files are being enumerated but whenever I try VCD format disks neither are able to enumerate a file list using the built in XBox drive. I've tried a CDRW that usually works okay plus a few VCD silvers from Asia.

    It's possible that it just cannot handle the different sector size which is why they're not working on the built in drive.

    Anyone in here with a PC DVD-ROM drive fitted to their XBox that could confirm this?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    DF Moderator EvilBoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    6,185
    Thanks
    507
    Thanked:        528
    Karma Level
    536

    Default

    I have tried a VCD on CDRW media and it just gave the black screen. It must only work with a specific format (Probably something like NTSC-J only or some rubbish!)
    DF Moderator
    XBox One | Panasonic 4k | MS Surface Pro 3 | 3DSXL | WiiU | RPi3
    XBL : TheSumOfAllEvil

Similar Threads

  1. using your sky+ remote to work your amp
    By okey in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th July 2007, 09:00 AM
  2. sky remote coding to work amp
    By okey in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th May 2007, 08:39 PM
  3. FS: 2 x xbox dvd remote with dongle
    By bladesftp in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd January 2007, 08:02 PM
  4. DivX and the MS remote dongle
    By BlackBeard in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st March 2003, 08:19 AM
  5. Any way of playing DVD's without dongle or remote?
    By @tack in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th September 2002, 05:18 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •