PS2 Network Adapter?

Thread: PS2 Network Adapter?

  1. SSJ2 Gohan's Avatar

    SSJ2 Gohan said:

    Default PS2 Network Adapter?

    hi
    Im thinking of getting one of these but I dont quite know how it works can someone pls give me sum info.
    I mean would it be possible to access the net from my ps2 via my pc adsl pci modem? or do I have to do it sum other way, like pluggin it in straight into my phone lne?
    cheers
     
  2. HermaN's Avatar

    HermaN said:

    Default

    go to there website, you might find the answer there, the site address is: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  3. tagy's Avatar

    tagy said:

    Default

    The USA network adaptor works fine in the UK provided you know how to set it up.

    you can use internet sharing on your PC with a network card, then connect the ethernet socket on the PS2 to the network card. i have not done this but heard it works.
     
  4. SOMAN's Avatar

    SOMAN said:

    Default

    well if the US adapters works as plug and play on the EU ps2s then I would assume that there would be no problems or am I mistaken and there is something more to it?
     
  5. arrid's Avatar

    arrid said:

    Default

    You would need to be able to boot the setup/config disc, which would be a US disc and wouldn't usually boot on a PAL console

    (usually...)
     
  6. SOMAN's Avatar

    SOMAN said:

    Default

    what if you have a mod?
     
  7. J@CK£L's Avatar

    J@CK£L said:

    Default

    What is it spose to do? is it like the link up wire for ps1?
     
  8. SOMAN's Avatar

    SOMAN said:

    Default

    the startup disc provided with the network adapter has setup software for a variety of American ISPs.


    source : [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  9. Scottio200's Avatar

    Scottio200 said:

    Default

    anyone know where in the UK sells these?

    Or in the US

    Looked on E-Bay, not 100% safe though!

    -Scottio
     
  10. HermaN's Avatar

    HermaN said:

    Default

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ], they are in the UK and are owned by $ony, so it should be safe.
    Last edited by HermaN; 22nd September 2002 at 09:39 AM.
     
  11. Scottio200's Avatar

    Scottio200 said:

    Default

    but i dont wanna spend £200 on my ps2 just to go online

    think ill wait!

    -scottio
     
  12. zeedy2k's Avatar

    zeedy2k said:

    Default

    is this not what you need?
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
     
  13. maltloaf's Avatar

    maltloaf said:

    Default

    dixons do em 25 quid, i have one
     
  14. Cam's Avatar

    Cam said:

    Default

    i also have 1 gr8 fun

    hi
    Im thinking of getting one of these but I dont quite know how it works can someone pls give me sum info.
    I mean would it be possible to access the net from my ps2 via my pc adsl pci modem? or do I have to do it sum other way, like pluggin it in straight into my phone lne?
    cheers
    dixsons game and most places liek that sell the network adapter

    and u wanna connect to the net

    with a pci adsl modem u will need the following
    pc network card
    network cable (some comes with it)
    either x-over cable or a hub and 2 bits of normal network cable (all avabile from n e pc shop also game sell network cable now)
    and a little info on internet connection sharing(ICS)

    (install the network card and connect to either the ps2 or the hub then the ps2)

    (i think ne thing l8er than 98se also has it (xp deffo has it tho) run the networking wizard set it up how u connect to the net which network device u want to share the connection over and let it do its thing

    once all sorted stick the central station disc in ya ps2 and power it up u need to go through the set up (read the little book that comes with it)..... once its all set up it will connect to the central station network so u can check ya settings are okay then if that all works fine u cna go play games on the net (i like tony hawks 4) or if u wanna broswer in the net from ya ps2 go to [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] (theres also a thread about it)

    on the brookfresh site right hand coner of the screen it gives u the tute choose the 1 on about browsing the web and just go run though it and jobs a good un

    read the other thread about the limets on web broswing via ps2

    but i dont wanna spend £200 on my ps2 just to go online

    think ill wait!

    -scottio
    thats because thats the LINUX KIT comes with linux hdd (i think) a vga converter and the network card..... get down to dixsons or game
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ], they are in the UK and are owned by $ony, so it should be safe.
    is this not what you need?
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    thats all u need to get ya online

    (17:18:34) (+Cam) i need to mount my xbox hdd in linux
    (17:19:02) (+SpikeWork) youth of today, they'll mount anything
     
  15. Scottio200's Avatar

    Scottio200 said:

    Default

    Well ive decided to get the LINUX kit as i am currently on a BSc In Computer Games Programming at Teesside uni.

    We have a huge room with 24 PS2's with Linux Kits in out IT building, but i want one to work at home and in the holidays!! ;-)

    Gonna get one around x-mas time i think, or maybe use my student loan! :thumbs

    Or if anyone wants to donate £200 to a broke student :splease

     
  16. Cam's Avatar

    Cam said:

    Default

    yeh no prob m8.....im sure ive got that in loose change on mi floor on my helicopter LOL

    (17:18:34) (+Cam) i need to mount my xbox hdd in linux
    (17:19:02) (+SpikeWork) youth of today, they'll mount anything