Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Any offshore operators on here?

Hi. I was just wondering if there any offshore operators on here. I'm currently an operator for a pharmaceutical company but I'm thinking about trying to get a job offshore. I know I'll need to have my offshore survival certificate but are there any other pointers anyone can give me?
    Cheers

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Any offshore operators on here?

This sounds interesting,have you found out any more ?

Thanks
    Karma Level

My mate on here know as CallmeGoose works in the Merchant navy as a 3rd engineer i'll drop him a message to have a look at this post i am sure he could give you a few pointers

Thanks
    Karma Level

If you mean offshore as in oil platforms and stuff, you do a few days of getting dumped underwater in a fake helicopter to make sure you know what to do if they have to ditch.

You need a medical every year or two I think and the survival training lasts about twice as long, then is renewed by a half day course so you only do the couple of days once.

You can buy the training if you want to, plenty of companies sell it. This makes your CV look better as your employer won't have to buy you it. I do know plenty of people who have spent a load of cash then failed to secure a job though, so it's a risk.

It doesn't make much difference where you go to be honest, as you can stay for a month at a time if you go to a remote location or just two weeks if you have a shorter commute. Every region has different training so you need to choose in advance and do the right one. If you want to stay local, you'll most likely travel to Aberdeen via any form of transport you fancy (we have a couple of roads in the north now, and a tiny airport) and then hop onto the helicopter to the North Sea.