Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    DF Rookie Phlebas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Graphic card problem

    Have VIA PLE chipset MB and tried to install a new graphic card.
    Hercules 3D prophet 4000xt to be precise.

    Installation guide said uninstall other graphics cards before installing the hercules.

    Question - how do i uninstall onboard graphics ?
    Can't find any way to do this through add/remove hardware etc.

    Running winXP.

    tried installing new card anyway but get blank screen.
    When take new card back out, PC worksfine again.

    Appreciate any help.
    Phlebas.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,076
    Thanks
    594
    Thanked:        744
    Karma Level
    1086

    Default

    I would imagine it's the same as for onboard audio, that you do it from the BIOS.

    All the best
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  3. #3
    DF Jedi RhinoBanga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,780
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked:        13
    Karma Level
    302

    Default

    Or look for a jumper on the mobo.

  4. #4
    DF Rookie Phlebas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by cronus71
    I would imagine it's the same as for onboard audio, that you do it from the BIOS.
    I think you are right but I have no idea how I would do that.
    Can ya point me in the direction of any tutorials or help sites?
    Cheers,
    phlebas.

  5. #5
    DF Rookie Phlebas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by RhinoBanga
    Or look for a jumper on the mobo.
    No jumpers matey, but thanks for the suggestion.

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    223

    Default

    you know how to get in the bios (press the del key when booting up), it will come up with a menu, in there one of the sections will be something like intergrated periferals. in that section you should find onboard video - Enabled. change it to disabled.

    In theory it should work without disabling it as if it doesn't work and you have disabled the onboard you wont be able to get it sorted without any video.

    Gimp

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,076
    Thanks
    594
    Thanked:        744
    Karma Level
    1086

    Default

    Sorry Phlebas, I would have checked it from my own system, but I can't afford to shut it down at the moment. But look here this might help you [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I'm guessing you have an Award BIOS, when you turn your system on, you'll see it says "Press Del" or somehting similar to enter the BIOS.

    I can't tell you exactly where to look in the BIOS, but you can safely surf aroud there, because of you make the mistake if hitting the wrong buttons there, you can just push the "Esc" key, and answer "N" for saving changes.

    You enter a configuration by pushing "Enter/Return", you browse around with the arrow keys, when you highlight something you'd wish to re-configure press the "Enter/Return" key and you get the options available.

    I'm sure you'll find it quickly.

    All the best.
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  8. #8
    DF Rookie Phlebas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Cheers Cronus,
    I've had a look around in the BIOS and see what you mean.
    Haven't had the balls to make any changes yet tho'.
    If I disable the onboard Video and the new card isn't recognised, does this mean I'll have a blank screena dn no way of turning the onbaord back on?

    Sounds a bit risky !
    How would I get the video back from that scenario?

    Cheers, Phlebas

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,076
    Thanks
    594
    Thanked:        744
    Karma Level
    1086

    Default

    Hmm...good question, I can't be 100% sure but I think (and it only makes sense), that when you disable the onboard video, it only affects Windows, hence you'll still have video during POST and in the BIOS to change things back.

    All the best
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


Similar Threads

  1. graphic's card agp or pcie
    By hyspec in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th September 2006, 07:11 AM
  2. graphic card question??????
    By stewsy in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 24th February 2004, 02:27 PM
  3. Need a graphic's card with dvi-d output!
    By sanj in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th October 2003, 04:22 PM
  4. Graphic card problem ?
    By BIG-TED in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th September 2003, 06:26 PM
  5. Graphic Card Fan
    By rdaley in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th February 2003, 04:50 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •