Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default Pagefile.sys problem!

    Windows 2000

    Does ANYONE know how i can delete my pagefile.sys 's contents or remove it all together? I seem to be having BIG problems whenever windows trys and writes data to a certain part in the pagefile.sys. I think it over writes data in use and then i get blue screen some dodgy ass error and lockup!

    PROBLEM - pagefile.sys

    i have changed the page file's size to 2MB and rebooted, then changed it back to the size it was and i get EXACT same problem.

    Tried to clear the pagefile on shut down (which did NOTHING) still get same problem. Lock ups when i try and use certain programs such as photoshop, direct connect, maya.

    i know if i move the pagefile from C drive to drive E or F etc it will work if i keep it on C or D it will crash. IO previously had it on D until i crashed the system and somehow must of corrupted the pagefile. Same thing has happened to C and this is why i need help, sick of moving the file around from drive to drive, crashing it then cant use that drive to store a pagefile again.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    DF Jedi Aido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Carioca, Pragu
    Posts
    1,851
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    281

    Default

    to remove it mate just set the min / max values to zero.

    it will give you a warning but should continue regardless.

    think that's right anyway, i'll boot into 2000 later to check...

  3. #3
    DF Member zulu95e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    It looks as if there is not enough free space on your C: or D: drives.free some space by cleaning all temp files and set the file to a larger size.

  4. #4
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    well 40Gb drives and there is about 20 - 30Gb spare on each drive. The pagefile is a max of 1Gb think there is enough free space on each drive. Its ONLY when i try and write over a certain part of the pagefile it crashes. just blue screen, error codes and crap and u got to reboot.

  5. #5
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,263
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        406
    Karma Level
    526

    Default

    Boot in DOS del c:\pagefile.sys or slam your drive into a second PC as a slave if it's NTFS.

  6. #6
    DF PiMP Hybrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    240

    Default

    How much RAM is on the system? Do you really need a pagefile anyway? If you have a mass of RAM then you don't. But......If you'd rather cure the problem than mask it then do as "Mr James" says then reboot and windows in it's wisdom will tell you your a bad boy and have been cheeky enough to think you know better than IT does as it demands you reinstate it or face severe conscequences. I've heard it can make your penis shrivel up and drop off!! Anyway.....if your not prompted to reinstate it, then I'm sure you know how to set it as you please.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi hxbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Behind a wall
    Posts
    2,731
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        18
    Karma Level
    400

    Default

    I have a similar problem with my swap file, it refuses to work on my c: drive anymore, so I've moved it over to another. Constantly got crashes (varying between bluescreens and automatic shutdowns) I get the feeling that there is a problem with the partition so a re-install is on the books

    Hx

  8. #8
    DF PiMP EUPHORiA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    220

    Default

    i have 1.5Gb of ram and a pagefile is requird because some programs use a page file and when a pagefile is not there programs will stop working. hxbro i feel we have SAME problem here and yes a format does cure the problem

Similar Threads

  1. Wiikey Region Override problem (Not the normal noob problem)
    By SnifferUK in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th June 2007, 12:02 PM
  2. Boat problem and monty hall problem
    By carvegio in forum Puzzles & Stuff
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 30th August 2006, 10:37 AM
  3. Norton 2003 Problem ??? Boot Record Problem ???
    By bomberman in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th April 2003, 09:35 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •