Mobo advice for athlon 1900

Thread: Mobo advice for athlon 1900

  1. dodgy's Avatar

    dodgy said:

    Default Mobo advice for athlon 1900

    last time i bought an asus a7v266-E with 512 of crucial memory with an xp1600 and it was crap....
    so i don't mind spending the cash as long as i get a reliable system at the end of it...
    any reccomendations on a good reliable board?
     
  2. Gungadin's Avatar

    Gungadin said:

    Default

    ECS K7S5A ...It's a budget board but it works well supports sdr & ddr (2 slots for either) I use one with an 1800xp & 512 mb of DDR and its rock solid I've used quite a few for builds for other people too and have had no problems.... theres an updated version now(K7S6A) with 3 DDr slots and updated chipset but I've not tried that one yet... The K7S5A got a good write-up on toms hardware and a few other sites too.... hope thats some help
     
  3. ruggie_uk's Avatar

    ruggie_uk said:

    Default

    Personally I hate ECS - their boards suck as do abit (i hear screams), altho they are supposed to both be good, but in my last job, my experience is too many faulty boards.
    MSi boards are rock solid, cheap and faultless - i've had 3 in a row now and sold my last ones on to friends and all are still running like new. Mine here hasnt been turned off since october last year and never flakes.
     
  4. barakuda's Avatar

    barakuda said:

    Default

    I have a K7S5A and mine is rock solid too. However, I did have a problem with the IDE drivers and I found a forum dedicated to discussing the K7S5A and there was page after page of people having problems with it. It was at

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I haven't looked at it for months because my board works fine but you might want to check it out before you buy. Personally I'd recommend the mobo as it's been great for me.
    Last edited by barakuda; 22nd August 2002 at 08:38 PM.
     
  5. Hippie on hill's Avatar

    Hippie on hill said:

    Default

    I'm with Ruggie on the Abit and ECS issue - you couldn't even pay me to have a Gigabyte or Abit board again for that matter. Undisputed champ of the socket A's atm has got to be the Epox board for speed but if you've got money to burn I like the looks of the Soyo Dragons cos it's got the lot.
    I'm looking at buying a new socket A board myself this/next week, this is my choice as of right now
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    cos it's a bargain me thinks - GF4 4200ti + 333DDR mobo < £150
    reviews here
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  6. yogi's Avatar

    yogi said:

    Default

    Originally posted by Hookerman
    I'm with Ruggie on the Abit and ECS issue - you couldn't even pay me to have a Gigabyte or Abit board again for that matter. Undisputed champ of the socket A's atm has got to be the Epox board for speed but if you've got money to burn I like the looks of the Soyo Dragons cos it's got the lot.
    I'm looking at buying a new socket A board myself this/next week, this is my choice as of right now
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    cos it's a bargain me thinks - GF4 4200ti + 333DDR mobo < £150
    reviews here
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    yeh im getting it too for new xp2000 machine, have only briefly looked in to the overclocking capabilities though, u can alter the vcore and the fsb, you know anyone whos actually got one and what they think of it? also what ram u planning on running in it? im unsure as whether to go for 256 or 512 and pc2100 or pc2700. it will be crucial ram no matter what tho
     
  7. Hippie on hill's Avatar

    Hippie on hill said:

    Default

    I've just ordered it with 512 333 DDR after reading the reviews and an XP2000 - should be here on tues so I'll know more then.
     
  8. Hippie on hill's Avatar

    Hippie on hill said:

    Default

    Woohoo! Delivered at last.

    Been stable all day running the PC2700 (Nanya) at 266 - can't get it to run at 333 atm tho not sure why and I had to take my DAT machine out of my box because of the bad positioning of the capacitors - not that I ever use it anymore, I just liked the look of it. Otherwise it was prolly the simplest install I've done to date - just slapped it together, installed XP and put the lastest Leadtek software/drivers in.
    There's a newer bios on the website so I'll try that 2morrow.
    In the mean time I found another source of info here
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  9. yogi's Avatar

    yogi said:

    Default

    i read in a review that it had an option in the bios to run the ram at 333? ive bought samsung pc2700, hope i can run it that fast