Close

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default 400Mhz DDR Ram Question & XP2200

    I have an Abit AT7 Max - Raid Motherboard
    AMD XP2200 Processor ( Using globalwin Twin fan cooler )
    512Mb DDR3200 Mem ( 400mhz)
    Geforce4 Ti4200 128mb ( not that this matters )

    Does anyone know how i can get my 400mhz mem to run at 400 mhz
    The system sets it to 333mhz
    Is there anyway to set the Mobo Bios to change this and get the full potential out of my mem chip ?

    Also How do I overclock the XP2200 chip that is locked
    I know i have to use the FSB instead but everytime i try this my computer lock on boot.
    I`m currently running at normal mode @ 46 degrees so i have plenrty of room to play on temp !!

    Thanks in advance guys

  2. #2
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    increase your FSB until it wont post. You will know the highest fsb u can go to then with a locked CPU Your best bet is to move up in 1's instead of jumping up in say 10's. Whats your VCORE and memory settings like? Remember if u increase ur fsb and speed of ur cpu it will need more juice to make it stable. But too much juice will kill it.

    As for the PC3200 DDR Ram most people find that 1 stick of 512MB is unstable at high fsb when overclocking and that 2 256MB ones are more stable. What are your using to test your memory and see what speed it is running at?

  3. #3
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    218

    Default

    Originally posted by EUPHORiA
    As for the PC3200 DDR Ram most people find that 1 stick of 512MB is unstable at high fsb when overclocking and that 2 256MB ones are more stable. What are your using to test your memory and see what speed it is running at?
    Actually you'll find that one stick is generally more stable when overclocking than two. Two can introduce timing and latency differences at higher speeds.

  4. #4
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    One stick is MORE stable yes but a 256MB stick is MORE stable than a 512MB memory stick. You will also find that the higher u clock the memory is unable to handle CAS2 so u got to as u say introduce timing and settings for it to handle this. But in general 256 is more stable than 512 and most people find 2 256MB sticks in Slots 1 and 3 compared to 1 512MB u are able to reach a lot higher FSB

  5. #5
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default My settings

    Hey guys,

    I`m not sure what all my settings are.
    I`ll get a total rundown of my system specs and post foro you to look at.
    I don`t really know much about all this over clocking stuff so you`ll have to bear with me.

    Thnx in advance guys

  6. #6
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    Does the Abit AT7 Max support DDR400 at 400Mhz ? u after overclocking ???

  7. #7
    DF Wh0re PimpMasterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    0.0.0.0 x 255.255.255.255 --- The Nexus of the Universe
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    it doesn't I was looking at the Gigabyte 7V-AXP it support 400
    and the specs actually are decent, so far that's the only board i've seen in the north american market that has the 400 support system!

  8. #8
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    the Gigabyte 7V-AXP is one AWESOME motherboard had it in at work and the amount of features you get with the board is amazing however the benchmarks aint so impressive. Take away the 400Mhz and it aint that good. Pity it doesnt support 400Mhz on more than 1 stick either.

    Psychoschiz are u still here?

  9. #9
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default I`m still here, sorry at work

    Hi guys,

    I too saw that the Gigabyte board supports 400 mhz, but we have a couple at work and I`m less than impressed with them to be honest.
    Don`t rate them at all.
    Anyway
    I`vw attached my PC config, hope this is of use to you.
    I was messing mityh my computer bios settings.

    I tested out in increments of 2.
    I found that my BIOS was stable till 189mhzfsb
    At 190mhz it wouldn`t POST
    but windows doesn`t like anything past 143mhz fsb

    Any ideas from here guys ??

    :rolls:

  10. #10
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Windows doesn`t like anything past 141mhz sorry.
    The multiplyer is at 13.5 also

  11. #11
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    looks like thats the highest u can go until u unlock it.

    The motherboard we had at work impressed the old guys but personally all i see is a load of resources waisted with these extra features. I think its got like 8 USB ports or something on it? I mean WHY do you want so many usb ports? At the moment i have like 4 i think on my motherboard, another 4 - 6 or so with my monitor and then i got extra ports which i have disabled.

    Motherboard doesnt impress me on benchmarks either, even a epox 333mhz can keep up with it.

    How did u test it out with 189fsb when u said windows doesnt like anything above 141?

  12. #12
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    You said to see how far I could go until it wont Post.
    Which i did ( I.e.. System stable ( not inc O/S ) )
    After that it wouldn`t POST

    However 143mhz is the fastest windows will allow.

    I can go faster in Dos or Linux but windows is unstable after 143
    Last edited by Psychoschiz; 10th September 2002 at 06:48 PM.

  13. #13
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    the 400Mhz thing might be in the need of a bios update so the motherboard can reconise that type of memory at that speed. Just flashed my sisters computer and at first it couldnt see 3200 mem abd displayed it as 2700 but now it shows 3200.

  14. #14
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Cheers,

    I`ll look into that, hope it works, that should make quite a difference to performance shouldn`t it ?

  15. #15
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    i aint sure because the motherboard didnt see the memory as that speed but was actually running at full speed rather than a slower one shown on the post screen. what do the benchmarks say about ur memory?

  16. #16
    DF Rookie Psychoschiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    not sure I`ll have to look into it.

    What info are you looking for ?

Similar Threads

  1. [WANTED] 2GB(2x1GB) DDR 400Mhz CL3 RAM
    By DejaVu in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st November 2013, 02:50 PM
  2. WTD: DDR PC 3200 400Mhz Ram
    By Mule in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th December 2006, 09:36 PM
  3. pc3200 ddr 400mhz.
    By matrix in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th February 2005, 12:48 PM
  4. Wanted - AMD mobo and XP2200 for less than 150!
    By broona in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2003, 12:26 AM
  5. AMD Athlon XP2200
    By mark1984 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th August 2002, 12:35 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •