Close

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    use card in two boxes ?

    I have just bought a second-hand sky digital box (Panasonic DSB30).

    What I would like to be able to do is this - subscribe to a Sky package, at some point buy a second box for upstairs (would have to split cable somehow, how ?), and then use the one sky digital viewing card in both boxes depending on what room i am in.

    Is this possible ? I know I can pay an extra 12 to have the same package on both boxes with 2 viewing cards but I dont want to pay the extra when only one box will be viewed at one time.

    This was the ONLY thing I liked about ITVDigital - the fact the cards could be swapped between boxes (oh and apart from ITV2 being FTA channel !)

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa chippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    perth,oz
    Posts
    666
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    232

    Default

    i believe the cards are married to the boxes so u can`t inter change them ......and also u would need 2 lnb`s on 1 dish or 2 seperate dishes..........i think (i`m not a total expert on this)

    but some1 will correct me if i`m wrong

    chippy

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    If you are only going to watch one box at a time, then why not just take a lead off the 2nd TV output and run it to the other room, get a TV Link and a second remote and you have the same thing, but for less money.

    N

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    The reason is this (my original post about only ever watching one tv was not totally accurate) :

    There will be odd occassions when I want to watch Sky Sports 1 and my girlfriend wants to watch FTA channels on another box. But I want to have the freedom on deciding who watches it on which TV - sometimes I get the TV in the living room and sometimes my girlfiend does. To do this would mean swapping the cards. If not swapping the boxes but this is not ideal.

    On the subject of adding a second box - how easy is it to replace the lnb on the minidish to one with 2 outputs and thus adding a second box ?

  5. #5
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Its very easy to replace the LNb, simply a case of slide old one out, slide new one in.

    The card swapping is another matter altogether though, you will not be able to watch the premium channels nor any of the BBC group of channels without a married card. The truly free to air channels on a digibox are pretty unexiting and not much better with a BBC free to view card, but that may be an option.

    I think the simple answer is that you will probably not achieve what you require with what you are prepared to pay for.

    N

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    Ok, about installing a second box - what do I need ?

    1. A twin output lnb.
    2. Cable (CT100 or H109)
    3. Threaded 'F' plugs
    4. A second digibox (obviously)

    Is that all ? Sorry if this is a stupid question but just want to be sure.

  7. #7
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Yes that's about the size of it Tridion, some self amalgamating tape will also be required for sealing the F connectors on the LNB against water ingress.

    N

    PS. If you are going to subscribe to Sky, then you may as well take advantage of their cheap installation and free digibox offer.

  8. #8
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    Gave this some thought and you're right. So what I was thinking is :

    1. Order sky package and get them to install it.
    2. When they come round they will see that a dish is already installed and that I have a box in the living room (with no subscription).
    3. I will tell them I want the new box installed in the kitchen.

    However, will they insist (for some stupid contract reason) that they put up a second minidish or will they replace the lnb with a twin output model ?

    Also, if I then wanted to have the subscription on the box in the living room (but without changing boxes), when I contact $ky to activate the card, can i get it activated on the old box and then later get a FTV card for the new one ? May sound stupid but I like my Panasonic DSB30 and have heard the free ones you get are not as good.

  9. #9
    DF Jedi Fett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Merseyside
    Posts
    1,122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    246

    Default

    If you have ever took up skys offer of the free/cheap dish and box etc then you cant do it a second time in the future . I got the offer approx 3 years ago and 2 months ago my box died . I thought id take up there free dish offer again and they said Id already used the offer in the past. They just swapped the box for me rather than them lose out on my subscription.
    Maybe you could pick up an old on digi box or a new FTA box for ya missus to watch.

  10. #10
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    OK, if you're going that route, the Sky installer is unlikely to have an unallocated Quad LNB on the van (they don't use the twins), so you may want to get one yourself, which I'm sure the installer will install for you as it'll certainly save him a bit of time.

    I would be inclined to use the new box, which may be a Panasonic anyway for the subscription as it will be faster. Most of the new boxes are pretty reliable anyway and personally I don't believe there's much difference between them. If you get them to install it in the kitchen, make sure that there's a phone extension lead at hand to activate it, then you can always move it and swap the boxes around when they've gone.

    N
    Last edited by rolfw; 25th August 2002 at 10:18 AM.

  11. #11
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    So which should I get a quad lnb or twin ? (obviously I only need a twin but assume there must be a reason why the engineers only carry quads)

    Also, is it true that I can order the full package online (37/month) in order to get the 10 installation and then after one month change the package to a cheaper one ?

  12. #12
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    As the only reason that they normally use the multiple LNBs is for Sky+ installations, they AFAIK only carry the quad, bearing in mind that most people tend to keep their original box, so they need 3 outputs. There is only a small difference in price between the twin and the quad anyway, so you may as well go for the quad and future proof your installation.

    Apparently, on your second point, the contract only insists that you retain the full package for one month, but I haven't looked at it so cannot really comment.

    N

  13. #13
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    Thanks for all the info.

    My last problem is that I am not sure what make my minidish is and therefore what make of lnb I need. I havent got a ladder to get up there and check - all I know is that it has a perforated dish but this probably doesn't help much.

    Are there any "safe bet" lnb's to go for which should fit it ?

    Also, anywhere cheap to get one ? I was thinking of getting one of Ebay but most of them seem to be twin output (but I may just make do with a twin anyway).

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa Gunnzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    775
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked:        28
    Karma Level
    213

    Default

    to add to previous post :

    Brymar do a universal quad lnb for 55 quid. They say it has adaptors to fit all dishes.

    Is this a good buy ?

  15. #15
    DF Wh0re rolfw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Sounds reasonable Tridion, providing it fits all minidishes, should be OK.

    N

  16. #16
    DF Rookie althetaff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Hi Tridion,
    Just to add my two pence worth

    If you are getting sky to install, why not get the new dish off them and sell it in Quids-in or Loot or your local buy and sell.
    You can insist they install it and then just take your own down.
    You will be able to get about 20-25 for a second hand dish in your local papers.
    Now get yourself on Ebay, twins are being sold for about 30.
    The channel master dish has an LNB that looks like its lieing down.
    The raven/triax type are bulkier, just have a look around your local houses and you'll soon realise the difference.

    As Neverallocat says, to replace the twin for the single could not be any easier. You just press two lugs and it pops out...no tools needed there.

    There is some bad press about the twins, but my experience is that they are fine. The installers seem to favour the philips quad.

    Don't sell your dish on ebay, you'll get far more for it locally.

    HTH

    al

  17. #17
    DF Rookie lynnsatuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GB
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    One way how you could get another fta card for your other box is ask a freind that dont have sly ask them to phone up for a fta card then when you get it phone the bbc up and give them your box no on your other box as i dont think you can have a sly card + a bbc card on the same addy but i might be wrong

  18. #18
    DF PiMP jayc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Heaven
    Posts
    305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    214

    Default

    Why not go to a local independant installer and order sky rather than going through sky HQ?

    If your local installer is a good one (I know mine is) you can choose what box you want (stock permitting) and also specify any alternate installations you want.
    My neighbour did this as he already had a dish fitted when he moved in and wanted 2 boxes in the house. The installer was happy to fit a twin LNB on the existing dish for free as it saved him time and he now has a fta card in the second box in the bedroom.

    Get the yellow pages out and have a word with your locals before you try sky hq!

Similar Threads

  1. Old Boxes
    By theduke in forum The Comedy Club
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th April 2005, 03:06 PM
  2. Boxes
    By Lordnarlynes in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd December 2003, 12:14 AM
  3. 2 Sly Boxes
    By markybhoy in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd November 2003, 12:20 PM
  4. Have 2 NTL Boxes
    By cricket in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th January 2003, 06:35 PM
  5. 3 xp boxes
    By Cam in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st September 2002, 05:09 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •