Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa Sam_41's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    220

    Default Nothing is working!!

    Just bought a new PC off ebay and I am absolutley clueless as to wht its not working. When I power up the fan comes on but there is no beep at all. The monitor does not come on and there is no signal.

    The mb is an AMD PC Chips 841 LMR DDR with onboard graphics card. I have checked that the RAM is installed properly and have moved the jumper with no luck. The thing is- the guy i bought it off seems fairly reputable and he says he had it working before sending it to me.
    Please help me out but I am afraid I know very little about computers- I have never even attempted building one thats why I bought it pre-built. Any help would be GREATLY appreciatted.

    oh yeah- also I have searchd this forum for similar problems but have still not been able to sort it.
    Last edited by Sam_41; 21st August 2002 at 11:50 AM.

  2. #2
    DF Wh0re n0k1a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    127.0.0.0
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    its easy to lie over ebay, you dont know who your dealing with,

    it might have had a bumb in the courior van or something, or a wires fooked up or somethings come out of place,

    did this guy have good feedback?

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    207

    Default

    If the fan spins up but there are no beeps I'd guess first off that the mobo is faulty/dead. Or possibly the CPU although it should beep if it's that. See if the CPU warms up if the power is on for a few minutes.

  4. #4
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    515

    Default

    Like the sig....

    Disconnect everything from the motherboard except the power.
    Processor, RAM, Hard Drive, Floppy, DVD, Video, Sound. Everything.

    See if it beeps. Plug everything back in one item at a time. Checking the state every time you plug something back.
    Video, Processor, Ram, HDD, DVD, Sound, Floppy.

    If it starts working and then stops when you plug something back in that item may be faulty. If it's a disk drive, DVD or hard drive it could just be that the cable is on the wrong way round.

  5. #5
    DF Jedi urbsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    up norf!
    Posts
    4,693
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        33
    Karma Level
    669

    Default

    I had the exact same problem with a computer i built myself last week . The processor was knackered , this was due to me putting too much compound on the bloody thing and it got a bit warm . I took it back to the shop , and as there were no visible signs of burning , they changed it for me , and now it is fine .
    Might not be the cause but could be worth looking at .

    Urbs

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member kjun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    W. Sussex
    Posts
    1,962
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked:        10
    Karma Level
    308

    Default

    We sell pcs over ebay, if they havent taken steps to make sure things dont get dislodged in transit then there are quite a few things that could of come loose

    A common one is for the cpu to come part way out of the socket, even though the fan is sitting securely
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #7
    DF PlaYa Sam_41's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    ok thanks guys. his name is lo-costpcs and is fairly reputable. I am gonna try some of these ideas BUT I have never really even bee inside a pc apart from installing a nertwork card and RAM etc. Anything EASY that i could do?

  8. #8
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    515

    Default

    It's all easy. Just like kids block toys where you have to put the correct shape in the correct hole.

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa Sam_41's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    OK before I do anything I have just received an email from the company who insist that it is faulty RAM. They send they would send out some more immediatley. IS this right? How do they know this? They said somethin about the make of the RAM

  10. #10
    DF PlaYa Sam_41's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    This seems a little strange to me. How could he possibly know it would be the RAM. I only said what I said on here- nothing more. I have got a feeling that when I receive it ( late next week) the problem will still be here.......

  11. #11
    DF Jedi crazyadi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in a cul-d-sac
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked:        22
    Karma Level
    322

    Default

    if it was down to the ram you would get a bleep, well a few bleeps, its either the processor ot the M/B, try reseating the processor, like the other chap said.

    crazy

  12. #12
    DF PlaYa Sam_41's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    ok cheers lads

  13. #13
    DF PiMP 5bellies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    499
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    201

    Default

    Originally posted by crazyadi
    if it was down to the ram you would get a bleep, well a few bleeps, its either the processor ot the M/B, try reseating the processor, like the other chap said.

    crazy
    Not necessarily. Dodgy ram can work in unpredictable ways.

  14. #14
    DF Rookie ed209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cybernet System
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    without ram your pc will not start and you wont get nothing on the screen

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th February 2009, 02:08 AM
  2. New Key Working OK
    By Channelman in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th September 2004, 10:42 AM
  3. how to get your non working roms working on MAME-X
    By ffrr in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th March 2003, 11:23 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd October 2002, 10:48 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th September 2002, 08:37 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •