Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,634
    Thanks
    1,160
    Thanked:        955
    Karma Level
    669

    Default How to get more than 4 IDE

    i have got an MSI board (and guess what like every other it has 4 IDE ports) and i want to use say 6 IDE devices - can someone tell me how this is possible if it is and if so where can i get the required stuff from - any help please
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

  2. #2
    DF MaSter merlinL14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Merseyside
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] look on this site m8. I have their HPT370 fitted and it gives me 2 more IDE channels (4 more devices). HTH

  3. #3
    DF Jedi cosmicma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    2,478
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked:        198
    Karma Level
    409

    Default

    ide 1 master / slave
    ide 2 master / slave
    ide 3 master / slave
    ide 4 master / slave

    there you go 8 devices in total but if you plan to use raid ( stripe 0 or 1 ) then go with merlin14's post
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  4. #4
    DF MaSter merlinL14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Merseyside
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    The HPT370 allows you to use the 2 channels as just extra channels, just dont set the RAID option.

  5. #5
    ABCMan
    Guest ABCMan's Avatar

    Default

    maplins do a couple, one with raid one without, get the raid one and dont set the raid (unless you are on win 98/me then get the non raid one)


    just stay clear of the cards by EXTREME IO (eio) i know of no one who hasnt taken them back for a refund.

  6. #6
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    225

    Default

    Remember IDE 3 and 4 might not support CD-ROms'

  7. #7
    DF MaSter merlinL14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Merseyside
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by EUPHORiA
    Remember IDE 3 and 4 might not support CD-ROms'
    The HPT370 does not support CD roms under Win98 but does under Win2k??

  8. #8
    DF MaSter merlinL14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Merseyside
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Mystical_2K you have PM.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •